We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal place if you want to relax in a secluded resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grecotel Eva Palace
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ideal place if you want to relax in a secluded resort.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just returned from a two-week stay at Grecotel Eva Palace and I must admit it was the first time that I found ALL staff of a Greek hotel so friendly, nice, pleasant and smiling. There is no doubt that people work really hard and do all their best to meet customers’ expectations. They understand the culture of customer service.

Because of its secluded position, the hotel is the ideal spot for those who want to relax on the hotel’s private beach or by the swimming pool. The atmosphere by the pool is simply amazing and I had a wonderful relaxing time. The pool area is overlooking the bay and surrounded by lush hills, flowers and palms. The bar is in the middle and you can just sit there, cool down and enjoy the splendid view while you sip a drink or have something to eat. I am sure I will miss all this!

The type of clientele is very diverse and made up of different segments and, unfortunately, I have to agree with the comments made in other reviews about the Russian tourists.

The hotel has two main weaknesses. Firstly, when it starts getting quite busy, at 8 o’clock in the morning all the best sunbeds by the pool have already been occupied by people who sometimes turn up at midday or even in the afternoon. There are also parents who keep the sunbeds occupied for their children who actually will end up using them for no more than one hour during the entire day. That is quite annoying as people do not go on holiday to get up at the sunrise to ensure they can get a sunbed.

Secondly, because the private beach is on a bay, do not expect to find the same crystal waters you will find in other resorts on Corfu. If you want to swim in a crystal-clear sea, you need to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank London_arbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    341
    98
    31
    9
See reviews for
188
966
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an 11 night stay at Eva Palace and whilst the hotel is very nice it perhaps does not warrant the 5 star rating. The hotel itself is very nice and the staff are a real credit to the company. The endless stairs will keep you fit.

The hotel has wonderful views, but the price for this is the hotels remoteness. There is very little around the hotel, just a couple of tavernas which are about a 5 or 10 min walk away, but you will have a 30 minute walk to the nearest bus stop or pay €50 for a taxi round trip into the town. There is a bus that the hotel provides for €10 but that is only laid on if enough people want to go out on that day and leaves at 10am but leaves the town at 2pm to come back.

The hotel prices are pretty steep - €13 for a gin and tonic and we were very glad that we went all inclusive. However, watch out that you always choose items with a PP against them or you will have to pay - for example if you want a hamburger that's fine, but if you want a cheeseburger or a Greek salad then you will have to pay - it made no sense to us.

The food was good quality and plentiful but a bit repetitive - apart from the delicious stuffed vine leaves which made an appearance on our first night, but never again! The A La Carte restaurant is lovely and worth a visit.

Our room was a double room on the first floor beneath the main bar area and the noise from dragging chairs at night and early in the morning was very annoying meaning we had to sleep with ear plugs. The rooms are clean and comfortable ours was nothing special, but some lucky people were offered free upgrades.

The evening entertainment around the pool bar was pretty average - one or two good acts only and repeated so if you are there for two weeks you get to see it all again. Something a little more upbeat would have been nice.

If you thought fighting off the Germans to get a sunbed was bad enough, you've obviously not met the Russians yet - these guys must get up at 3am to reserve all the best beds............. You can always get beds, just not the better ones. There was a 60% Russian occupancy in the hotel and I felt so sorry for the staff as they have to be the rudest and demanding bunch of people I have ever met.

There were a few children at the hotel, but unlike some reviews we didn't experience any issues - they're just kids, doing kids stuff!

A nice hotel - perfect if all you want to do is sit around the pool all day, if you want a little more then you won't find it here.

After a very relaxing break our stress levels reached new highs once we hit Corfu airport - if you've never flown from Corfu airport before be warned! Hot, heaving and queues that only us Brits can appreciate!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you that you chose Grecotel Eva Palace for your recent holidays. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and any comments that help us to maintain the high standards for which Grecotel Eva Palace is known, are warmly welcomed.

I am very sorry to hear that some of our services didn’t meet your expectations but at the same time I was happy to hear that you found our staff a real asset to the hotel. We are what we repeatedly do, and friendliness & quality service is not an act, but a habit for all of us here at Grecotel Eva Palace.

Our hotel is indeed located on a magnificent peninsula only 15 km from Corfu Town and only 2,5 km from a very busy tourist area called Dassia with many bars, restaurants, shops etc. Guests who stay in an area like Dassia always complain for being in a very noisy area, with a lot of traffic, they have nowhere to walk, the beach is packed with a thousand other guests from neighbouring hotels & apartments and the list goes on and on. To my opinion and I am sure other reviewers will agree, Eva Palace is privileged to be in such an ideal location but at the same time very close to Corfu town or the resort of Dassia. The guests can reach the city centre either with our bus, the blue busses or by taxi which costs 25 Euros one way.

As far as the drinks prices are concerned, those are in line with drinks prices of other 5 star hotels on the island and around the world. In addition, we offer the Premium Plus package where you can drink and eat all you want with no extra cost. The PP identification next to every item on the menus shows to our guests which items are included in their PP package. Looking at one of our menus you will find that more than 85 % of the items in there have the PP identification next to them. In addition, having booked the premium plus package you have 20% discount on all the beverages and snacks which are not included in the package.

Regarding our evening meal in the main restaurant we have a 14 days menu rotation which includes different theme nights such as Greek, Italian, Asian, International, Fish night etc. Our Greek corner is another area of the buffet which is very popular with our guests, giving them the opportunity to try different greek food every night

I am very sorry to hear about the noise problem with your room. Letting us know about it during your stay would have given us the opportunity to offer you alternative options immediately. This is a standard practice in Eva Palace and the only thing a guest has to do is make us aware of the problem. Again I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Around our pool area the sun beds shouldn’t be reserved from any guest from late at night or early in the morning but unfortunately this is something that we cannot fully control at all times. We have specific signs which indicate that this is not allowed but not everybody follows that. The least we can do in that case is making sure that our guest will always find a sun bed even if is not the best ones.

As far as the nationalities forming the guest mix in the hotel, that is equally distributed to an average of 25% for the English and German guests and 17% for the Russian guests.

Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next holiday to Corfu.


Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 7 days break at the Grecotel Eva Palace in Corfu.

We were given a warm and friendly welcome by reception and the staff couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the third floor (room 245) overlooking the pool and had a sea view and we had great views across the bay and you could also see Corfu town in the distance.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with fantastic views all around the peninsular. It is slightly isolated but you can walk to the main road for local bus which we are told is a 20 mins walk ( to hot to find out our selfs ) or you can get the daily hotel bus to Corfu Town for 10 Euros return.

From the bar and restaurant you got a good view of the resident swifts flying up to their nests at dusk which we found entertaining. The entertainment was ok and was in keeping with he standard of hotel. There was live music at the pool bar or in the main bar most nights.

This hotel is not suitable for those with mobility issues due to the number of steps around the hotel to the beach and pool. You should also go all inclusive as drinks are expensive. The food was of a very good quality and there was always a choice of something to eat.
For each week of your stay you are entitled to one visit to the a la carte which was spectacular as the food and service was second to none.

We have travelled to a lot of hotels over the years and can say that this is the best for all round value and service and am mystified how anyone could complain about anything

Thankyou very much Eva Palace for making our holiday so enjoyable. We hope to visit you again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have agree with what all the other travellers have said about this hotel, very good in all respects except the adults only tag Thomsons uses to sell it as - all be it they do say in small print other tour operators allow children.

We arrived late! so missed dinner, we were told snacks would available at 11.30 - cold pizza, salad and soup! Not 5 star standard and as also we missed dinner the day we left, we only received 9 evening meals, but we paid for 10.

We didn't think too much about the small print warning about children with other tour operators, but we underestimated the number of Russian families, that turned up 7 days into out 10 trip!

The place changed into the normal bedlam you would expect with young children playing on holiday.

We complained about children running around the pool area at night when the professional singers where performing, but the management where at odds about how to resolve it.

A reviewer complained about wasps and cats, some weeks ago. Only saw 2 cats, so no problem, but yes there are a number of wasps about. My wife got stung at dinner one evening and we heard a couple of other people saying the same, but I believe it's a general problem in Corfu.

We are sorry to say, we were happy to get home!

Top tip from this is not to book this hotel in July and August, if you are looking for adults only and if you can't stand wasps!!!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are basic, upgrade if you get the option. Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATBET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving your sincere comments with regards to your recent stay at the Eva Palace. We were pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your holiday but unfortunately we didnt manage to meet fully your expectations. For that reason i would like to explain some things which will be good for everyone to know.

An important detail that I would like to clarify is that at 23.00 at the Lobby Bar we serve a snack but not a proper buffet dinner. The easy solution is to offer some cold sandwiches but we thought to offer something better than that and after talking with guests they said they would prefer some pizza that could be eaten hot and cold since we don’t have the necessary equipment at the bar to keep it hot at all times. For that reason it is possible for the pizza to be cold after a while.

With regards to the wasps, we fully understand how hazardous this is for our guests. However, it is an act of nature and there are no means at our disposal to totally remove them. We have taken all legitimate precautionary measures to keep the numbers very low (including spraying the property, destroying all nests and placing traps) and we have succeeded to eliminate the problem for now. Trust me this is not the wasp season (which is in September) and that is why nobody refers to it from now. Of course since we are in the countryside some wasps would be around and unfortunately you were stung by one but I assure you we do try our best to avoid such incidents.

As far as the children policy of Eva Palace I would like to clarify some things for everyone. The hotel is for adults (above the age of 18) all summer (from May until October) except a period of 6 weeks which generally begins in the middle of July until the end of August. Specifically for 2014, children were welcomed from the 5th of July until the 25th of August. Before that, no families with children were allowed in the hotel.
We do inform the parents about keeping their kids with them especially when they watch a show at the pool area as you mentioned, but as you would understand that is not always enough to solve the problem. Nowadays we also make an announcement over the microphone encouraging the parents to have their kids with them at their tables during shows and the problem has been almost eliminated.

All in all I understand that you had an enjoyable stay overall which is what our aim is. Your comments have been taken onboard and dealt with. I really hope to have the chance to welcome you again here at Eva Palace and meet you in person.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My friends and I did a Thompson Cruise and stay. The first cruise we have ever done. It was lovely. Would do it again in fact I would even go alone as there was so many people there all willing to talk to you. Clean cabin, staff lovely, plenty of food. It was a pity that single people (such as me) have to pay such a high exorbitant supplement and that was for an inside cabin. An outside cabin would have been much better.

The second week we stayed at the Eva Palace hotel. I have travelled a lot and I must say the staff at this hotel left a lot of others hotels in the shade. They were absolutely wonderful nothing too much trouble, always very polite, courteous and helpful. The food was good and the rooms were kept beautifully.

The only thing about this hotel is it is not for people who have a disability as there are a lot of steps.

I really would recommend this hotel, all the staff from the cleaners to the managers made sure you really enjoyed yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel were beautiful. I had one over looking the car park, but it was absolutely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned yesterday for the Eva palace after a weeks holiday.
The Hotel is in a good spot on a peninsula with lovely views of the sea on both sides of the hotel and from the hotel bar on an evening.
Nice helpful friendly staff, in the breakfast room, pool bars, lunch time restaurant and good maid service.
Nice bedroom with a sea view and balcony, but you could not see the view from a sitting position due the high balconies solid wall. We did mention this and we're offered a move for the last 2 nights but could not be bothered with the upheaval of packing and unpacking again. Yolanda the customer service officer was very helpful.
Food in the lunch restaurant next to the pool was nice more choice with a barbecue, meals in the main evening restaurant were not as good as previous platinum hotels we have visited for food and puddings, not much choice and s bit repetitive, but we were offered a second night in the a la carte . The meal in this restaurant was lovely. We spoke to few other guests who felt the same about the food, the breakfast however was really nice plenty of choice.
Beach nice and beach bar good for a change of scenery or a cool beer.
Visited the gym on the 6 floor a few machines were not working, but floor mats and weights available,
Lovely pool area and sun beds with towels everyday if you like and comfy sun lounger pads.
A couple of restaurants in walking distance up the hill.
We had a lovely holiday and it was relaxing.
Please note - the are a number of steps down to the pool area, so anyone with walking problems pay find this difficult and a bit steep and suggest you to for all inclusive as the drinks are expensive around 7 or 8 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Really nice hotel, but it's not 5* as Thomson say it is in their Platinum range.

Though the hotel staff are definitely 5* in every area - from the moment you arrive at reception to the cleaning staff - but I love the Greek people, always helpful and friendly.

We paid £860 for 7 nights All Inclusive (AI) (came back today, 11th July) and there are much cheaper options out there - but this was a nice 4* hotel in our view. 5* is the Shangri-La in Penang to give our benchmark - L'Occitane in the bathrooms and Waygu beef in the restaurant, served silver service, champagne afternoon tea for free etc.

To clarify - to be 5* I want to be served my dinner and not have a buffet and expect that if a gym is offered it should have all machines working, one of the 2 running machines wasn't working and no cross trainer at all.

We booked through Thomson and did All Inclusive - definitely worth it (book AI before you go as much cheaper than booking it when you are out there) - though be warned not all of the cocktails are included, but the spirits are good known brands (Absolute, Disarano, Jack Daniels etc) and the fizzy drinks are all branded - so that's good. The Greek house wine leaves a lot to be desired and the prosecco wasn't to my liking - but that's personal taste of course.

When we arrived I don't think our room was available and we were asked if we would be happy to have an upgrade to a Villa for the first 2 nights and then an upgrade to a 5th Floor Superior room for the rest of our stay. We couldn't beleive our luck so readily accepted the 'proposition'. We had booked a normal (not superior) Sea View room which was possibly on 3rd or 4th Floor but didn't ever actually see that. Needless to say the Villa was superb and a real luxury and the Superior room (room 551) was sublime - with quite easily the best view I've ever had from a hotel bedroom window. The view is so amazing that the bathroom window is glass so that you don't need to miss a moment of the view. We were so very lucky that our original room wasn't ready - it could have been a different experience altogether.

I echo other comments on here that you MUST pay the extra for the Sea View - it really is quite amazing - my pictures don't do it justice.

The hotel offers a bus into Corfu for 4 hours every day (Dep 10am Return 2pm) for Euro 10 per person - well worth the money in our opinion and enough time to do both of the forts and a bit of shopping (we don't really do the 'shopping' thing) so had a lovely long time to wander round the old town and have a couple of drinks. We still got back in time for the AI lunch which finishes at 3pm.

3 bars in the complex - Pool Bar (9am-6pm then 9pm- lateish) Beach bar (9am-6pm) Lobby Bar 5.30-1am).

Food - all meals are buffet unless you book in the a la carte restaurant (1 meal in the a la carte is included in the AI deal and was very nice). The food wasn't always hot enough for us. The options were varied and good for all the meals. My husband loves beetroot and in the pool restaurant they had it on the salad table one day but not the next so the day after I asked and they bought some down for him - fantastic. without sounding a complete hethan they had Spag Bol on the buffet every day - which saved me as it suits my slimming world diet and was a very, very tasty fall back option for me and of course for the few children there.

The Pool - fantastic - even though it is salt water which I'm not keen on. There are palm trees set in the large white concrete blocks in the pool which offer up large areas to lay on to keep cool whilst sunbathing. We are swimmers for exercise and there was a part of the pool that gave you more than a 'length' in an English pool so it was perfect for bobbing around (salt makes you more weightless) also great for sunbathing and good for hardcore swimming. One area of the pool had a strange smell associated - not sure if it was the use of bore water or maybe the drains - but we avoided that part of the pool.

Lots of sunbeds - never a shortage and good comfy mattresses on them. Towels were given out fresh everyday in exchange for your 'towel card' and I once changed mine twice with no complaint.

A very, very nice hotel. and a thoroughly enjoyable week altogether. I would happily tell my friends to stay at this hotel on the understanding that it's 4* - still great value in our opinion. we don't do return trips because the world is too large but if we did - I would happily go back to this hotel and pay the extra cost for room 551 - possibly the best room in the hotel because of the view - it's the one that is used to take the photograph on the hotel postcard - enough said!

The overall hotel is classic - lots of marble and nice comfy seating in the indoor bar - gives you a feeling of comfort with class. Some great photo opportunities with the view in the main lobby bar - you can see the corfu old town. Very nice.

Sorry if I've missed anything!!!

Beach is fine, but not amazing.

Brits are the minority with Russians and Germans the majority.

Room Tip: Room 551 overlooking the sea - a-ma-zing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your visit to Grecotel Eva Palace. I am pleased to hear that we've been able to provide you excellent service throughout the hotel and overall you had an enjoyable stay.

Regarding the 4 star marking for the reason of serving a buffet dinner instead of a A la Carte one, allow me to say that most of the 5 star hotels (if not all) in the Mediterranean as well as in many other regions around the world, serve a buffet dinner and give the guests the option to dine A la Carte at an extra cost if they would like to. Same as we do here. Hotels in Malaysia or Thailand operate in a different way due to the huge difference in the cost of living in those countries. Our strong weapon which we count on in order to offer our guest a different experience is our service and friendliness. It is a great pleasure to see that guests see that and appreciate it, talk about it and come back for it.

We thank you once again for all your valuable input! We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
11.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
10.3 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,096 reviews
3.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Eva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Eva Palace

Property: Grecotel Eva Palace
Address: P.O. Box 57 | Tzavros, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Eva Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grecotel Eva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Eva Palace Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Corfu/Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing