We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Eva Palace
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 11th to the 18th October and we had an absolutely great holiday. We arrived by taxi and were personally greeted by Yolanda in Guest Relations. She gave us a tour of the hotel and throughout the week she made contact with us to ensure that everything was ok. I can honestly say that she was brilliant and was a credit to the hotel.
We had a Junior Suite and the views were outstanding. A sea view on a high floor is a must if you want to make the most of the hotel.
We were also upgraded to the 'Famous Grade' which is one up from the 'Premium Plus' as it was our Anniversary. This was a nice touch and meant we got some extra goodies in our room such as flowers, wine and fruit and also discounts in the Spa and an extra night in the A La Carte restaurant.
This was the first time we have been All Inclusive (or Premium Plus as the Hotel call it) but I can honestly say it was well worth it here. The drinks and food are quite expensive so the Premium Plus option is a 'no brainer'. The hotel is in an isolated location so you will probably spend most of your time in or around the hotel. There are no 'wrist bands' but a Hotel credit style card which you flash at appropriate times. We would have spent twice as much if we hadn't gone for the Premium Plus option.
The hotel itself is probably a 4 star but coupled with the fantastic views and the fabulous friendly staff, (yes, all of them were them were extremely polite, friendly and efficient) we had a near five star experience. In particular, 'Panos' in the restaurant was brilliant and was a nice welcoming face at meal times.
The pool was clean and refreshing. The pool bar was very good with nice friendly staff.
The small private beach was a nice experience. We popped down there on 2 afternoons for a swim in a perfectly calm and warm sea. We even water skied on one afternoon which was brilliant as we each skied 2 miles in the direction of Albania and then back again. Exhausting but fabulous scenery and well worth the 35 Euro cost.
Popped into Corfu town one day which was a nice experience. 10 Euro using the hotel shuttle. You can do it cheaper if you walk for 20mins to the local bus stop but why would you want to do that??
Overall a great holiday and good value.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must. Choose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AUDIRS4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent a week in Corfu from Oct 4th. We arrived at 1pm local time, waited on coach for 45 minutes for a family who didn't show and finally left around 3pm without them. Two Thomson reps got on the coach but they didn’t really bother with the usual welcoming speech, which was ok as one had a wonderful Scottish accent but it was so broad as to be almost unintelligible. Both of the reps got off at the first hotel drop leaving the remaining four drops to fend for themselves! Finally arrived at the hotel at 4pm, reception and booking in was ok with a nice lemon drink to refresh after the journey. Guest relations (Yolanda) gave us a guided tour and explanation of the hotel facilities; this was a nice touch and made it all much more personal. Room was not so good; the proverbial cat would have had trouble swinging and the balcony had just enough room for the table and two chairs, how you were supposed to actually use it beat us. After a wander around the grounds to get our bearings (and try out the various bars!) we decided to visit reception. Another room was found and within an hour we were ensconced in a far better room, credit where it's due; the staff were accommodating and we were happy customers. That said, I don't think that we should have been given the room in the first place considering that we had paid a premium for a sea view etc etc.

The evening buffet can be a little frantic if you pick the wrong time but either side of this it’s a pleasant way to spend an hour or two. The choice of food was pretty good though, as has been commented on before, some of it was not very hot. I'm ok with this so long as it's been cooked well, and everything we tried was very nice. There was a good selection of Greek specialities which were delicious (and it's one of the reasons for being there). Breakfast was the usual European fare with a wide and varied selection of fruits, yoghurts and so on. The one thing I found odd was that, for example, there would be honey next to the sausage and bacon; it was almost like the food had been just put out with little thought to how it went together. Could make for some interesting combinations!

The pool is good size and clean though the surrounds are formed concrete which has seen better days and is breaking up in places, not really a problem just need to be aware when walking around in our soft bare feet. The staff are wonderful and a credit to the hotel, nothing is too much trouble. Nikki the Thomson rep was superb; the newbies meeting, which we tend to avoid on principal, was excellent; short, to the point, interesting and good humoured. Take the time out to listen to her and you'll be well rewarded. She is available twice a day, 6 days a week. There is a minimarket on site near the pool that stocks the usual staples. Smokers; if you give them a few day's notice they can get any brand you want in whatever quantity you require so, there is no need to go off site.

If you are just going to stay around the hotel, the all inclusive package (premium plus or "pp") is well worth the money as, has been mentioned before, the prices are somewhat high, one cynic did suggest that the prices are intended to encourage guests to go "pp". Not everything on the menu is part of the package but there is sufficient to keep all but the fussiest satisfied. Even Drambuie and the like is included, so those who say that the "pp" was not good value must have particularly eclectic needs or unrealistic expectations. If you intend to fly and flop then you really should consider the pp option.

We caught the bus into Corfu town, a fascinating town with a long history. It's very touristy especially as the tour ships stop there, but the back streets of the old town are great to explore and get a taste (literally) of Corfu. We also went on the Thomson "Simply Corfu" day trip which was excellent, our guide Sophia, was knowledgeable and interesting and we went to places I doubt we would have found ourselves. Again, I highly recommend it. We were very unfortunate with the weather, it rained most days and practically every night, whilst this did put a dampener (sorry) on the sun bathing, we still managed to have a thoroughly enjoyable time. The weather did have the last laugh; low cloud caused arriving aircraft to be diverted or delayed; we were fortunate that we were only delayed by around an hour. It quickly became evident that the terminal couldn’t cope, people were told not to pass through security as the ‘lounge’ was full to capacity. I would highly recommend that you avoid the only place to get food in the lounge, you do expect to be charged silly prices but, the two staff were surly, rude and even aggressive to one passenger, the coffee was almost undrinkable and the hot food wasn’t. I don’t know what the answer is but, it really is abusing a captive audience.

Would we go back? To the island; most certainly, to this hotel; probably not as it’s too isolated. But that is no reflection on the hotel or their staff all of whom are absolutely superb, everything done with a smile and a friendly word. A special mention has to go to Mary and her colleagues who kept us well watered every evening. A special thanks must go out to Maurice & Anita and Trevor & Karen, meeting you has made our lives much richer - Maurice and the parsnips in Portugal will give us a laugh for years to come.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked. There are steps but don't let this put you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just got back from grecotel eva palace calling this place a palace is very misleading .taken to our room and told we like by the receptionist we told her no we do not like it as looking at a roof was not a sea view then was told that they will upgrade us the following day everyone seems to get upgraded even if you don't ask this seems very strange ,went all inclusive then found out only something's are included like you can have burger n chips included but cheese on it then cost 15.50 euros beach bar was closed all week so if you won't drinks or food you had to go back up to the pool area which is a walk away .
Lots of Staff still had a very long wait for drinks in bar
Shuttle bus cost 10euros left at ten back at two should be included in price
Local Bus stop is a good twenty min walk away
Rooms are very basic
Entertanment is crap
Food was basic and always warm not hot the ala cart was rubbish
Steps are every where so if you have any slit problems with walking you cannot get about lift stops at restaurant then pool and beach you have to walk down lots of steps and paths
Cleaners are great but found the rest of the staff to be rude do not take notice of any complaints made to them as if I should be lucky to stay
I would not recommend this place to anyone

Stayed: September 2013
8  Thank murf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratos M, General Manager at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your opinion with other readers of Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Grecotel Eva Palace!
In regard to the accommodation, we always try to upgrade our guests upon availability to a higher category or to a sea view room.
In regard to the Premium Plus package, the Eva Palace is by no means a traditional All Inclusive hotel and does not claim to be one either. We are absolutely clear about what the Premium Plus package entails. From our pricelist only few items are not included in the package.
Everything that is included has the indication ‘PP’ next to the price.
Our beach bar opens when weather permitting and during you stay the, weather was rainy and windy.
The temperature of the food at the buffet is meticulously monitored by our staff. Al fresco dining, air conditioning and wondering around the various parts of the buffet, can lower the temperature of the food on one's plate. In these cases, we are happy to heat the food for our guests very quickly
As far as the evening entertainment is concerned, during the 7 nights you were here, we had, 5 live-band performances, 1 evening music at lobby bar and 1 dance night, so there was something happening every night. If, on the other hand, it was the quality of the evening entertainment that let you down, this will be duly noted and submitted to our headquarters for review, in preparation for next season.
Unfortunately, the Eva Palace does have unavoidable steps throughout the property, which cannot be avoided when accessing the pool & beach areas. It is for this very reason that we specifically mention in our website and inform all our collaborators that the hotel is inappropriate for guests with mobility difficulties.

We strongly believe that the good service is one of our strong points here at the Eva Palace, and I am confident that many other readers and reviewers will agree to this.
Perhaps talking about your issues at the beginning of your stay, would have resulted in a more enjoyable holiday for you and a more realistic review for us! It is indeed a pity that you spoke to a member of my management team the last evening of your stay.
Nevertheless we believe that the bad weather that we had in Corfu during your whole stay was an important reason that you didn’t enjoy your stay. We would be very pleased to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future and convincing you otherwise
Sincerely,

Mr. Stratos Mavralexakis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Recently returned from a weeks holiday here 23rd-30th September. A gorgeous relaxing, much needed break.

The staff were amazing, always smiling, very happy to help and extremely good at their jobs
.
. We were upgraded on arrival to superior 5th floor rooms - 544 and 549, where the view was stunning. The glass wall in the bathroom meant I could sit in the bath and look out across the bedroom, through the patio doors, across the sea to the hills beyond, now that was a new experience!!!! Being on the 5th floor did cause me a huge problem though, Im claustrophobic and cant stands lifts. Having tried to cope with all the stairs, I had to admit defeat and grit my teeth, bury my face in my Husbands chest and go with it. By the end of the week I was getting in there and pressing the buttons yippee!!

We quickly got through 2 teabags left each day, being Brits, we wanted an afternoon cuppa and dont drink coffee. In the lounge bar one evening we asked our waitress how to get more teabags, 'I'll sort it for you' she said and off she went to reception. We left the lounge 15 minutes later, with no teabags appearing, resigned to no tea in the morning :( when we got back to our room we found they had been delivered to our tea tray by Housekeeping....wow.....now thats what I call service. After that, Housekeeping always left more teabags for us. Thank you :)

We booked all inclusive, or Premier Plus as they call it. Everything we wanted was included, and the amount of water and iced tea we drank by the pool was enough to fill the pool! The staff would not let us carry hot drinks back to our sun-loungers, and they brought these across for us. The menus are all marked with 'PP' meaning these items are included in the all inclusive option. The drinks, alcoholic and non alcoholic, were definitely included at the the pool bar during the evening entertainment, you just have to look for the 'pp' option.

We asked about the cats as some people were objecting to these around the al a cart restaurant. They are not the Hotel cats but have been provided with the 'cat palace' in the grounds, so they can be fed away from the guests. But, they have realised they get fed by guests having lunch and their al a cart meal in the evening, so they pretend to be starving little things and have an extra meal. Whilst guests keep feeding them, they will not keep to their cat palace
.
The weather was brilliant and the food very good, something for everybody. Loved the roast lamb one evening and the suckling pig on the last night was just perfect.

All in all, a lovely holiday. Thank you to all the staff who made our break complete :))))))

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kizzy1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

By far the best hotel I've ever stayed in,the food was very good,the room was even better than the photographs (junior suite) and because it was our 45th anniversary we were upgraded to the famous people package.this meant we had maid service twice every day a fresh bowl of fruit every 2 days a bottle of bubbly,a bottle of wine and mineral water every day.We also got an extra A la carte allowance.
On our first visit to the a la carte restaurant we had a vase of red roses in place and a special cake was made for us.
The staff were all brilliant especially the girls who served us in the bars ( i have never seen staff working so hard ) rather puts us Brits to shame.
All in all although not the cheapest of holidays ( booked with Thompsons) I can highly recommend the Hotel with who ever you go with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimmycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Corfu after a short week break at the Eva Palace Grecotel. We arrived in Corfu late at night and unfortunately got hopelessly lost without the use of satnav in the rented car and poor directions. The hotel staff upgraded us and we were given a superior room on the forth floor with uninterrupted views over Gouvia bay and Corfu town coastline. We could see the Albanian coastline and watch cruise liners and sailing boats come and go from the comfort of our balcony. I have to agree with other visitors, even though the hotel is situated in a beautiful part of the island, it is not what one would expect of a 5 star hotel, rather a 4 star. The bedrooms were clean on the surface, but with closer inspection needed a ''deep cleanse'' before changing rooms over to new guests. The bath robes were indeed very small and no slippers were provided! The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and helpful at all times. We spent little time at the hotel during the day, as we wanted to explore the island, and may I say it was well worth the 700 km plus we drove from north to south, east to west! This time of the year the weather is slightly cooler and easier to travel and see fascinating hilltop and coastal villages. A car is a must to explore the island or ells take day tours to get a feel of the island. We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis. The breakfasts were of fairly good standard, just very disappointing for a 5 star hotel, no fresh orange juice, instead juice from concentrate! We did not use the hotel dining facilities. Instead we enjoyed most of our dinners at the Pelagos Restaurant, a steep, short walk from the hotel. The traditional Greek food served was indeed very tasty and fresh ingredients were used. The views from the restaurant made the dining experience even more special! We thought the private beach at the hotel was lovely, although we only stayed to watch the sunset. We had drinks only once at the hotel, as they tend to be quite expensive and enjoyed live entertainment on one occasion. Will I recommend the hotel, yes, it is situated in a beautiful bay, were one could just chill out and do nothing but laze around the beach or pool OR, by car, the hotel it is located in a fairly central part of the island to explore fascinating towns, picturesque villages and visit traditional Taverna's dotted over the island OR you could hire a motorboat and enjoy the coastline (which we did). Many seaside resorts were closed and less crowded, which we enjoyed most!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on a higher level of the hotel, it is well worth the views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rencolussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our stay was between 23rd September to the 30th. We have only positive reviews to express.
The location and views are spectacular as a result of the hotel's position on Kommeno Peninsula. This was enjoyed from our lovely room (518), the lounge terrace, the pool and the restaurants.
The staff were without exception fantastic! They were friendly, helpful, responsive and always professional. Many of them slipped into whichever language suited their guest and we were very impressed by how fluent they were.
The pool was lovely and the sunbeds were plentyful and extremely comfortable. The pool and the surrounding area were kept meticulously clean.
We had the premium plus package which made the hotel incredibly cost effective. Unlike other all inclusive hotels we have experienced, the service was excellent and we never had to wait at the bar for drinks as the plentiful and enthusiastic waiting staff would always come to us straight away.
The food was fantastic and even though we are vegetarians, we found plenty to eat and enjoy. It was fresh, varied and appetising.
We absolutely recommend the Eva Palace and intend to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryszard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
11.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
12.9 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
0.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
4.8 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Eva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Eva Palace

Address: P.O. Box 57 | Tzavros, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range: £117 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Eva Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grecotel Eva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Eva Palace Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Corfu/Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing