We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, wonderful island.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, wonderful island.”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a week at the Alexandra.
Had a great time.
The journey over from the mainland is very pleasant. A short run to the port, a lovely ferry journey followed by about an hour along the coast to the hotel.
The initial hotel room was disappointing but the hotel were able to accommodate and change us to a more recently updated room after the first night.Better decor, shower and softer bed !
The hotel is in a perfect location.nice pools, small gym, spa, beach, watersports and a choice of restaurants and bars.
The guests are a great mix of nationalities which creates a a good feel around the hotel.
However , I would advise getting out and seeing the island. Rent a car or a moped/quad and explore.
James, our Thomson rep, was fantastic. He has a real passion for Thassos and Greece and recommended a lot to do and see. The island can be circumnavigated in a day but it is better to take two and stop regularly.
The hotel is located witin walking distance of a couple of small towns/villages and are well worth a visit for a bite or a drink.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    256
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
263
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

the hotel location was great, the rooms were spacious and clean, the resturant and food was very good with plenty of very well prepared choices at each meal we were all inclusive. the staff were very friendly and helpfull. the pool areas and bar are very nice and never crowded, Thassos is a great island to get away and relax,warm seas great beaches( beach shoes are a must) mountains and woods ( 4x4 hire required). my wife had an accident 2 days before we were due to return to england which resulted in 2 days in hospital on the mainland we had to stay an extra week the Alexandra hotel kept us in the same room and the staff could not be more helpfull and showed genuin concern for my wife. the thomson rep james was very helpfull and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Returned home on 1st July but my review is late due to being bitten by the hotel cat on 25th june and the manky thing gave me a disease and i was rushed into hospital on our return and have been very ill and in a lot of pain, i wasnt even touching it just holding on to my chair at breakfast and it bit me....so beware the cat!!
NOW FOR MY HONEST REVIEW!!

GETTING THERE :- The journey from Kavala airport to the ferry on a coach is about 15 mins then the ferry is approx 35mins which is nice and adds to the holiday as the seagulls follow the ferry and you can have a drink and relax, we then had a hour and a half journey to the hotel as we had a few drop off's which make the whole journey ten hours which is a long day.
Hotel is impessive when you arrive and reception will deal with all full board holiday makers first if you were lucky enough to get the 28p upgrade to full board which is 1p a day each and well worth it, the hotel kept the restaurant open so we could have our lunch on arrival which was a nice touch, the reception area is large and open with free internet and wifi connection there is also a pool table but this is 4.00 euros.
ROOM :- are room was not a 4* and the bed was hard but James the Thompson rep did offer all guests a matress topper at the welcome meeting the bathroom was basic and the drain broken, the bath very slippy with the shower head over it and if you were lucky to get any water pressure so you could shower after the beach it flooded the bathroom floor as the bath leaked, then you could smell sewage we were in room 321, so we were dissapointed. But the rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels and the sheets were changed twice a week.
FOOD :- is really nice and they have a amazing selection from meatballs, mousaka, chips, clams a varied salad selection to a suckling pig with the head and tail and bbq nights with sluvarki and keebab meat, the breakfasts were as amazing and you could have chips if you wanted, bacon and poached, fried eggs, omelette, salad, cheese, hams, fuit and yougurt with hunny from Thassos. the lunch was a set menu so not so good everyday but made you try food you wouldnt normally eat. but the restaurant was very busy and be prepared to be swarmed upon as no one queues or waits and it does get a bit jossling a bit like a school dinner hall, al fresco dining is spoilt by swarms of wasps and people waving there arms around and leaving food which is a shame as the views and sunsets are amazing, **there is a dress code for men in the restaurant so gents take your long trousers** we ate in the Taverna a few nights which is opposite the restaurant and the food was amazing the hotel give you a 50% discount as you have already paid for full board and a bill was approx 47.00 euros with wine and a two course meal and they give you a free sweet but well worth it as it looks over the sea and is more private and overall a much more pleasant eating experience.
lovley friendly hotel, great food and amazing sunsets but not quiet enough for us so we will not be returning, i will be happy to answer any questions so feel free and avoid that ginger tom it's evil. Thanks shelley and Les

Room Tip: we were in room 321 very noisy as overlooking the car park, but the rooms overlooking the blue fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelleywelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our first holiday in Thassos, at the Alexandra Beach Hotel. We found this hotel to be excellent in every way. The choice and quality of food is superb, the drinks we found to be reasonably priced, particularly compared with other places in Europe, and the service was friendly and professional. The hotel is situated within a lovely setting with well maintained gardens and a variety of relaxing areas in which to enjoy a drink or a snack. The pool areas are spotless and at no time did we experience difficulties in obtaining a sunbed, whatever the time of day.
The views from the hotel were stunning, and the sunsets have to be seen to be believed.
Our room was on the ground floor, decorated to a good standard and with plenty of space. My wife and I are used to a firm mattress and so we found the bed comfortable.
James, the Thomson rep,was extremely professional and very knowledgable.
We could not fault this holiday, and will certainly return to the Alexandra Beach next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dansettemajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have literally just got home from our holiday at Alexandra Beach. What a fantastic place to stay. Food excellent, staff brilliant, hotel beautiful, best holiday we have ever had. So relaxing. Beach very nice but advise you wear beach shoes especially in the water. Beach bar is great especially the button to press to get drinks etc. The grounds are beautiful and they grow most of their own veggies. Never seen such massive tomatoes before. Will definatley go back again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, no complaints whatsoever. Very clean and in good position from the sun s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very nice hotel with plenty of good facilities, right on the beach. Holiday starts with a short ferry ride, chance to get a cold beer and feed the seagulls as you sail. Potos is the south side of the island so the coach takes about an hour.
Food buffet style evening meal, OK, not spectacular.
As normal for Greece we found the beds very hard but the Thomas Cook rep had obviously had complaints before so he asked us if we required a mattress topper before we complained-good service.
We look forward to returning to Thassos very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 203/4. There is not much privacy out on your patio area. When you are outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Impressive looking hotel with lots of facilities and surprisingly spare sunbeds on the beach and around the pool. You don't need to get up early to find a sun bed, there are so many of them.
Thassos is about a 30 minute ferry ride from Kavala, It might seem a long way after reaching Greece by air, but we found it relaxing after the three and a half hour flight.
There are lots of seats around the bars should you just want to sit in the sun with a drink.
Rooms are clean and tidy decorated in an IKEA style. Read reviews of privacy issues and first room we were given not so good for that reason. No problems changing but the first night we couldn't work the air con. Probably our fault, but changed rooms again. Much much better. The hotel can't do enough for you and the food is of an excellent quality and plenty of choice. You can book full or half board, you won't go hungry. Staff are as always in Greece, really friendly and are happy to make you feel welcome. The Spa is at roof level above the main restaurant and adjoining a rooftop bar. The girls inside are very experienced and friendly.
Drinks at the hotel as you would expect, are a little pricey, a local beer was 4.75 euros, but the nearest town, Potos is a five minute walk from the hotel and is a busy little place where there are shops, restaurants, bars etc. Well worth visiting. Pint of local beer 3 euros and in a frozen glass.
One thing to mention. In the hotel reception, a computer is available with free internet access and also has free Wifi. Doesn't work all over the hotel, but in reception and outside bar works a treat.
You will definitely enjoy it

Room Tip: Be realistic, pot luck really. It's what they have available and in season there is less chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank markydsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
4.0 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing