We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We selected it among others, after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor, and after comparing with other hotels on the island, and we felt that qualifies what we wanted. It didn`t let us down!
Located on the southwest side of the island near Potos in "Russian precipice ', but in a very quiet location with good view.
On our arrival we noticed that it is a relatively new unit, goodlooking, overlooking the sea, with many parking spaces.
The reception room and more generally as all public spaces at ground floor, comfortable, nicely decorated and staff polite and willing. The groom carries your stuff from car to room in relieving this burden.
The room was in the main building on the second floor with elevator, large, comfortable and equipped with all comfort, clean, sunny, comfortable with private balcony. I especially liked the system with the screens for insects in the balcony door.
The bathroom is very spacious, beautiful, fully equipped , and very good battery system bath water sprinkler!
Disadvantage in the room being only one small trash basket, but mostly small and already crowded refrigerator, where you can practically put anything inside (even a bottle of water) without having to take everything else outside.
The space of breakfast large internally and externally and the breakfast ............ that is to say little. EXTREMELY RICH!! Variety, quality and taste not rob anything from 5 * hotel. Really delicious, full and pleanty. There was everything in quantities continuously updated. Congratulations! Is what expect it.
Easy access in individuals with kinetic difficulties everywhere to everyone their spaces almost and on the beach. All the stylish exterior with a continuous presence in olive tree, resembling Greek nature, green everywhere, tidy and clean. With Pool Bar serves swimmers in the pool and the beach, which is equipped with free parasols and sun loungers for residents. I read for some problems who reported some for the difficulty finder free places, but we did not noticed such thing . You may also use the communal showers at the hotel's pool area, if desired, a little above the sea.
The room service very good and quick.
One big problem that we faced was with the A / C. Happened to be the hottest days of summer (heat) and shortly after our arrival the air conditioning has stopped working . When asked at the reception they told us that there was a problem with the supply of hotel in electricity by the Public Power Corporation (PPC) (always according to their claims), and that trying to restore DIRECTLY although it was not their fault. Indeed as we saw the stuff and manager of hotel, headed by General Manager of the hotel Mr. Nicholaos Mantamopoulos did everything they could, thereby restore the problem, but the next day, however, so the first night to be "difficult." Certainly one such hotel and by the logic that this problem is known, should have had generators, like other hotels respectively other large islands, eg Mykonos.
Another issue was the cleanliness of the room. While we stayed 3 nights in room floor not swabbed nor washed ever, in contrast with the space of toiletries.
Surely the above can not constitute powerful reason for not stayed someone in Hotel, on the contrary indeed when we go back in Thassos we will prefer it again.
Finally do not skip to eat traditional "loukoumades" Thasou in Limenaria, piglet and kid at Theologos, dring coffee at «Paradosiako Kafeneio TSIKNAS» at Theologos and buy honey and traditionally sweets and marmalades from «Sourimmi».

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sokpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    31
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel has very good services, friendly staff and decent prices for the extra options.
The pools have always a free place to sit, you also find free places on the beach at any time of the day. The chairs are free, the towels are free and the wireless covers almost all area, except the beach. The Internet has a good speed so the skype video calls could be done perfectly (as much as skypoe allows, as usual).
A small center with a ski jet, 2 boats and some other options is also available on the beach, altough is not really crowded - in some days the ski jet is not even rented once :).
The rooms are quiet, very clean and they have everything you need.
The only remark is that for the kids i missed the mini disco (it could also be organized with hotel staff). It only takes some will to do it, because the kids are not at all demanding - so a small CD playter and 1-2 ladies for entertaiment could have been enough to offer us 30 minutes of free time. For the evening you have a bar, in some mights some live good quality music, but is some evenings there is nothing organized and therefore you go to sleep quite early in the evening.
For kids you have a play room, a playground, enough sand and a large 0.5m deep swimming pool with sea water.
The restaurant has A-la-carte menus even for the HB packages. You will end up liking that a lot more than the buffet, because the food is enough, with good quality and you have several choices. Strage enough, they do not have tzatziki on the menu. In Greece, this cannot be!
The hotel is new, very clean, including the alleys, swimming pools and other facilities.
But most of all, the staff deserves a big A.
We are thinking of returning here next year as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

It's really nice view, from the balkoni. You can enjoy the amazing sunset, after hole day scuba diving.
Rooms on the left building, are bigger and better . In the room we were with our 10 year-old son and 4 year-old daughter and we felt fine in it. It's furnished in modern style, but I wonder who is the designer? Around the bushes and herds of goats you have a modern furnished room.
About the breakfast, it's terrible. I mean, the greek cheese pie and greek yogurt is terrible. Aren't we in Greece?
Abouth the beach, it's amazing. It's a wonderful sea bottom. But why do I have to sign for the towels, the hole day I have to watch after the towels I have singed for.
Abouth the service, it's poor. On the beach you have to wait 30 min. for a frape, on the pool I had a Greek salad and wine but for the salt and pepper I had to wait 30min.
Finally, it's good plase for rest, and relax with children. I think that the value for the many was OK.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyubomir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, especially because it was very quite, the beach was very nice, sandy. Also the water in August is warm, no waves, very suitable for children also. In fact the entire resort is suitable for families with small children, looking to relax, in a quiet place.
The food at breakfast is very good, tasty, always fresh. I don't know why some people said there are no fruits, there were each morning at breakfast and at the dinner (we had half board) we has the option to choose from some cake and plate of fruits.
The services were very good, the room service is great, the rooms are kept clean twice a day. Towels and beach towels are very clean. The serving at the bar is excellent. The spa is also something to try although the prices are a little stiff.
One thing that could be improved is the food at dinner on half board, consider more options to offer the clients (2 options for a course is not sufficient... ). The A la carte menu could also offer more variations, but they are willing to make any desired changes.
Also, for a 5 star hotel is not really acceptable to pay for all drinks at dinner, at least local water and juice should be included.
Overall, we would recommend this hotel, it is new, clean and people are very nice! Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 998AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

we spent one week in this hotel and we had an overall great experience.
What I really want to adress the review before, as Romanian we are not at all intruders, neither primitive or not belonging to the 5* profile guests. We are all customers that work hard for our holiday in a nice hotel and I do consider those statements an abuse. For sure we have more medical education than you ever had, as we avoided jacuzzi or the pool - every teenager should know they have either germs or chlorine - stupid to use when you have the gorgeous see 50 meters from the hotel. Useless to say that I saw behaviours of western people
Rooms were nice, well climatised, cleaned daily - nothing to complained. Staff was nice - except the head of the waiters in the restaurant that was impolite, but adjusted himself after complaining to the management. Food was great, maybe too much for dinner. One comment - maybe better AC in the restaurant would be wellcomed - as it was very hot outside and also inside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent week at this 5-star resort late June 2012. Highly recommend management spend some time in other 5-star resorts to understand & get feeling for 5-star ranking & quality. Lovely location, yes. Friendly & helpful staff, yes. Comfortable room, yes. Tasty buffet breakfast. Variety at breakfast noted by kitchen changing items offered. However, each day standard items on breakfast bar once depleted were not replenished. Example - beginnning of week 3 cereal options, end of week just 2. Dried figs & prunes also disappeared, as well as a few other grains & nuts. Fresh fruit in summer, where are you? Only a couple choices, already thinly sliced. Sparkling wine, where were you? Not at the breakfast buffet of a 5-star? Disappointing. Be aware that evening meals, although tasty, are small portions. First time I have lost weight staying at a 5-star, and I am a small person. A few times I considered supplementing by ordering additional items in the evening from ala carte menu. No welcome beverage at check-in. A juice or cold water would be inviting, since arrival on island only possible via ferry, so travelers have been on the road for awhile. I understand economic situation in Greece overall, however price paid for the trip did not warrant frugality presented.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tereiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

First, the island of Thassos is really magical with many many crystal clear beaches , great air, great food, with scenic and somewhat unique landscape.

We've booked this hotel for 3-nights to check it out based on a few reviews here, and were hope it would be hassle-free. Well, the good points of this hotel are relatively private location (if you need privacy and NOT entertainment), excellent new rooms with a shining stylish bathroom, good breakfast. The water is crystal-clear, the service on the beach is polite and great quality.

Now about the things which could be better:

First, the receiption person - a man with fishy eyes - was inefficient and indifferent, and failed to help us in all our requests. Not all receiption workers are speaking English good enough to communicate.

Secons, the hotel promises a free WI-fi in all areas, but that is a lie. Nor I had a Wi-fi signal in my room - other 2 persons I asked had the same problem in their rooms. They finally gave me a cable (after the second call), but anyway the internet was very sluggish and in the evening it becomes unusable. Not 5-stars experience.

Regarding the beach - the hotel promises a private beach, which is a LIE. First, the hotel occupies only less than a half of all beach area - the best part is occupied by the public beach! Also the half of hotel's beach closer to the rocks seems to be human-made.

The public part of the beach is actually wider and less crowded than hotel's part!

Also the hotel is selling places on the beach for just ten euros to anybody! I saw a local guy with 4 noisy small kids on our beach chairs and I really doubt he paid at all! That's a problem, especially on a weekend.

Not a true 5-stars experience and hotel's lie.

Regarding the dinner - for thirty four euros per person, the drinks are not included! Such a shame, you can have a dinner in Potos 2-3 times cheaper with a basic drinks like fresh orange juice.

Last but not least thing I want to mention is a VERY strong sewer smell we sometimes had on the street during our stay, something probably went wrong there.


When choosing a room please keep in mind that "garden view" has really no garden - just a few trees, but it has a not so busy road facing the window, so you'll be hearing motors with open window.

Overall the hotel is good, but with some problems and is overpriced at least 2x. I won't give it 5-stars, but a solid 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DizzyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
10.3 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rossogremos, Potos 640 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Potos
#2 Family Hotel in Potos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Paradise Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Paradise Beach Resort And Spa
Royal Paradise Beach Hotel Potos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing