We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castell'Verde Santa Giuglia Corsica - You will be surprised...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castell'Verde
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Giulia
Reviewed 7 August 2011

... by the apartments. In other words: disappointed because (1) they are so dark that we had to have lights on throughout the day with almost no natural daylight - very depressing; (2) ridiculously small bathroom (2 m2, no kidding) with no space to change. no window in the bathroom – again very depressing. (3) Get one with sea view otherwise there is no garden to look at, only plants close to the apartment. On the other hand (1) staff is very friendly and helpful (2) beach is amazing (3) pool is OK, water was cold (the heated pool is only available to the guests of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piupolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Castell'Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a fantastic stay here at Castell Verde. We stayed for one week at the end of June 2011. It really exceeded our expectations and we would love to return one day. Just a shame Thomsons have taken it out of their program for next year.

Our studio was very clean and very well equipped. The bathroon is small but adequate and you can have a lovely hot/cold shower. We had a studio in a great location only a ten min walk to the beach and mini supermarket (which is very useful if you need to buy any essentials. Also in the morning you can but freshly cooked pain au chocolats and croissants!)

We very much enjoyed our day trip to Bonifacio which we booked through Thomson, excellent value for money as it included a tour guide, a super boat trip and tourist train ride. The trip also gives you chance to have some free time on your own to look around the town.

At the beginning of our stay we stocked up on food and drinks and the local Casiono/Geant. We went on the organised shopping trip on the day we arrived. This costs ten euros but it is worth doing if you havent booked a car. Otherwise we could walk to some lovely restaurants along the beach of Santa Giulia. One night we shared a taxi with another couple to Porto Vecchio and this cost us roughly 20 euros per couple return. Porto Vecchio was OK but very much a tourist trap with lots of over priced restaurants. In my opinion nothing can beat Bonifacio. Yes it is touristy there too but as a place it is much more interesting than Porto Vecchio.

Overall WE will come back to Corsica as we fell in loved with the island...

Top marks for the accommodation and beach! And also a special note to say that the resort representive Peter was excellent. He was full of information and hosted a very informative welcome meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Hi just got back from 2 week stay at the Castell Verde apartments absolutely loved everything about this island and resort.
Apartments clean and very well catered for, yes there are two small supermarkets on Santa Giulia however they are much more expensive than large supermarket in Porto Vecchio.
On arrival if arranged transfer you get the chance to stock up at the Spar in Figari, very reasonable prices. Thomson did a supermarket run into Porto Vecchio on both Saturdays which is well worth doing for the small cost. Bus organised to take you there then give you 2hours to shop and take you back.
There is a bus shuttle service which runs from the beach various times during the day into Porto Vecchio and returns for only 9 euro return. However this only runs from July until the end of August.
There are several very good restaurants in Santa Giulia itself however are a bit pricey, but the food is fantastic. We had a bottle of wine, steak for two and fish course and two desserts for 95 euros so all in not too bad I suppose. The presentation of the food however was amazing.
Many more restaurants in Porto Vecchio and 3 course meals available from 15-20 euros a head. We took shuttle bus in and out one day and had a lovely late lunch and wander. Many taxis available if you want to return later than the last bus at 645pm, again not expensive.
Various organised trips can show you more of the island but it is easy enough to do them yourself. Shuttle bus into Porto Vecchio, taxi down to Bonifacio not expensive and from there you can arrange snorkelling trips out to uninhabited islands, spend the day the travel back quite easily.
If you go high season then a car is not necessary as I said due to the great value shuttle bus service and from Porto Vecchio more excursion options easier to organise.
Loads of watersports available at Santa Giulia beach again very reasonably priced not expensive at all, in fact think more expensive in Spain.
This is a very French island so good idea to brush up on your French prior to going as no English translation on menus etc which definately adds to the appeal of this island. The local Corsican wine is absolutely gorgeous too and very cheap.
NO problems with any mosquitos much to my delight too.
Thomson are not doing any package holidays to this island from next year. Local Corsican companies taking over so if wanting to return as we most certainly will then you will need to source and book direct with island accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Beautiful resort. We stayed self catering and had all the facilities.

Short walk to the beach which is stunning, lots of places to lay a towel or use a sun lounger. We opted for a sun lounger which is expensive at €20 each per day but the staff are so bad at monitoring them that we got it free 6 days out of 7.

The food is outstanding over there but it's certainly not cheap, €45 minimum per head for lunchtime cafe but food well worth it.

Restaurant at hotel has lovely food and views but very very slow service and not good English but staff polite.

Pool is lovely too but hardly any sun loungers so get there early. We just went to the beach instead as so so lovely down there.

One thing to watch out for is the midges, there are a few and you will get bitten. If you tend to get bitten at home take some insect repellent as you'll need it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The apartment it self was very nice. A few faults were that the bathroom was very small and the bunk beds were right opposite the toilet. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were very comfy.

The location of the place was magnificent if you were over 40, loved scenery or could drive. The beach is a 5 minute walk away with a market on the way which sells basic essentials. The nearest town is a 15 minute taxi drive away which costs 20 euros. Porto vecchio is a lovely place with a super market selling everything you could possibly want.

overall it is a beautiful place with beautiful surroundings. The staff were very nice and the rep was extremely helpful. i would recommend it if you wanted a peaceful week away.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donny9360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We visited Corsica for the first time in July 2010. The accommodation at Castell Verde was fantastic and only a short walk down to the breathtakingly beautiful beach. We booked online and i have to say the more expensive options in Porto Vecchio were a lucky escape - we were so happy to have booked castell verde once we arrived. A car is a must - Porto vecchio and Bonifacio are definitely worth a visit and the boat trips to the islands from Bonifaccio harbour are a great day out (the car parking is free when you book a boat trip).
We only had a week here and will definitely be returning to explore a little more - apparently a drive into the hills is recommended, if we had more time we would have loved to do this.
Corsica is pricey and definitely not for those looking for a 'brits abroad' experience - just perfect!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephEddyRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Got an absolute bargain with Portland Direct for 2 weeks S/C at the Castell Verde in May 2010. This was our 2nd year at the resort and we will definitely return in the future. Great apartments, well equipped, helpful staff, clean pool areas and beautiful beach. Restaurant is good but expensive as are the drinks from the bar but then Corsica is NOT Benidorm. The beach at Santa Giulia is beautiful and the beach bars are great, apart from the MOZZIES at night. If you can afford it, treat yourself to a meal at the the U Santa Marina. I've eaten at many Michelin star restaurants and this one is up there with the best, stunning food but expensive (and worth it) ! You really need a car if you're staying here but visiting Bonifacio, Porto Vecchio and surrounding villages is worth it and a great way to spend your holiday. E.LeClerc Supermarket is a great place to stock up. This is NOT a place for the English brekkie and beer lovers. Personally, I love Corsica and can't wait to return to Castell Verde.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laughable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Giulia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia
Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia
#21 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
98 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moby Dick Hotel
Moby Dick Hotel
#34 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carre Noir
Hotel Carre Noir
#24 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Roc e Fiori Hotel
Le Roc e Fiori Hotel
#10 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell'Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell'Verde

Address: Santa, 20537 Santa Giulia, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio > Santa Giulia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Giulia
Price Range: £94 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castell'Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castell'Verde hotel is located in a wooded park overlooking the Santa Giulia Bay. The elegant rooms with balcony are facing the sea or the bucolic garden. You will enjoy a heated private pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Castell'Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell`Verde Hotel Santa Giulia
Castell`Verde Hotel And Resort
Castell Verde Resort
Hotel Castell'Verde Corsica/Santa Giulia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing