We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in June, excellent hotel, food & choice high standard. We were given a family room which whilst fine was a little tired, however we did notice other rooms were decorated in a boutique style. The hotel has its own beach & sunbeds & has a pontoon with steps to avoid the rocky beach edge. Not much in way of evening entertainment. Please be aware men need to wear trousers or capri shorts for evening meal, this was not advertised in Thompson brochure & has been this for some time so could not blame hotel. The spa is excellent & used this twice for treatments. Potos is a 10 minute walk with shops & tavenas, very pretty & our favourite was the Bommerang bar for its friendly service. Thassos is a very quiet Island we hired mopeds (12 euros per day) & mountain bike (6 euro per day) & only visited surronding areas but thought Potos where we stayed was by far the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noel5196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    255
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
262
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We went as a couple to this hotel on 3rd june 2012 for a week. I booked as a package through Thompson, not something i would normally do but wanted a stress free hassle free holiday. That is exactly what we got, Thompson were great everything taken care of for a good price. We upgraded from half board to full board for 1p a day each- no brainer! Food was varied and plentiful, atmosphere a bit canteen like at times, but that was more down to the attitude of some British guests of a certain age rather than the Greek hospitality!! For Greece this is 4 star but dont expect soft beds and fluffy towels thats not gonna happen and for me part of the charm. We have been to Greece many times and love the people and the culture. Accept that or dont go!! Thassos is beautiful and this hotel has an amazing view from beach or pool. The pool area is small and beach is better and cooler. I would imagine at high season it would be a bit of a bun fight for sunbeds and food! The staff are lovely and put up with a lot . The rooftop bar is lovely go at sunset time and have a cocktail.

Room Tip: Upgrade if u can rooms can be noisy at night its a big hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debs50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

One my my best holidays. I cannot fault it in any way. Lovely staff, lovely food, clean, friendly, perfect location. I would definately recommend it and hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

To anyone who is thinking of going there - do it now! Best hotel with the best food on the best island in Greece.
Everyone smiles!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KetteringBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked the hotel as a relaxing getaway for a week, and it did the job. For when we went (first week in May) it was very quiet, which was good as I can imagine the restaurant getting quite loud when very busy. Potos was very quiet too, in fact only a few of the restaurants and bars were open. Again it was great for us but others may want more to do.

As for the hotel facilities, the hotel has it's own beach which is a pebble type beach, with some quite big stones when going in the water, I'd advise taking beach shoes to go in the water as some of the stones are quite sharp.

The food wasn't too bad for a buffet affair, we had to be careful not to go overboard with the different types of food as a lot didn't really go together, but if you were sensible you could get some nice meals. They grow a lot of the fruit and veg on site so that is very good.

The staff seemed very good too, we had a couple of issues with a couple of items being charged to our room we didn't order, and it was sorted with no fuss.

The rep (sorry holiday advisor...) recommended a walk to Limenaria, which I would definitly recommend people do. It's not far along a well made path (about 4km) and there are a couple of very nice secluded beaches along the way as well as an abandonded metal factory which can be explored to find marble sculptures.

Unfortunatly there is not many other walks close by, you can walk out the otherside of Potos along a nice cliff path, but it does pass a couple of rubbish tips. If we were staying any longer than a week we would have definitly hired a car to explore further.

Overall it was an enjoyable relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had a weeks holiday the third week of May and had a wonderful time. The room was superb, comfortable, clean and decorated very nice. A good view from the balcony. The grounds were maintained to a high standard. The food was to die for a very good selection and the service was excellent. All the staff made you very welcome. We will be going back next year but this time for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeycambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I can honestly say that not only did I not know the hotel, I didn't know the Town and to my embarrassment I'd never even heard of the Island until it came up on a search on the Thomson website. We looked at the reviews and gave it a go and we weren't sorry.

I traveled with my 17yo son, flying to Kavala, then transferring by Ferry to Thassos town and then round to Potos, where the Alexandra Beach Spa hotel awaited. Arrival was smooth, reception staff excellent with a perfect understanding of English, our room had a disappointing view, but as we used it to sleep we didn't care. The room itself was a good size, could have comfortably slept 4, a big double and two singles might have even fitted 5 at a push. It had a tv (though we never turned it on), a fridge with mini bar that was handy for storing drinks and was very clean throughout. Housekeeping were keen but no problem at all and the room was always left immaculate. We had iPads and the like and had no issues with trust so could leave them out no problem. In addition and a real bonus, the rooms had wi-fi which is very handy.

We got a ridiculously cheap full board upgrade and were very happy with the food throughout. Breakfast and dinner saw a huge range of good quality food in the buffet and were never short of space, lunch was a sit down set menu...and on a couple of occasions they cranked up the bbq which was even better. There are a couple of outdoor bars with friendly staff who leave you be unless you want them, the pool had plentiful sun loungers, we never struggled and we are never the first up in a morning.

The views as you ate overlooking the pool and then the beach and sea were absolutely spectacular. The hotel has its own beach and as some reviewers point out, accessing the sea is a very painful job, but even as we watched, two pontoons were built to allow easy access in and out of the water...problem instantly solved. It even has a beach bar with free waiter service at the push of a button, proper luxury. The staff were friendly without being too close, just how I like it. Location wise its a 5 minute (max) gentle stroll to the village with its shops and bars.

As a final tip, we did a couple of excursions, the bbq cruise and the 4x4 safari into the mountains, both are highly recommended. All in all as good a holiday as I've had and if we returned I am certain we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 607 and the room was out to the side but the balcony had nobody overlooking other than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobboMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
338 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
235 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
4.0 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing