We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Eva Palace
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned yesterday for the Eva palace after a weeks holiday.
The Hotel is in a good spot on a peninsula with lovely views of the sea on both sides of the hotel and from the hotel bar on an evening.
Nice helpful friendly staff, in the breakfast room, pool bars, lunch time restaurant and good maid service.
Nice bedroom with a sea view and balcony, but you could not see the view from a sitting position due the high balconies solid wall. We did mention this and we're offered a move for the last 2 nights but could not be bothered with the upheaval of packing and unpacking again. Yolanda the customer service officer was very helpful.
Food in the lunch restaurant next to the pool was nice more choice with a barbecue, meals in the main evening restaurant were not as good as previous platinum hotels we have visited for food and puddings, not much choice and s bit repetitive, but we were offered a second night in the a la carte . The meal in this restaurant was lovely. We spoke to few other guests who felt the same about the food, the breakfast however was really nice plenty of choice.
Beach nice and beach bar good for a change of scenery or a cool beer.
Visited the gym on the 6 floor a few machines were not working, but floor mats and weights available,
Lovely pool area and sun beds with towels everyday if you like and comfy sun lounger pads.
A couple of restaurants in walking distance up the hill.
We had a lovely holiday and it was relaxing.
Please note - the are a number of steps down to the pool area, so anyone with walking problems pay find this difficult and a bit steep and suggest you to for all inclusive as the drinks are expensive around 7 or 8 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Really nice hotel, but it's not 5* as Thomson say it is in their Platinum range.

Though the hotel staff are definitely 5* in every area - from the moment you arrive at reception to the cleaning staff - but I love the Greek people, always helpful and friendly.

We paid £860 for 7 nights All Inclusive (AI) (came back today, 11th July) and there are much cheaper options out there - but this was a nice 4* hotel in our view. 5* is the Shangri-La in Penang to give our benchmark - L'Occitane in the bathrooms and Waygu beef in the restaurant, served silver service, champagne afternoon tea for free etc.

To clarify - to be 5* I want to be served my dinner and not have a buffet and expect that if a gym is offered it should have all machines working, one of the 2 running machines wasn't working and no cross trainer at all.

We booked through Thomson and did All Inclusive - definitely worth it (book AI before you go as much cheaper than booking it when you are out there) - though be warned not all of the cocktails are included, but the spirits are good known brands (Absolute, Disarano, Jack Daniels etc) and the fizzy drinks are all branded - so that's good. The Greek house wine leaves a lot to be desired and the prosecco wasn't to my liking - but that's personal taste of course.

When we arrived I don't think our room was available and we were asked if we would be happy to have an upgrade to a Villa for the first 2 nights and then an upgrade to a 5th Floor Superior room for the rest of our stay. We couldn't beleive our luck so readily accepted the 'proposition'. We had booked a normal (not superior) Sea View room which was possibly on 3rd or 4th Floor but didn't ever actually see that. Needless to say the Villa was superb and a real luxury and the Superior room (room 551) was sublime - with quite easily the best view I've ever had from a hotel bedroom window. The view is so amazing that the bathroom window is glass so that you don't need to miss a moment of the view. We were so very lucky that our original room wasn't ready - it could have been a different experience altogether.

I echo other comments on here that you MUST pay the extra for the Sea View - it really is quite amazing - my pictures don't do it justice.

The hotel offers a bus into Corfu for 4 hours every day (Dep 10am Return 2pm) for Euro 10 per person - well worth the money in our opinion and enough time to do both of the forts and a bit of shopping (we don't really do the 'shopping' thing) so had a lovely long time to wander round the old town and have a couple of drinks. We still got back in time for the AI lunch which finishes at 3pm.

3 bars in the complex - Pool Bar (9am-6pm then 9pm- lateish) Beach bar (9am-6pm) Lobby Bar 5.30-1am).

Food - all meals are buffet unless you book in the a la carte restaurant (1 meal in the a la carte is included in the AI deal and was very nice). The food wasn't always hot enough for us. The options were varied and good for all the meals. My husband loves beetroot and in the pool restaurant they had it on the salad table one day but not the next so the day after I asked and they bought some down for him - fantastic. without sounding a complete hethan they had Spag Bol on the buffet every day - which saved me as it suits my slimming world diet and was a very, very tasty fall back option for me and of course for the few children there.

The Pool - fantastic - even though it is salt water which I'm not keen on. There are palm trees set in the large white concrete blocks in the pool which offer up large areas to lay on to keep cool whilst sunbathing. We are swimmers for exercise and there was a part of the pool that gave you more than a 'length' in an English pool so it was perfect for bobbing around (salt makes you more weightless) also great for sunbathing and good for hardcore swimming. One area of the pool had a strange smell associated - not sure if it was the use of bore water or maybe the drains - but we avoided that part of the pool.

Lots of sunbeds - never a shortage and good comfy mattresses on them. Towels were given out fresh everyday in exchange for your 'towel card' and I once changed mine twice with no complaint.

A very, very nice hotel. and a thoroughly enjoyable week altogether. I would happily tell my friends to stay at this hotel on the understanding that it's 4* - still great value in our opinion. we don't do return trips because the world is too large but if we did - I would happily go back to this hotel and pay the extra cost for room 551 - possibly the best room in the hotel because of the view - it's the one that is used to take the photograph on the hotel postcard - enough said!

The overall hotel is classic - lots of marble and nice comfy seating in the indoor bar - gives you a feeling of comfort with class. Some great photo opportunities with the view in the main lobby bar - you can see the corfu old town. Very nice.

Sorry if I've missed anything!!!

Beach is fine, but not amazing.

Brits are the minority with Russians and Germans the majority.

Room Tip: Room 551 overlooking the sea - a-ma-zing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your visit to Grecotel Eva Palace. I am pleased to hear that we've been able to provide you excellent service throughout the hotel and overall you had an enjoyable stay.

Regarding the 4 star marking for the reason of serving a buffet dinner instead of a A la Carte one, allow me to say that most of the 5 star hotels (if not all) in the Mediterranean as well as in many other regions around the world, serve a buffet dinner and give the guests the option to dine A la Carte at an extra cost if they would like to. Same as we do here. Hotels in Malaysia or Thailand operate in a different way due to the huge difference in the cost of living in those countries. Our strong weapon which we count on in order to offer our guest a different experience is our service and friendliness. It is a great pleasure to see that guests see that and appreciate it, talk about it and come back for it.

We thank you once again for all your valuable input! We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent our holidays with another couple in 2013 at the Eva Palace.
What we liked a lot:
- Room was clean, very nice, perfect view to sea, every day cleanup was very good.
- Buildings, Pool, Bars... everything you need.
- Allover very clean, a lot of staff cleaning, checking, reparing... perfect.
- Food was very very good
- Very good wellness facilities
- We liked the small beach but because it's a small bay, you don't have really waves. We would prefer that, because we like feeling the waves.

Highlight:
Very polite, very obliging and helpful staff.

If you are in Eva Palace find your place in the restaurant outside at the very end of the terrace beside the live-cooking. Here you will meet the nicest waiter ever: Panos. We are still in contact via facebook, also with (Ana)Tolis. Such nice guys! Thank you for making every day just more perfect!

We enjoyed every single day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's difficult to impart just how good the Eva Palace is, other than to say this is our 4th stay in 4 years. The experience starts as soon as you reach reception, where you are greeted with a cool drink and the warm and friendly staff ensuring your holiday starts in the best possible way. You are welcomed as if you are old friends during which time your luggage is moved efficiently to your room. The first time you enter the restaurant, you're overwhelmed by the quality and variety of food available, and staff make every effort to ensure you are seated at the table of your choice. It's at this point where you start to feel the impressive way the likes of Sophia and the restaurant staff make you feel. Then when you're ready, you can make your way to the pool bar where you're greeted by Theo, Spiros and the team, who make and serve the most wonderful drinks and cocktails you could wish for. I've never been treated so well, and made to feel so welcome, by people that only see me once a year. This year there was a new General manager appointed, Nikos
who arrange a meet and greet where we were introduced to key member's of his team to ensure our stay went smoothly. Finally, I'd just like to say thank you to the whole Eva Palace team for making our 4th stay just as good as the previous 3, and we're looking forward to our return in 2015.

Room Tip: If you can book into one of the bungalows or junior suites as these are very well placed for all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved our stay at eva palace. The hotel, amenities and service were first class. The buffet restaurant was wonderful, a large array of fresh and first class produce. The staff cant do enough for you. Sophia and pedrag in the restaurant offer great service, pedrag always a smile and though a young trainee was always sincere and pleasant. The staff are a credit to the very hands on manager. They all work very hard. The views are wonderful. Plenty of sunbeds round the fabulous pools and small beach. The only negative is the amount of steps, so not for the infirm. We stayed in june and the weather was lovely. A welcome relaxing stay after our busy adriatic cruise. We would love to return to this hotel as the standards are so good. Thank you all at eva palace.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow but had no sea view. Main hotel has fab veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

breakfast is nice, rooms are also very nice with good sea view
wifi does not work properly at all time. gym is totally rubbish- its just there for namesake, its a nice hotel to relax overall but not very exciting. hotel more suitable for 50+ age group

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramitmonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you that you chose Grecotel Eva Palace for your recent holidays. We also thank you for your comments here in Trip Advisor and for your time to share your opinion with the rest of the viewer’s.

Thank you for your good comments about our breakfast buffet and for the room upgrade that you got which gave you the chance to enjoy the views to the sea. We are pleased to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay here with us.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our gym. Maybe it is not big enough but it provides the basic equipment for guests who want to exercise themselves. We also intend to add a few more instruments next year and create a better area for people who want to exercise.

Regarding internet connection in the public areas, it is true that when many people log on at the same time and use bandwidth heavy apps like Skype, the system overloads and the experience is not the required one. We always try to solve the problems which may appear with the IT manager so the guests have good and fast connection.

As far as the age group of our guests, that varies throughout the season and the more you approach high season the younger it becomes. Eva Palace is a hotel where the guests come especially for relaxation as you referred in your review. Maybe if you choose a different period next time, it would be more suitable for you.

We would like to thank you once more for expressing your opinion here in Trip Advisor and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we stayed at this hotel after a cruise on the Majesty, and it was lovely, the staff cant do enough for you, the rooms are spotless,not sure about the glass partition between the bathroom and the room, even the curtain does not provide much privacy as we found when my husband was in the bathroon and another member of our party popped in our room, wooops, we found if you pull the shower curtain accross as well it provided more privacy,that aside, the staff we very helpfull.the views from the balcany are spectacular, the food is very varied with some cooking stations as well,would I return , yes I would, but those steps back up from the pool are a bit of a killer, you wouldnt want to forget your suntan lotion and have to go back and get it (40 in all). the pool area is lovely, and the water was warm, entertainment is low key here,no noise during the day, very restfull just to read a book, the EL Divo tribute band were very good, entertaiment in the evenings sometimes down by the pool sometimes in the lobby bar.I would recomend the premium plus package as i am sure it saved us a fortune,

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are on the level with reception and the lobby bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyholidaymakerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
11.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
12.9 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
6.1 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Eva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Eva Palace

Address: P.O. Box 57 | Tzavros, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range: £100 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Eva Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grecotel Eva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Eva Palace Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Corfu/Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing