We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly positive”
Review of Hotel Nefeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nefeli
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Plymouth, Devon
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Mainly positive”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is reviewed from the perspective of a one week stay with friends for a conference at the Grecotel Imperial. If you are searching for accommodation in order to attend a conference at the Imperial, the Nefeli is about fifteen minutes walk though do note most of that is on a fairly steep road.

The Nefeli looks attractive because there is generous planting of flowers, shrubs, and trees. Do note that the olive groves which appear in some photographs are on the approach roads, i.e. not part of the property. The swimming pool is of a reasonable size and there are so many sun-loungers that the hotel would need to be full for there to be difficulty in securing one... which leads me to occupancy. Last few days of May and first few days of June and Corfu was suffering: visitor numbers really are down and, yet, taxi and taverna prices do not reflect this. From the hotel to the nearby resort of Gouvia, i.e. two to three kilometres, by taxi was always ten euros. Many tavernas were visited, some twice. All were expensive. The nearest to the Nefeli, about twenty metres, is Taverna Panorama: wonderful view of the bay and, undoubtedly, the best quality of food experience during the week.

A better view still is obtained from the Taverna Seaview, further along, but the quality of food is disappointing. The best taverna for both price and quality was the Restaurant Leon in Gouvia. Note that Blue Bus Number 7 is the one you want from the bottom of the hill.

Mor about the Nefeli. Well, breakfast was 'fair', i.e. yoghurt, bread, sliced cheese, processed ham. One of my colleagues tried an omelette one morning at 3.5 euros and she thought it pricey. We had 'superior' rooms and it wasn't clear to this reviewer how they differentiate from standard. The balcony was a reasonable size and possessed table and two chairs. However, what came as a surprise, as more guests checked in during the stay, was the sound transmission. The transmission of conversations and other activity was incredible, not only from next door but from my friends two doors away AND from the baby who kept crying for a long time in the room BELOW.

On the positive side, the chambermaid really did make a noticeable effort every day; that was pleasing. So, would I recommend the Nefeli? Yes although with the caveat of sound transmission. Put the air conditioning unit on and you may not hear anything from outside the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    39
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Loved staying at this little property which proved to be amazing value for money. The breakfast was very good with a great selection of items including fantastic yogurt and honey as well as Rizogalo a Greek style rice putting (this became my favorite every morning). The room was comfortable although the bathroom light was out but I never got the chance to ask to be fixed...shower which is the most important part for me was very powerful although the shower curtain was a bit of a pain but on the extra plus nice big Towels! I traveled for business so never got a chance to try the pool but it looked fantastic! Would definitely return if I have the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I spent some 10 days in this hotel and it was so good for both body and soul.... Beautiful and peaceful location, clean swimming pool, sunbathing chairs available in the garden of olive trees. Lovely staff, I felt welcomed and pampered all way through. I got a design -room with the decoration of Princess Elizabeth, it was very clean and pretty, had a balcony towards hills, a great spot to enjoy a ship of local white wine and see the sunset. Bus stop to the Corfu town was quite near to the hotel and two/three tavernas were just around the corner as well as a so-called supermarket.

If you are not looking for absolutely luxus, then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Book a design-room with a lovely view over the hilly mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lelle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a small elegant hotel in the middle of an olive grove. The nearest beach is 800m on foot, and for a better beach you can drive about 7 minutes away. I won't bother adding photos to my review because the picures on the hotel site are very close to what you will find there. The hotel is 10km from the town. The road to the hotel is well signposted, but (esp. for when first driving there) it is advisable to mark it on your GPS. These coordinates (set for the hotel parking area) worked well for us:
N 39 39'52.1"
E 019 51'01.8"

The hotel is small and quiet, and kept very clean. Same for the pool, it is 15 meters which is very nice for a refreshing dip if you don't want to go down to the beach. Next to the pool is a lovely lawn where you can enjoy the sun.

The rooms are a adequate, and kept very clean. There is a small fridge which was handy. The shower is a bit small but that was not a problem.

Breakfast (included in our room price) is basic, but plentiful and very fresh, and the breakfast room is nice -- or you can take your breakfast to a table outside which is very relaxing.

There is a small pool bar, very relaxing and romantic to have a drink in the evening, while at the same time it does not annoy other guests with loud music. This is also true of the whole hotel -- it is quiet and the guests respect each others peace.

We stayed 8 nights at this lovely hotel, and it would certainly be our choice next time we visit Corfu!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reuenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed 12 days in this hotel with a group of friends and we are very satisfied. Peaceful location, almost on the top of the hill, surrounded with olive trees and lot of pines and flowers, gives you a sense that you are isolated. Rooms are simple but clean, with big balcony surrounded with flowers and trees. Swimming pool is big enough for swim and water is clean and warm. Stuff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is OK, but same every morning. Corfu town is only 10km away and it is easy reachable by car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelinaNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My daughter and I spent a week here. We were looking for a quiet, inexpensive but comfortable, hotel with character, where I could work on a project, and she could read and sunbathe beside the swimming pool. The Hotel Nefeli was perfect. The staff were extremely helpful, particularly when we arrived at Corfu Airport in the middle of a taxi strike. Our room was not large, but it was indeed comfortable and very clean, though the beds were certainly 'firm'. I agree with a previous comment about the annoying shower curtain but otherwise the bathroom was absolutely fine. Depending on how many people are in the hotel, the hotel may provide lunch, but dinner is always available. The cooking was simple but good, and there are, somewhat surprisingly owing to the hotel's apparently isolated position in the heart of an olive grove, several bars and tavernas within a couple of minutes walk. There was usually a lovely cool breeze blowing on the hill where the hotel sits, surrounded by stunning views. We were the only English in the hotel at the time, but most of the other guests (French, Belgium, German), and all the staff, could speak good English. If I go to Corfu again, I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Hotel Nefeli on Corfu.

We were made very welcome by the staff, who spoke good English (although we were the only English guests - nearly all the others being German or French) and invariably helpful. I particularly liked the fact that because it wasn't too big, the hotel treated us as individuals rather than numbers.

The architecture of the hotel was attractive and the settling delightful. The approach via road is through olive groves and I enjoyed the walk through them to the bus stop (about half a mile away at the bottom of the hill). My partner is of the view that next time, he'd hire a car, but frankly, I think that's too extreme (and that he is just being lazy). There was a regular bus service from the stop to Corfu town ever 20 minutes or so, which was perfectly adequate.

The room was kept in pristine condition by the daily cleaner. My only criticism concerns an irritating shower curtain that wrapped itself round me whenever I used it and CNN (rather than BBC World) on the TV. But really, these are trivial concerns.

I'd recommend the Nefeli to anyone and would certainly stay there again if we go back to Corfu.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyLunchtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,335 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#5 of 10 in Corfu Town
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
3.5 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nefeli

Property: Hotel Nefeli
Address: Kommeno Bay 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nefeli 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family-run hotel in very quiet and romantic location on the hill of Kommeno, only 12 km north of Corfu-town, in the middle of Corfu island. 45 Rooms in total, 21 Standard-rooms, 24 "Design-rooms" - all different decorated according to Greek or Corfiot themes and myths. Large garden with lots of olive trees, palm trees, lemon- and orange-trees and all kinds of flowers...The lawn at the pool is perfect for relaxing in the shadow of a tree. The pool bar offers a variety of snacks and drinks in the late afternoon and evening. Reception area offers Internet-corner, TV-corner, safe-boxes and library. WiFi free at all the hotel area. We speak Greek, English, German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefeli Hotel Corfu
Hotel Nefeli Corfu/Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing