We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great place, this hotel has been projected by clever architect. Superb food, all clean. Nice swimming. No problems, 11 days at this hotel were good experience. Highly recommended. All members of staff are speaking English.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground floor are the most hidden from hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    256
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
264
327
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My partner and I went to the Alexander Beach in June. We only had a week and the time flew all too quickly. From stepping off the plane the holiday began. We had a 15 minute bus trip to the ferry, our cases and bags stayed on the coach whilst we went on the 40 minute sail as foot passengers. Once on thassos it was a picturesque 40 minute drive to the hotel with no stops. The hotel is wonderful and has many nice aspects. The food is lovely and plentiful we went full board for an extra 14 pence not to be missed. They are strict about men wearing long trousers which I feel is good however they let women get away with shorts which I feel is unfair. The rooms in some of the hotel are very basis and a bit like Butlins we did ask to move and looked at 5 the one we chose was brilliant but we did get a kettle and a bed topper as mattresses are so hard. All the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. The beach nearby is pebbly and you do benefit from beach shoes. Poros is a five minute walk and the beach side bars are all terrific. The waiters and waitresses are so polite and can't do enough for you. The Thomson rep James was the best rep we have ever known, always travelling Thomson we have met quite a few but James actively seeks out his guests and spends so much time in the hotel his motivation is second to none.
I can't wait to return and I never feel like that about anywhere as I like to see different places.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STMB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've just returned from our 8 nights stay in Alexandra Beach.
This hotel is situated in Potos. Actually, near Potos, at a 10 mins walk from the center of Potos. It was built on a huge setting with lots of small (2 stories) buildings and surrounded by fruits and vegetables gardens. In fact, if you will visit Alexandra Beach soon you will definitely eat tomatoes or peaches from its own gardens.
Our room was very spacious but seemed a little bit outdated and although we didn't needed or asked for, the room was designed for people with special needs, so the shower was as simple as possible, directly on the floor. The TV was old but you could find something to watch(CNN, BBC, some german and greek channels).
The food was very good, the same every morning but different every evening. And there was plenty to chose form. Twice a week they open the outdoor barbecue and you can have some souvlaky or some pork. Also, the staff is friendly and helpful.
But if you want the best in Thasos, you shouldn't spend all day at the hotel. There are many beaches to discover. One more beautiful than the other. So if you don't drive there, you should definitely rent a car. We only had time to go to Paradise Beach, Aliky Beach, Chill Out beach. Psili Amos beach and the best, by far, Marble Beach. Alexandra's beach is ok, with pebbles and rocks, but be very careful at the sea urchins! Buy some water shoes. You can try some snorkeling also. There are two medium sized pools, but I didn't try them. But if you want to use them go early as there are many rude guests who "reserve" the sunbeds with their towels hours before opening!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiprianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just arrived back from staying 1 wk at this wonderful hotel.
Upon arrival reception were very informative. The room was very spacious with plenty of storage space, even had mosquito protection doors !!!
The mini bar was ideal to quench our thirst from the 36 degrees heat we had arrived to.
The grounds are lovely - but i have to admit my favourite time of day was mealtime.
The variety and choice were plentiful - fresh , hot , well presented.
If you go on the beach the beds are free and you still get waited on. I even took advantage of the spa and had my nails done - staff very friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hassle free holiday - with a high standard of customer service.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor if possible. If the weathers really hot you could struggle to find your energy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevvy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a week at the Alexandra.
Had a great time.
The journey over from the mainland is very pleasant. A short run to the port, a lovely ferry journey followed by about an hour along the coast to the hotel.
The initial hotel room was disappointing but the hotel were able to accommodate and change us to a more recently updated room after the first night.Better decor, shower and softer bed !
The hotel is in a perfect location.nice pools, small gym, spa, beach, watersports and a choice of restaurants and bars.
The guests are a great mix of nationalities which creates a a good feel around the hotel.
However , I would advise getting out and seeing the island. Rent a car or a moped/quad and explore.
James, our Thomson rep, was fantastic. He has a real passion for Thassos and Greece and recommended a lot to do and see. The island can be circumnavigated in a day but it is better to take two and stop regularly.
The hotel is located witin walking distance of a couple of small towns/villages and are well worth a visit for a bite or a drink.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

the hotel location was great, the rooms were spacious and clean, the resturant and food was very good with plenty of very well prepared choices at each meal we were all inclusive. the staff were very friendly and helpfull. the pool areas and bar are very nice and never crowded, Thassos is a great island to get away and relax,warm seas great beaches( beach shoes are a must) mountains and woods ( 4x4 hire required). my wife had an accident 2 days before we were due to return to england which resulted in 2 days in hospital on the mainland we had to stay an extra week the Alexandra hotel kept us in the same room and the staff could not be more helpfull and showed genuin concern for my wife. the thomson rep james was very helpfull and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Returned home on 1st July but my review is late due to being bitten by the hotel cat on 25th june and the manky thing gave me a disease and i was rushed into hospital on our return and have been very ill and in a lot of pain, i wasnt even touching it just holding on to my chair at breakfast and it bit me....so beware the cat!!
NOW FOR MY HONEST REVIEW!!

GETTING THERE :- The journey from Kavala airport to the ferry on a coach is about 15 mins then the ferry is approx 35mins which is nice and adds to the holiday as the seagulls follow the ferry and you can have a drink and relax, we then had a hour and a half journey to the hotel as we had a few drop off's which make the whole journey ten hours which is a long day.
Hotel is impessive when you arrive and reception will deal with all full board holiday makers first if you were lucky enough to get the 28p upgrade to full board which is 1p a day each and well worth it, the hotel kept the restaurant open so we could have our lunch on arrival which was a nice touch, the reception area is large and open with free internet and wifi connection there is also a pool table but this is 4.00 euros.
ROOM :- are room was not a 4* and the bed was hard but James the Thompson rep did offer all guests a matress topper at the welcome meeting the bathroom was basic and the drain broken, the bath very slippy with the shower head over it and if you were lucky to get any water pressure so you could shower after the beach it flooded the bathroom floor as the bath leaked, then you could smell sewage we were in room 321, so we were dissapointed. But the rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels and the sheets were changed twice a week.
FOOD :- is really nice and they have a amazing selection from meatballs, mousaka, chips, clams a varied salad selection to a suckling pig with the head and tail and bbq nights with sluvarki and keebab meat, the breakfasts were as amazing and you could have chips if you wanted, bacon and poached, fried eggs, omelette, salad, cheese, hams, fuit and yougurt with hunny from Thassos. the lunch was a set menu so not so good everyday but made you try food you wouldnt normally eat. but the restaurant was very busy and be prepared to be swarmed upon as no one queues or waits and it does get a bit jossling a bit like a school dinner hall, al fresco dining is spoilt by swarms of wasps and people waving there arms around and leaving food which is a shame as the views and sunsets are amazing, **there is a dress code for men in the restaurant so gents take your long trousers** we ate in the Taverna a few nights which is opposite the restaurant and the food was amazing the hotel give you a 50% discount as you have already paid for full board and a bill was approx 47.00 euros with wine and a two course meal and they give you a free sweet but well worth it as it looks over the sea and is more private and overall a much more pleasant eating experience.
lovley friendly hotel, great food and amazing sunsets but not quiet enough for us so we will not be returning, i will be happy to answer any questions so feel free and avoid that ginger tom it's evil. Thanks shelley and Les

Room Tip: we were in room 321 very noisy as overlooking the car park, but the rooms overlooking the blue fount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelleywelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
4.0 mi away
Aeolis Thassos Palace
Aeolis Thassos Palace
#1 of 2 in Astris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing