We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Late October”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Antonio Corfu Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kalami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just got back from a week in Kalami, rained first day which made the temperature drop, when the sun did come out it made the days warm, but the nights cold. We were not prepared for such cold evenings. In mid October most of the village was closed, but the few tavernas that were open gave a nice welcome, especially The White House where Daria was a generous host even in the driving rain. Don't be put off by the smart appearance of the White House it offers great home cooked food at a cheaper price than some of the other local spots. Adonis Asonitis apartments are clean, tidy, basic accommodation, be prepared for a bit of a hill climb but there are lifts which help after the first steep slope. If you want a quiet restful nights sleep ask for a room on a higher level as the lower pool bar has karaoke or some entertainment most nights and the noise would be bad if it was warm enough to have windows open. We had a restful time and would go again but take warm clothes for the nights.

Room Tip: If you don't like late night entertainment go for a higher room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithweightuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for San Antonio Corfu Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We went for a weekend in early October and had the basic studio room. Rooms are clean and well stocked with kitchen essentials. No loo paper provided. No bath. All rooms seem to have private balconies with fabulous views, which is nice. Although it is up on the hill, the beach isn’t far as Kalami is small and takes minutes to walk to the other side and back. The hill may be a challenge to some. The service cannot be faulted, from the people in the reception area to those in the bar, in fact, the bar service is exceptional and the guys in there make everyone feel welcome. The Greek dancing on Sunday nights is a nice touch to the end of the week. Oh, if you want to stop housekeeping from coming into the room, best to leave your key in the door because some of them ignore the 'Do not Disturb' sign. If you are anything like me and seem to attract every mosquito on the island, take lots and lots of insect repellent (avoid the stuff from the pound shop, I made that mistake) and a spray for your room, I was mosquito food and it wasn’t any fun. While we were there the beach was quiet and peaceful, there were quite a few visitors but it wasn’t overcrowded or noisy. The accommodation was good, the seafood at the Kalami Beach Taverna was exceptional and we would definitely go back. Also there are 2 pools, take the lift to the top floor and the other one is by the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Merlotsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Worried about having 2 star studio as usually go 4/5 star. No need to worry, spacious, warm, cheerful room with more to offer than any hotel standard room. 4th floor stunning views. Only noise is whatever other guests provide!! Makes me laugh when people say facilities are basic...its 2 star. Beds much comfier than expected and particularly the pillows, not flat like usually are in Spain. Nice to be able to make a cuppa and prepare a snack in the room.

We hired a car so we could get out and about to explore the island and to eat as the couple of meals we had down in the kalami beach tavernas were not special and over priced. Meals we have had out in Kassiopi and Barbati have been excellent and good value. There are a lot of pharmacies around if you are able to get out of the resort, one is just up a bit on the main road. . We tend to shut the windows to block out the noise from the bar at night. We wake up hot after it stops and then open them to hear the sound of the waves. (lovely).We are very well travelled and used to some quite luxurious holidays and prolonged stays in Australia, but have to say have totally fallen in love with this place and will be back. Would love to move permanently!!

Room Tip: High up away from bar
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anitabarnes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Superb holiday, cant complain about anything we got. Only drawback as I have parkinsons there was a bit of an incline to the apartment but that is normal in Corfu.Staff were excellent and entertainment was good.The lady in the adjoining shop with the big boobies was very amusing.In fact all the shop people and tavenas in Kalami were helpful and friendly.We enjoyed the boat trip to Vidos Island and of course the almost obligatory trip by boat to Nickolas taverna.
Of the 11 days only one was bad due to thunderstorm.Kalami is a quiet place and there are no chemists so take all the neccesaries with youAll in all a great place for aholiday and I love Corfu on the north-east. .

Room Tip: Any issues you may have get in touch early so the staff can help you.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbee698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My husband and I have had an amazing time in Kalami last week. Although we went at the end of September the weather was still gorgeous (still hot enough to be on the beach but the air was breathable unlike in summer) and it wasn't too crowded. After reading some reviews we were worried that we'd have to book restaurants in advance or wake up really early to get a sunbed around the pools but neither was required, there were barely any people around! The hotel has amazing views (we stayed in Block 3) over the Kalami Bay and the balconies are really nice (nice little roofs and olive trees around them), the room was ok, the bathroom could do with some modernisation and the stairs are not a problem. There's no loud music at night coming from the Cocktails and Dreams bar, I don't understand some complaints I've read here, entertainment stops around midnight but you can barely hear the music anyway. The only problem with the hotel was the unholy number of mosquitoes and wasps which did not spare us for a second but that is obviously not the hotel's fault, they're just everywhere and you can barely eat your breakfast without having to shake your arms like a maniac! The food is average throughout the resort I would say, it's not the best or the worst I've ever had but I think I'm just not that keen on Greek cuisine in general, other people might find it fantastic. The drinks however are exceptionally good value for money. I am not a big drinker but the amount of alcohol you get in one glass is about 4 times more than what you get in the UK and I'm not overreacting at all (check out one of my pics). The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we even went out clubbing with them one night in a nearby town due to the fact that Kalami is a very small place (4 tavernas, 1 hotel, a few villas, supermarkets, no clubs). The best taverna in my opinion was Thomas's Place because of its amazing food, service, location and entertainment but all of them are ok and they're all situated right on the beach, the chairs and tables are positioned on the beach stones! The beach itself was gorgeous, no sand only stones but very nice stones which you can actually walk on because they're very round, the water was warm and very clear blue and you can be 3 metres in and see tens of massive fish around you so it's well worth investing in a snorkel (9 euros from the hotel supermarket) because it's an amazing experience. Also, if you go to the beach in the afternoon you won't get charged for using the sunbeds or umbrellas, we did this almost everyday and kept waiting to be charged but it only happened on the last day when we got there at 11am after checking out from the hotel (in any case, it's 3 euros for each sunbed and 3 for the umbrella). There are a few other activities available from Blue Bay Travel or from the hotel such as hiring cars, boats, going horse riding, excursions to Corfu Town or Albania (60 euros/person) or cruising. In terms of money there's no ATM in Kalami so it's best to bring cash (euros obviously) with you (there's no risk of having it stolen, I doubt Kalami's ever had any crimes, it's a 200-m long resort with good people) but you can exchange traveller's cheques or use your debit/credit card to take money out at the hotel (5% commission). Also, it's not worth paying 3 euros an hour for the WIFI at the hotel because you can get it for free on your phone in the entire resort except on the hotel's premises (from Thomas's Place which is another reason I loved that taverna!). A few other tips: you cannot drink water from the tap, you need bottled water at all times and make sure you have a bottle with you if like us you arrive there with the Thomson flight at 5am (no supermarkets will be open at that time and you'll be told you have to wait til morning), you can't throw paper in the toilet, there is a separate bin for this purpose, make sure to buy some candles and sprays for the mosquitoes and make sure money will last you until the end of your holiday because the prices are similar to the ones in the UK and you'll spend a minimum of 600 euros (on food mainly) for two people for 7 days unless you go all-inclusive.
All in all, it has been a very relaxing holiday, we were happy with everything, we celebrated one year of marriage and was incredibly romantic having a nice meal on the beach listening to Greek music and it was just the perfect hotel and the perfect resort for us. HOWEVER, although we're both about 23 we prefer small quiet resorts and Kalami was exactly what we asked for; if you're young, single and want to meet people and hit a few clubs at night then stay away from Kalami because you'll be disappointed. Choose wisely and enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MrsLBShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Just spent a week at the Adonis and had a lovely time, the apartment was basic but clean, the kitchen area was well equipped and had really nice cold fridge! The view from the balcony was amazing, just perfect. The maids cleaned every day but Sunday, the only negative was there was only one towel change for the week. The staff were all freindly and helpful and the food was really nice and very reasonably priced as were the drinks. There was plenty going on at the Adonis most evenings, the Greek night was really good, the dancers were brilliant. Kalami itself is a very small pretty village, we spent every day at the beach which was lovely with crystal clear waters but very rocky and a bit tricky getting in and out of the sea. We ate at most of the Tavernas and every one served a delicious meal probably the best meals we have had in Greece, our favourite being The White House. If your looking for a quiet, lazy week in the sun this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julier27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel and we would defiantly return providing they had air con (or working air con) in the rooms. they have the units installed but we was told they are waiting for a licence to use it?? We stayed on level 3 which required alot of steps and alot if walking up hill, our room had a lovely view of kalami beach. I feel the rooms could do with Updating, but we was told this was getting done ready for next season. The cleaner came 6 days and made the beds up etc but the towels wasn't changed. We do feel they should of being changed a couple of times. Gina on reception is lovely and always happy to help out. We joined in with the hotel entertainment in the cocktails and dreams bar which was quiz night, greek night and karaoke. The staff in the bar do a great job. They also have a great food menu and we tried the food a couple of times and was never dissapoinyed. There is some fantastic tavernas outside the hotel. Our favourite was kalami beach taverna. We ate here a couple of times for lunch and dinner. And eric the waiter really looked after us. Also you can catch the free boat to Agni on an evening that takes you to Agni taverna. That was lovely too. There is a couple of bars near by the hotel,Kalami bar, which Regina and George run and Elia bar which Dorina runs- she's a lovely girl. Both these bars give you a very warm welcome. Also there is Martellas- (this was only open the 1st and 2nd night we was there) which was a shame as he made us a great cocktail. all in all we had a fabtasic week and met some lovely people and look forward to returning. Xx

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoepaulfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalami
16.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Melina Bay Hotel
Melina Bay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kassiopi
240 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Corfu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Corfu Resort

Address: Kalami Beach, Kalami 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kalami
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Corfu Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the gentle slopes of Kalami Bay, between centuries old olive groves, San Antonio Corfu Resort impresses with its' magnificent views over the sea and the small fishing village. Right across the bay, lays Gerald Durrell's white house by the sea and at the foothills of the resort a stone pebbled beach with crystal clear water suggests plenty of quality time under the sun. The typically Mediterranean architecture and the amphitheatrically set room blocks ensure a small village-style setting with nothing to obstruct the ever-present views. The spacious rooms have large balconies, unpretentious design and every facility needed for a carefree summer holiday by the sea. Right at the middle level of the resort, lays one of the most stunning swimming pools on the island, hanging over the majestic bay. An ideal hotspot not only for swimming and sunbathing during the day but for sipping a cool cocktail from the cozy bar during the evening under the clear moonlight. The San Antonio Resort's restaurant offers its culinary treats next to a second swimming pool at the foot of the olive grove, next to the bay. A warm "kalimera" from our passionate local staff welcomes you to the extensive breakfast buffet served daily full of fresh produce from the Corfiot land and everything needed for one to start a great day on the island. The menus for lunch and dinner include healthy Mediterranean delicacies and superb Corfiot specialties with a twist of creativity by our chefs. The new Beach Bar-Restaurant is the ideal choice for bathers, as it offers the most refreshing drinks, various tasty snacks and light meals right on the beach. As the sun goes down, music enlivens the senses with live events organized by the hotel for its discerning guests. For those more active, the hotel beach offers water sports possibilities like water-skiing, paragliding, fun rings, banana rides, canoeing and sea cycling, but if you just want to find your own personal corner on a secluded beach or simply spend the day at the sea there is nothing like hiring a motor boat for yourself from the bay and make your own exploration. Our fully informed reception or service personnel will be glad to assist with ideas, options plus their valuable local information and suggestions. A short ride away lays the bustling little town of Kassiopi, a vibrant cosmopolitan hotspot for shopping, traditional restaurants and a healthy nightlife for all ages. San Antonio Corfu resort is perfectly located to take advantage of what the whole island of Corfu has to offer. Distance from Corfu town, the port and Corfu's international airport is just 32 km (transfer time approx. 45 minutes). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Antonio Corfu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Asonitis Apartments Kalami
Adonis Asonitis Apartments Hotel Kalami
San Antonio Corfu Resort Kalami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing