We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't tell everyone!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalami
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dimitris & Frosso Apartments
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kalami
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't tell everyone!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Our second time of staying at Frosso apartments which are attached to Elia Pool Bar. This time we stayed in the one above the bar which has an air conditioned large bedroom with two comfy chairs and a separate lounge/kitchen with a bed settee. A large balcony which wraps around the apartment giving seaviews from the westerly end, although there isn't room here to sit. Comfy chairs and table on the balcony with airer facilities and it is a lovely spot to sit. There is everything needed to prepare meals, although we didn't! With the pool bar below and lots of very good tavernas in Kalami and Agni there is no need.

Two things which can be improved are:-
- bed linen is changed twice per week, ie clean when you arrive and changed once more. It was changed the day before we came home instead of mid week which is pretty pointless.
- whilst the bathrooms are clean, they are dated, the showers in particular are the old fashioned curtain type and really need replacing with decent cubicles even if the price goes up a little!

However, this will not stop us visiting again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through blue bay travel including transfers. The one bed apartment was small and basic but clean. Free a/c. Cleaner came every other day. We had room facing the hills so not brilliant but still plenty to look at! Balcony was great for evening sun. Room equipped with all that u need to enjoy self catering including fridge freezer. However we did not use anything but the kettle as there are lovely restaurants in the village. The location ideal, few mins walk to beach or pool at frosso. Must mention Elia bar at frosso, great food, lovely people.
We hired a boat from blue bay travel had fab day out with new friends. Make sure u go to the Greek night at taverna nikolas in agni bay, free boat from kalami just book in the little office by the beach. The night cost 25 euro which includes all food, wine and water!
Would recommend dimitris and will stay again hopefully without the mini tornadoes which caused great excitement around the resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WirralTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just arrived back from Frosso apartments, we've had yet again a wonderful time. Quiet and relaxing perfect setting and Dorina and Eric are the most helpful and lovely people you can meet. The food is yummy and Dorina cooks it all fresh.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woodiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

In July 2013 we enjoyed a superb holiday staying at Villa Cicada In Kalami ( A Villa Plus villa) We enjoyed our holiday so much my husband and I decided to visit Kalami again at the beginning of September 2013 but as a last minute holiday "extra."This time we booked to stay at Dimitris apartments booking a two bedroom apartment on the first floor which in reality is just above the entrance to Blue Bay Travel.

Because bookings are made with Blue Bay Travel and not with an agent like Thomson I suppose potential new customer's may be a little apprehensive of booking with the present economic climate not far from thought but we had no concerns what so ever and would happily book again. We plan to actually!
The location is perfect. The proximity to the Kalami Beach Taverna is within a few feet and the Taverna is really good and friendly too.There isn't a pool at Domitir's apartments but all you do is walk up to the Elia Bar where you are invited to stay and swim. I recommend the food here at Elia Bar and the cocktails by Joy. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts with fresh orange juice and the food is very reasonably priced too.
I agree with what has been said in previous posts about these apartments so its pointless to repeat but must add that all the staff we came across were superb and the little toddler up at Elia (Sorry I cannot remember her name) is a credit to her parents, a lovely little girl.

Room Tip: Discuss what you are looking for by phoning Blue Bay Travel as I believe they are flexible on start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The two of us ended up with a spacious two bedroom apartment each with a balcony in Dimitris apartments. Friendly staff at Blue Bay Travel who have an office on the ground floor. A short walk up the hill are Frosso apartments with a lovely pool and bar which we used regularly when we were not exploring the numerous beaches, all within walking distance. Nothing negative to say about the accommodation, very clean and well equipped. Kalami though is a bit too English for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekAndLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the first review we have written and decided to write one to give something back to Trip advisor, as tend to use it allot and find it really helpful.

Holiday Frosso apartments Kalami August 2013 Family Holiday.

The Frosso Apartment.

Our apartment was on the top floor of the apartment block 2 storeys. Large balcony with side view over looking pool. The accommodation was absolutely excellent, clean, bright and plenty of space. Two bedrooms with double patio doors opening out on to the balcony. So no arguing about rooms, Kitchen utensils, indoor table chairs, outside patio stuff, every thing you need. excellent. Bathroom good shower, over one of those baths which is not really a bath, oh and one of those foot washers. ( I think the French use them for something else ) I noticed on one review somebody had complained about the noise from the Elia pool bar. I can honestly say, this was not an issue at all. More about Elia pool bar later. The only noise which did annoy us was a group of teenagers one night sitting up quite late round the pool bar. Even though they were being well behaved, its impossible for 7 teenagers to be quiet. That being said, once in your apartment with the doors closed and air conditioning on you will not hear anything. So to sum it up its not the Hilton, but I thought the apartments were excellent.

We booked through Blue Bay travel, again excellent, they could not do enough to help

Kalami itself,

Some people refer to Kalami as Kensington on Sea, Well its been awhile since I've been to Kensington, So maybe its changed and they have ripped all the tarmac up of the roads and dug potholes in them. The thing it has in comparison is the small super markets will fleece you. Its worth it if your going self catering and hiring a car to take a trip to Corfu town to Aldi. That being said the little super markets are well stocked and friendly and to be fair have got to earn their money in a shorter trading year.

The Kalami bay is breath taking, the sea is crystal clear, no sandy beach though. Plus the locals are very friendly.

What really makes Kalami is apart from the peace, quiet and picturesque location as got to be the Taverna / Restaurants. In my opinion three main ones are Thomas's Taverna and the Kalami Taverna and the White House which are all on the sea front. In all these the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. My favorite was without a doubt Thomas's Taverna, with Kalami not far behind, What about the famous White House, location slightly better and tends to think of its self as the best, Well sorry to inform the famous Mr. Durrell who apparently lived their, (who I could not even be bothered to Google to find out who he was) Your restaurant is not the best and is over priced. Not that you will getting a full English for £3.00 from any off these restaurants. Its not Sidari...

Ok again to sum up Kalami, Excellent place and would return, not sure how many times though before you have seen and done everything, But if its your first visit you will not be disappointment. Did meet a couple who had been returning for the last fourteen years. Think they need to stay in more.

Elia pool bar

One of the things to point out here is the pool and bar itself are rented from the owners of the Frosso apartment, even though Blue Bay and Frosso give the impression its apart of the Frosso apartments. It is technically a separate business. So this means to you, you can't take your own food and drink around the pool area and the pool area does close about six. The staff want you buying their drinks and food, plus want you out the pool and round the bar in the evening. Again in fairness this did work well, so don't let this put you of. The bar is run/ Managed by a Lady named Dorina ( Greek ) and her partner in crime Joy ( Welsh ), I can honestly say the girls actually made the holiday ten times better. Always genuine friendly and both go out their way to make you feel welcome. One of the main reason I would consider returning to Kalami. Dorina is an excellent cook and her ability out shines those of the fore mentioned restaurants. Joy is the cocktail queen of Kalami. Again both girls excellent personality. The bar was never over busy and most the time a good relaxed atmosphere. Ok the only down side which I feel a little bad about mentioning is, don't worry if you don't have your own little toddler, the bar has a in house one, which on most days will be paraded round the pool by some tall slim mute blonde. No she's not a Pole, actually turns out she is from Essex. um, Anyway that's besides the point. I found the peace of a toddler crying and making eek eek noise to be annoying, but not nearly annoying as the adults make silly noises and oh clapping to her. There was one night we left the bar due to the fact were there's one toddler you end up with more and the ruckus was unbearable, was only one night, but was one night of my holiday. Also need to point out I was in the minority of finding this annoying. Eek, Only other thing was you definitely got the feeling the bar was going to be open as long as someone was buying drinks. Again not taking anything away from the staff they were there till 1 or 2 in the morning and back to work by 8 and always greeted with a smile. So excellent pool bar excellent staff.

Please don't let any negative points put you off from going Kalami or Frosso apartments and definitely visit the Elia pool bar . eek. I have tried to gave a sort honest review, All round 9/10

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for a week commencing 3rd September, apartments very clean and well equipped and in a nice location. We had a two bedroom apartment (108) which is on the second floor and at the front, we therefore had the best view of the sea. There was just the two of us, we felt that the two bedroom would suit a family but if two couples shared then space would be a bit tight as the bathroom is of typical Greek style and therefore very small. Kalami is a lovely resort and at that time of year very quite and perfect for just chilling out. We hired a jeep for the week which we picked up from the airport, we therefore managed to tour around some of the island and were glad we had decided to base ourselves in Kalami as places like Sidari were very commercialised, ok if you want British type bars and full English breakfasts though. Favourite restaurant in Kalami was the White House, staff are very friendly and helpful especially the lovely Katie, food was off a good standard and not over priced. Thomas place on the beach is also very nice. We got the boat taxi one evening to Agni in the next bay which was really nice, we did not really rate the Nikolas Taverna though. Overall a really nice week away and would recommend if you like a quite holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greggandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalami
1.2 mi away
Krouzeri Beach Apartments
6.1 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,096 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceanis Rooms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
6.8 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,361 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitris & Frosso Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitris & Frosso Apartments

Property: Dimitris & Frosso Apartments
Address: Kalami | Corfu, Kalami 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kalami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kalami
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dimitris and Frosso apartments are ideally situated the centre of Kalami bay just few metres from the beach offering a high standard of accommodation to the guests. The interior space of each apartment and studio is contemporary furnished with pale colours in the bedrooms and kitchens, comfortable rooms and spacious balconies with modern outdoor furniture. Each apartment is equipped with self-catering facilities as well as air-conditioning, television and safety deposit box. Situated in an exceptional location with beautiful surroundings of cypress and olive trees, the tiled swimming pool with its inviting crystal clear waters and abundance of sunshine, offers the perfect relaxation for your holiday. The paddling pool is ideally tailor-made for the children. The terrace is made of local stone where sun loungers and umbrellas are available for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dimitris Frosso Corfu
Dimitris & Frosso Apartments Kalami, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing