We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The transfer form the airport was wonderful even though it was quite lengthy overall. From the moment we sat under a harbour side parasol with a Mythos waiting for the ferry to take us to Thassos we felt as though we were on our holiday. The short 40 minute ferry trip was then followed by a lovely scenic coach journey of about 50 minutes to the hotel. Check in was very efficient and well organised. There were quite a few people checking in at the same time but the staff handled it superbly.
I could not fault the view from our room (228) and our cases arrived promptly from reception.
The restaurant inside and out was lovely, the food was excellent, plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal. I do think that the trouser rule for men dining in the evening is a little over the top particularly when some of the women had very revealing shorts for instance, I can't understand that one! Also I would look at the smoking rule outside as the tables are quite close together.
All of the staff at this hotel were wonderful, very hardworking, courteous and attentive.
The bar areas were very relaxing with great views, the view of the sunset from the roof top bar for instance is breath-taking
The beach is very stony and you do need good shoes if you want to wade in to the sea, however, the pontoons provided by the hotel make it easy to get in to the sea without having to do this. Great beach bar!
There were plenty of sunbeds on the beach so no need to fight.
Although there were beds available around them, the pool areas are too small for the size of the hotel.
My wife was very impressed with the spa although the gym was a little small and one of the running machines was out of order all week.
The cost of a safe is 15 euros for a week and if you need a beach towel it is 1 euro per day.
Easy access to the nearby town of Potos and I ran a couple of mornings to Limenaria which is only about 2 miles away. This was via a very well made but rather hilly path, attempting to walk it in the heat of the day probably isn't advisable.
The hotel buildings and grounds were very clean and tidy and the vegetable garden was a wonderful sight.
All in all a great hotel with excellent staff and I would return again
PS Can definitely recommend Cap't Vasilis BBQ Cruise.

Room Tip: We had room 228 which was a 1st floor room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanoandFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Excellent position,easy walking distance between potos and pefkari villages, with lots of tavernas, A beauty full blue sea but hard to get in to over the hot stony beech.Shoes essential.
Food good quality but boring by the end of the week. however the disorganisation in the dining room was very entertaining ! they required us to dress for dinner, long trousers only for the men but they put new people to sit on our table between starters and main course, the scrabble for tables was more like school dinners than a dress for dinner place..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattycatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Arrival and Transfer
We arrived from England to frighteningly bright sunshine at the small aerodrome at Kavala, cleared Baggage and passport control in pretty short order, there is only one luggage belt so little to go wrong there! We were greeted by a cheerful, helpful, Thompson rep, who gave brief instruction on where to find the transfer coach, again as Kavala is a one plane town, there is little to go wrong.
Soon we were underway for the short trip to the port of Kerimoti to take the ferry over to Thassos Town, as seems to be the tradition having read previous reviews we took a Mythos from the on-board bar, just to be sociable of course.
Thirty five minutes later, we were disembarked and back on the coach for the drive around the island to Potos, there were several drop-offs at various locations on the way, the journey to the Alexandra Beach Hotel taking around an hour.

Hotel
At check in as previous reviewers have said the staff were professional and informative, if you take the full board option they will keep the dining room open late to accommodate you on arrival. We elected to have the bell hop bring the cases to our room, as we were unsure how many steps we would have to surmount lugging heavy cases. As it turned out very few as we were on the ground floor! More than half an hour later no luggage, wife rings to reception, apparently all cases have been delivered, I went to reception same story, rang again, still no cases! It turned out that the wrong room number was put on the little sticker affixed to our cases and our luggage had been sent to the wrong room. Everyone was most apologetic, no harm done and it ended with smiles of relief all round.

Safe deposit key is €2.50 per day or €15.00 per week which I thought a little on the steep side. At reception you can hire most things at a cost including beach towels, which is a nice touch. AirCon is included and not an option as we have found elsewhere.

Dining
On the Sunday evening we had dinner in the works canteen, the dining room at the Alexander Beach having a certain utilitarian charm, with a profusion of white tables and chairs it is pleasant and bright. The buffet had a wide variety of choices, from salads and cheeses to a variety of meats, vegetables, pasta, fruit and sweet sticky confections. A bottle of the house white was €9.00 and was perfectly drinkable, a large bottle of water €2.00. The staff were uniformly pleasant, friendly and keen to help and advise, all of which has been said by Trip Advisor contributors. Having experienced somewhat indifferent service on some other Greek islands the staff and people of Thassos came as a refreshing change.

One of the features of the serving area are examples of intricately carved Watermelons on display, some of which are is quite remarkable in their complexity, I asked the Maître D' who was responsible and he produced a young lad from the kitchen as quick as you like, to shake hands and take the plaudits.
At lunch on the first day we decided to chance the fixed lunch menu, we were one of the lucky punters who upgraded to full board for a penny a day, and I can say with some confidence that for a penny it was excellent value for money! You could, should you wish, and your appetite sufficient, take Tomato Soup, Quiche Lorraine, Greek Salad, then a choice of grilled Vegetables with Fish or Chicken Nuggets with Fries and Mayonnaise, followed by Sweet. As an aside I have to point out that the Chicken Nuggets were delicious, not the minced, processed muck that you may be familiar with, but whole pieces of Chicken Breast in breadcrumbs. The main problem is that in 35°C heat you probably wouldn’t finish a full five courses, and I must point out that the menu changes from day to day.

Gardens
The gardens of the hotel are beautifully tended, and watching fruit and vegetable ripen daily is a joy, knowing that the produce goes from garden to plate within a few short hours, is a joy not experienced greatly back home.

Thompson Welcome Event
The next morning after breakfast we attended the Thompson welcome sales pitch in the conference room. James, as we had been informed prior to arrival, is a somewhat superior holiday rep, being very informative and knowledgeable about the island. He does go on a bit though bless him.

Beach
The beach as has been noted by others is quite stony and beach shoes are recommended for getting in and out of the sea at the shoreline, you can however use the two pontoons that serve as jetties to get straight out to deeper water. There seems to be very little in the way of tides or rips so the bathing is very safe. We found that midway between the two pontoons was generally the quietest area on the beach, although nowhere could it be classed as packed.

A rather brutish Russian in his fifties, who bore all the hallmarks of being a second enforcer for a minor Oligarch of the Zlotŷgrâd collective, and his obligatory young, and pretty wife descended in our midst one day, forcing his beastly society upon us, and drawing others of his ilk around.

I take a slight detour at this point to state that it is with great pride as an Englishman abroad, that the predilection of European males of a certain age to disport their less than toned torso's in high waisted "budgie smugglers" is not a trend that has permeated into the British psyche. For this I give thanks to the quiet determination of the British female!

One has to say however, that Boris does have certain advantages over his British cousin, namely when Boris shouts Sunscreen, Mrs. Boris has the cap off the bottle and is rubbing in the old oil with quite remarkable vim. This is a state of affairs is quite lacking in the average British female. Hem Hem.


General
After dinner we generally took a walk into Potos, no more than five to ten minutes at a gentle pace. Potos has a lot crammed into a small space the main bar and taverna area is right on the beach it can get very congested. We took to calling at the Boomerang Bar, again on trip advisor recommendation and found the reception to be first class.

As an alternative to Potos you can turn left at the hotel entrance and take a slightly longer walk into Pefkari Beach, which is the local centre for all things aquatic, alas there is little to recommend Pefkari in terms of nightlife, a few bars and Tavernas of no great note. We stopped off at the Pizza Top Taverna, had a Gin & Tonic and returned to the Alexandra Beach.

We had two evening thunderstorms on the Monday and Wednesday evenings, on Wednesday a prodigious wind roared off the mountains of Thassos as a precursor to a not inconsiderable downpour. The rain although intense had the good grace to be brief, and in the time it took to for dinner the drama was played out in a single act. Due to the heat in the ground the residual water had soon evaporated.
It should be noted that Thompson do not have exclusivity on the Alexandra Beach, and there is a large contingent of Greeks, Germans, Eastern European and Russian guests, many of which are family groups, whereas Thompsons guests tend to be couples.

At one point I was extremely tempted to write a poor review and give The Alexander Beach a measly one star, purely selfish of course, as we wouldn’t want too many people jumping on the bandwagon, and spoiling it for everyone who has already ben and wants to return. But in truth it is the best hotel we have stayed at in Greece, a truly joyful holiday, just sad that it has come to an end.

Will we return? Yes I think so, but not just yet, we do like to seek out new places to visit.
Would I recommend the hotel, undoubtedly! Go and see for yourself, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: If you get a bad room ask them to move you, they seem to be very accomodating
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Dark_Helmet2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great place, this hotel has been projected by clever architect. Superb food, all clean. Nice swimming. No problems, 11 days at this hotel were good experience. Highly recommended. All members of staff are speaking English.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground floor are the most hidden from hot weather.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jirka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My partner and I went to the Alexander Beach in June. We only had a week and the time flew all too quickly. From stepping off the plane the holiday began. We had a 15 minute bus trip to the ferry, our cases and bags stayed on the coach whilst we went on the 40 minute sail as foot passengers. Once on thassos it was a picturesque 40 minute drive to the hotel with no stops. The hotel is wonderful and has many nice aspects. The food is lovely and plentiful we went full board for an extra 14 pence not to be missed. They are strict about men wearing long trousers which I feel is good however they let women get away with shorts which I feel is unfair. The rooms in some of the hotel are very basis and a bit like Butlins we did ask to move and looked at 5 the one we chose was brilliant but we did get a kettle and a bed topper as mattresses are so hard. All the staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. The beach nearby is pebbly and you do benefit from beach shoes. Poros is a five minute walk and the beach side bars are all terrific. The waiters and waitresses are so polite and can't do enough for you. The Thomson rep James was the best rep we have ever known, always travelling Thomson we have met quite a few but James actively seeks out his guests and spends so much time in the hotel his motivation is second to none.
I can't wait to return and I never feel like that about anywhere as I like to see different places.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STMB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've just returned from our 8 nights stay in Alexandra Beach.
This hotel is situated in Potos. Actually, near Potos, at a 10 mins walk from the center of Potos. It was built on a huge setting with lots of small (2 stories) buildings and surrounded by fruits and vegetables gardens. In fact, if you will visit Alexandra Beach soon you will definitely eat tomatoes or peaches from its own gardens.
Our room was very spacious but seemed a little bit outdated and although we didn't needed or asked for, the room was designed for people with special needs, so the shower was as simple as possible, directly on the floor. The TV was old but you could find something to watch(CNN, BBC, some german and greek channels).
The food was very good, the same every morning but different every evening. And there was plenty to chose form. Twice a week they open the outdoor barbecue and you can have some souvlaky or some pork. Also, the staff is friendly and helpful.
But if you want the best in Thasos, you shouldn't spend all day at the hotel. There are many beaches to discover. One more beautiful than the other. So if you don't drive there, you should definitely rent a car. We only had time to go to Paradise Beach, Aliky Beach, Chill Out beach. Psili Amos beach and the best, by far, Marble Beach. Alexandra's beach is ok, with pebbles and rocks, but be very careful at the sea urchins! Buy some water shoes. You can try some snorkeling also. There are two medium sized pools, but I didn't try them. But if you want to use them go early as there are many rude guests who "reserve" the sunbeds with their towels hours before opening!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiprianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just arrived back from staying 1 wk at this wonderful hotel.
Upon arrival reception were very informative. The room was very spacious with plenty of storage space, even had mosquito protection doors !!!
The mini bar was ideal to quench our thirst from the 36 degrees heat we had arrived to.
The grounds are lovely - but i have to admit my favourite time of day was mealtime.
The variety and choice were plentiful - fresh , hot , well presented.
If you go on the beach the beds are free and you still get waited on. I even took advantage of the spa and had my nails done - staff very friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hassle free holiday - with a high standard of customer service.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor if possible. If the weathers really hot you could struggle to find your energy
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevvy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
12.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#14 of 89 in Thasos
410 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#17 of 89 in Thasos
402 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#6 of 9 in Potos
59 reviews
11.3 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range: £54 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing