We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good in this area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shwe Tha Zin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Sittwe B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty good in this area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had to stay here for two nights when we were unable to get to Mrauk U in January. The room was comfortable and the bathroom adequate but not always with hot water. If fruit bats were a novelty then they could prove entertaining. Breakfast was only just adequate for western tastes. The stairs would be a problem for anyone with mobility problems, of course. The service was friendly and efficient and it was located very close to the River Valley Restaurant which was excellent, although you may want to avoid seeing the waterfront to really enjoy the seafood! While killing time we were taken to the fish markets which were interesting and a rural village and markets which were quite charming.
There was a high police presence in town and we had an "interesting" encounter with some official looking people after our guide had tried to secure a permit to go to Mrauk U.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looksat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    17
    42
    27
    17
See reviews for
8
57
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Shwe Tha Zin is unlike its counterpart in Mrauk U. Sittwe is an area just opening up to tourism and rather than a destination it is a stopover for those on their way to Mrauk U. This hotel is a basic but very doable hotel. Our 3rd floor room faced the main street and a wonderful grove of trees filled with fruit bats. They were so much fun to watch, sleeping upside down during the day and flying off at dusk. Our room was quite large but filled with too much furniture. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was adequate. Staff spoke a bit of English and really tried to help when needed.
Best place to stay in Sittwe.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Probably the best in Sittwe at this present time.
It always seems to be quite busy even though the charges are 35-40 US dollars per night.
Fairly basic rooms which are quite small. I've stayed here about 10 times over 3 trips to Sittwe.
They bear no relationship to their other hotel in MraukU which is much better. The staff are not particularly friendly. Bathrooms OK with hot water most of the time.Bed lining is clean and beds fairly comfortable. Reasonably located for walking the town. When I was there last in January 2012 a new hotel was being built next plot so it should be open now.
Unfortunately Sittwe and MraukU are still off the map as far as foreigners are concerned due to the ethnic troubles. It could be like this for years. Advise from the Burmese Embassy in London is to contact agents in Yangon for news updates.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same. Higher up is near the roof restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sittwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Gallen
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

First you need to consider where this place is. It is in a country that is slowly opening up to tourism. It is in a region that has not seen many tourists yet and it is in a city that has very recently seen a lot of violence. And most of the tourist that did and will come through here only want to move up to the touristy city of Maruuk O

This is one of two places in this town where westerners would stay. It is no where close to western standards but if you are looking for that, do not even bother to come out here.

So – English is hardly spoken with one or two exceptions. Rooms are very simple and not comfortable, but of course you do not travel so far to stay in your room all day – do you ☺!

If you like continental breakfast – it wont be available – if you like Asian style breakfast, you will be happy. But the best place to eat will be the RV Seafood restaurant that serves very good food – not only from the sea.

The room has AC and a TV – both which I didn’t use. It has a fridge with cold beer so when you come back from a hot day out, you will be refreshed.

The rooms are cleaned daily and what you get is actually quiet respectable. I paid USD 45 per night which is a lot, but the alternatives do not exist.

Room Tip: all the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

accommodation is about on par with the nearby Nobel hotel but I found it cleaner. The bathroom is fine, plenty of hot water and everything works. Basic toiletries even provided, sheets and towels are immaculate. WiFi is turned on from 8 to 11 pm, but internet connection only flickers on for a few minutes at a time. Top floor breakfast is ok but nothing to shout about. Staff is incredibly nice, but then so is everyone in Myanmar

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Much is made of the Shwer Tha Zin 's top floor (4th UK, 5th US) restaurant but of course there is no lift. On my first visit I asked for a room on the first floor as I have problems with stairs but the three flights up to breakfast were too much effort and I now try to get a room on the 2nd so I am halfway in either direction.
For some reason this is the highest rated and most expensive hotel in Sittwe but my colleagues all rate its rival up the Main Street as better. Which may be why the Shwe Tha Zin is always the last please still to have rooms when all other places in town do not. Now that the river route to Mrauk U is off limits to tourists, this may change. It is set back a little from the street which reduces noise.
It has 24 hour power, running water (warm) which has better pressure on the lower floors, air con, TV with four channels of which the sole English one is HBO with mostly appalling films, a basic bathroom (if you are not careful the shower soaks the toilet roll) en suite and complementary water in the mini fridge. Beds and pillows not the best and the furniture is scant and depressing, almost shabby.
Once you have got over the long climb and the depressing ambience of the restaurant, the food is really rather good (the tempura squid is my favourite) and portions are large. Large bottles of cold beer.... Breakfast is poor and even though it was included in the rate I almost prefer to have a nescafe and a pork bun in the pavement cafe next door.
Laundry is well done but thick things take two days to dry and it not always returned to the original owners - do check it immediately you get it back as the other person who has yours may be leaving early in the morning.
Amazing sockets take UK three square pin, European two round pin, US two flat pin and (I think) Australian - three flat pins at an angle - plugs.
English is barely spoken but everyone smiles.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are luxury/double sized with balconies above the street, 2-4s have tiny balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
513 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

One night in this centre town hotel. Deluxe room on 4th floor 25m2 and bathroom 4 m2. Facing the main street with small balcony. Breakfast room on 5th floor and higher is roof terras with 360 degrees view over town. No elevator.
In the trees opposite the road hang flying foxes-bats who start screeming near dark when crooing crows want the branches to land on. The process is reversed early in the morning when the foxes claim the branches back, which may wake you up around 5:00 hrs, but by then you are awake anyhow because you are bound to retire by 21:00 hrs.
No road traffic at night.
Can make hot water in an electric thermos to make your own tea or coffee if you bring these.
Although 4 satellite dishes no international news channel.
Blankets are heavy chinese acril and cause sweating. Shower does not get warm (very refreshing).
Two nice seafood restaurans next door with good fish dishes. Also many other small shops.
Breakfast is cooked with noodles but simple.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep after 05:00 hrs, ask a room on the rearside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittwe
0.0 mi away
Noble Hotel
Noble Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sittwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Memory
Hotel Memory
#1 of 8 in Sittwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shwe Thazin Hotel
Shwe Thazin Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kiss Guest House
Kiss Guest House
#3 of 8 in Sittwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vesali Resort Hotel
Vesali Resort Hotel
#2 of 10 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shwe Tha Zin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shwe Tha Zin Hotel

Property: Shwe Tha Zin Hotel
Address: No.250, Main Road | Kyae Bin Gyi Quarter, Sittwe, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Sittwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sittwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shwe Tha Zin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, JovagoAsia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Shwe Tha Zin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing