We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disappointment-nothing works as it should but you are charged as if it did.”
Review of Astir Notos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astir Notos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big disappointment-nothing works as it should but you are charged as if it did.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have been to quite a few hotels in Greece and this is the most disappointing by far. It's in the middle of nowhere and the dinner hours are surprising for Greece: 6.30 to 9 pm! Works great if you like going to bed early, or the alternative is what they call "entertainment" here, namely poor live performance of otherwise good Sinatra songs. Taking a shower is an unique experience: the water changes from tap cold to boiling hot as it pleases and you can't establish any control over its temperature. And they seem very keen to charge extra for anything they could think about: using a pool towel is a good example. Instead of staying for the 6 nights we had booked, we could not bear more than 2 and moved to a more relaxing place, although it cost us more than 250 euros in cancellation fees. I wouldn't say we were happy to pay that, but we were most definitely relieved to get out of the place! What a mistake it was to rely on the rating we saw on booking.com!! To be fair to the hotel, it's probably a decent 2-star, but very VERY far from what you normally get in a 4-star one in Greece.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetiaGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astirnotos, Front Office Manager at Astir Notos Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are very sorry to read this review for our place , and still wonder how people can become offensive , trying to get out in the internet and take revenge just because they were charged some CANCELLATION FEES . This guest made a reservation for 6 nights , stayed 2 nights without expressing any complaint in our reception desk or service sector . The end of the 2nd day they informed RECEPTION that they should depart the next day because they face some problems with their work. Our RECEPTION following exactly the terms under which the reservation is made through booking.com informed the guests that they should pay the cancellation fees equal to 238.5 euros. This was in their reservation factsheet so the guests couldnt doubt for that at all. From that point and then , the behaviour of the guest (lady) changed thoroughly , all her friendliness disappeared as she was hardly speaking to any of our staff. We truly believe that in case NO CANCELLATIONS FEES were charged the lady would still be happy as she was the first 2 days in which she passed a lot of time in the bar & restaurant of our hotel. At least , we hope that this guest is proud that after 6 years of successful operation and hundreds of positive reviews and ratings in all the appropriate websites , she was the first person that gave us a " terrible review" . About our dinner time she referred to , we can just say that in all the 4* places in the area the dinner hours are similar and end round 9pm. If somebody is used to have dinner from 21:00-23:00 or even later , there are many tavernas in the region that can satisfy this custom. About the MUSIC night we organised we can only say that it is optional for somebody to attend , there is no entrance fee and is organised after the wish of the majority of our guests. Somebody that does not like this type of music or this band has also the possibility to go to the town center and not attend. Finally , to the statement that our hotel is in the middle of nowhere we have to declare that actually our position is our big advantage as it is the only 4* hotel in the region which is only 3min walk from the center and 250m from the beach. As the end of this statement , we have to propose to the guest that the next time they perform a reservation through booking.com or any other organisation or directly with a hotel , they should be carefully read their reservation terms which are clearly settled on their reservation form. Otherwise , they will again be surprised by a bad hotel with bad staff like us that simply tried to apply the reservation policy ! ZACHAROPOULOS APOSTOLOS - ASTIR NOTOS HOTEL - OPERATIONAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    42
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Astir Notos ( southern star ) hotel I knew we had made the right choice. A family run hotel we were warmly greeted on arrival and soon settled into a very relaxed and chilled out week in the sun. The hotel is spotlessly clean ( really really clean) and great credit has to go to the two ladies who work tirelessly to keep things sparkling. The food and ambience of the dining room was excellent and there was always something there to cater for everyone's needs. Anastasia, Effie, Sofia were always on hands to help with our needs in the dining area, the pool bar with a smile on their face. The hotel is in a peaceful setting and is a short walking distance for the beach and Potos - I would recommend you get out and visit these areas which are within short walking distance to the hotel. Room 105 was excellent in every way, good quality bed and the balcony caught the late afternoon sun which rounded our day off before dinner.

The trip on the ferry to and from the mainland to Thassos was an added bonus in our view - something different to what we have experienced from other holidays.

The hotel is a must return for us - a real gem of a place - not to be missed

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and well equipped but if you like a bit of extra sun early morning or late evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chappers1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this hotel as a package holiday with Thomson, transfer was very well organised and the rep Anne was always nice and helpful.
The hotel is ideally located in a quiet area of Potos. (Walk across the car park by following the path and you are in town in two minutes. Or go to the main road, turn right and you are in town within a few minutes, and/or cross over and on the left you will find a path which will take you to the beach)
The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and we found the pool area to be nice and enjoyable. We were very satisfied about the cleanliness of our room, all areas of the hotel were kept cleaned. Our room was comfortable and modern. The hotel is small, spacious and modern- and not a "little Britain" therefore do not expect a bingo night, which was fantastic! The staff (mainly the ladies at meal time) were helpful and friendly.
The hotel has a spacious fitness area ( fairly adequate). The price of drinks is expensive with a family (e.g. 2 euros for a bottle of 1L water - 80p for 2L in town) and we were fairly satisfied with the quality of the meals (I would not say, in my opinion, that the food is the strength of this hotel but the selection was good)
Overall a great holiday, a nice hotel, a beautiful part of Greece, good place to enjoy with a family, good services at the hotel and from Thomson.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 329Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just got back on Sunday after 2 weeks at the Astir Notos. The hotel is well run and very clean with friendly staff and lovely modern rooms with spacious bathrooms. The food was generally very good, especially the Greek food which we enjoyed. However, the general ambience of the dining room was spoilt more times than not by noisy children screeching and running around. The sunbathing area around the pool was quite small and I dont think there is enough sun beds for the amount of guests which could be a potential problem if everyone staying wanted one. Again, sometimes it was lovely and quiet around the pool which was relaxing and sometimes it was far from relaxing when one of the large familly groups arrived and basically took over. The hotel was not sold by Thomson as a familly friendly hotel, so we were not expecting this at all. If it had been we would have avoided it like the plague and to be honest it wasnt the Thomson guests that were the problem. Potos was not what we expected, but once we got used to it being quite busy it was fine. So, in conclusion the hotel was very nice but probably would not return for the reasons above.

Room Tip: Room 214 has a pool view and very private balcony , and the suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks half board....good selection of hot & cold buffet...dining room always kept very clean & staff very helpful at meal times. room was the best we have stayed in at a greek hotel...we had a proper shower & shower door!! rooms were spacious with air con. pool area only small but quiet and clean with a small pool bar. hotel situated off the main road and a short walk from the main part of the resort so quiet on a night. would recommend this hotel as couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. It is a good spot, close to the town and beach. The rooms were very comfortable and spotless. We went half board but we only used the restaurant for dinner a couple of times, not because there was anything wrong with the food but just because we like to visit local restaurants.

Breakfast and dinner was buffet style with lots of choice of good quality food. The staff were very friendly and helpful and a special mention for Sophia who is a delight.

My tip would be to use San Antonio beach unless you like to be packed on a beach, shoulder to shoulder in which case go to Potos main beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Dave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We visited this hotel for the first two weeks in June, not having been to Potos for 12 years. The standard was very good, immaculately clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. With so few rooms it was easy to get to know the other guests. The owner and family were always available. We had no problem with the food, it is Greece after all. Plenty of variety although sometimes if a dish wasn't very popular it might have been kept warm for quite a long time if you ate late.
We had room 211 with a view over the local mountains and surrounding olive groves. The room was fine but the bed mattresses were incredibly hard, more like wooden boards, and we both struggled to sleep on them. The shower cubicle was tiny (700mm quadrant) and one of the doors kept coming off but this is a common fault with this kind of shower design.
TAKE SOME SOAP, although there is a dispenser of liquid soap by the sink you will need something to use in the shower.
There is another problem with the shower though that could be a real problem for an elderly person or children. The temperature fluctuated wildly and unpredictably from freezing cold to scalding hot, presumably when someone in a nearby room was using the shower or flushing the loo. It wouldn't cost a lot to fit thermostatic mixers in the showers and fitting them should be a priority!
We would happily stay here again.
Potos hasn't changed much, small and friendly. We hired a car from Potos Car Hire, 180 Euros for 10 days, not expensive, so we were happy just to have it available when we needed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
0.5 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
12.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Notos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Notos Hotel

Property: Astir Notos Hotel
Address: Potos, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astir Notos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astir Notos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing