We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elsa Haus Studios and Apartments(Potos)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Thassos(Pefkari)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
404
298
87
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
298
87
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baroverlooking the seapotos townmain restaurantbuffet stylehalf boardlovely hotelthomson repevening entertainmentbreakfast and dinnersuperior roomvegetable gardenbars and restaurantsdress codesea urchinsflip flopsgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just returned from the lovely Alexandra Beach
We stayed for two weeks at the end of July beginning of August
We generally holiday in all sorts of places from Greece and islands, to Dubai to the US/Caribbean and Italy. We like a variety of places so I think this is balanced review.

The Alexandra beach is in a fantastic spot where every morning you can eat breakfast outside looking out over the crystal sea and at night the same restaurant has the view of the sunset. The breeze was just right as the restaurant sits up higher than the beach level and so you really have that eating outside holiday feeling. Those people that say they couldn't get a table outside must have been holidaying somewhere else. We had a table outside for 14 days morning and evening with absolutely no waiting whatsoever, and in the height of the season....

The welcome here is as warm as the weather and I would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. The staff are all so accommodating and Barbara one of the managers is delightful as she welcomes you to dinner each night.
The food is hot fresh and a good choice but not so much that you pile everything on your plate. I personally do not like buffets but this was different. No queues and all very tasty. We just went along, looked at the choice and then put together the components to make a lovely meal. We did eat out at Piatsa Michalis in Potos twice but only for a change, the food was so nice there really wasn't any need. This is coming form someone who really does not like the whole concept of buffet on holiday, so its saying something!

There are Wifi masts everywhere and we got reception easily in all places. Theres a small book exchange....(we read 14 books between as it was so relaxing)!
The roof terrace bar is very chilled and the pool bar equally as nice with good waitresses. 3.50 euros for a large beer and the frappes are 3 euros. A bottle of sauv blanc with our dinner each night was 11 euros in the hotel which I thought was very good and perfectly nice.

The beach was peaceful and you pressed a bell for the beach bar staff to come within minutes to take your order. The pool was a little too crowded for us but once we had got our spot on the beach we just didn't want to change! Pool towels free from reception.
There was no loud guests or big groups while we were there, that sometimes make your holiday a little uncomfortable....seemingly nice families and couples of all nationalities in my opinion.

Yes the beds are hard but how does this spoil your holiday? I mentioned it to Anne our Thomson rep in passing one morning and by the afternoon we had a mattress topper.
Thomson tour operations as usual very good. Transfers seamless even with the ferry ride.....The airport at Kavalla is small and its so quaint to be the only aircraft on the tarmac!
We did the Discover Thassos trip to see the island and got some great photos. Its not got anything astounding to see but we enjoyed the places we did visit and felt like we knew Thassos a little better by the end.

I loved it here and would definitely come back. Its a refined Greek haven, not stuffy, or too big (only 200ish rooms) or even fancy.... but perfect.....Little touches like nuts and crisps with your drinks, the waitress remembering that I only liked a little sugar in my daily frappes and the welcome at dinner each night.....these things matter on holiday even if you don't realise they do!
We even got a bottle of wine for my husbands birthday on arrival and two cocktails on our anniversary....superb
It had all the ingredients to make our holiday very special and I would come back any time!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade or ask for a complimentary one to a superior as I believe these were newly decorated. We had 219 and was dead central as well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Right. I never write one of these normally but I feel I must write something as some of the comments on here are so negative and completely unfounded - so this is a reply to those people to in some way balance the review. Some people clearly have no idea what they are saying and it's frightening that people might take advice from their reviews! This place is brill. Not 5* luxury (which it never claims to be) but brill all the same... The rep left us on the way to the hotel (driver seemed pretty capable, being greek and all!) with the resort rep meeting us there. Rooms are what was expected, it has all the usual stuff. Clean...and i for one don't need a good range of english tv or marble flooring to have a nice holiday. Try going outside perhaps and looking at the wonderful views.

The rule of trousers for men is explained on the website,brochure and was explained when we arrived and frankly is the same as every other single hotel I have been to. Basic manners.

The restaurant has a great range of varied, local food ("unfortunately" not catering for those 'where's the english food and burger and chips?' People very well!...even so there was the usual stuff to tide them over whilst the majority try the greek stuff! but hey,1500 miles from home I guess we can forgive them) Food fresh from the hotel kitchen garden...brilliant. I can honestly say it is some of the best food out there. Staff couldn't do enough for you, never fought for a table and if I wasn't sure what something was on the menu...well we just asked the staff!

Beach really nice. Wrong side of the island if you want sandy beaches. But I guess you can see that in the brochure. The pontoons are a great touch and seemed a really popular way of getting over the rocky section. Jumping off was great! Yep they do move up and down with the sea...but then again as they aren't the forth road bridge I guess we can forgive them.

Roof bar a must at night with great views and atmosphere.

All in all well worth the visit. I shall be going back next year, this time for two weeks. Hopefully the whinging lot on here will find their merry way to benidorm or somewhere equally touristy that will give them sky tv, burger and chips and above all else they can sit in their shorts and eat to their hearts content. If you are looking for a nice spa hotel, comfortable and clean rooms, great views, eager to please staff, off the tourist track with real greece, well this is the place for you. And it will probably save you a grand in price on that plush 5* hotel that really doesn't give you much more...apart from marble floor tiles and sky tv!...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank wannabeingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having read some of the recent reviews I find it difficult to believe that they were staying at the same place. This was without a doubt one of the best family holiday resorts we have been to, and was chosen on the basis of a recommendation from our neighbours who were delighted with their visit last year and we were equally delighted.

The room was ideal for our needs, easily fitting all of us in and the beds were perfectly comfortable, yes the TV is limited but we hadn't come away to sit indoors and watch it. Anyhow there is free WiFi available if you want to keep up with news from back home.

We had requested a quiet room, high up and it was exactly that. We slept brilliantly throughout the two weeks we were there.

The staff are remarkable and find that difficult balance between being attentive without overdoing it and are great with the kids, they also add to the atmosphere and make you feel truly welcome and at home. This combined with a cosmopolitan clientele makes you feel like you are abroad rather than in an England in the sun

The food was varied, plentiful and well prepared and both our boys ate well throughout, enjoying the opportunity to try things that were unfamiliar to them. The grounds are full of fruit trees and the vegetable garden is wonderful.

Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel and again a good variety of options, cocktail happy hour was a bargain.

The beach is pebbly but the pontoons overcome any issues with getting in and out of the sea and provided my eldest with a great place to push me into the sea. Excellent for watching the fish from too.

To summarise, a great location, staffed by excellent people with the ideal balance of calming relaxation but enough to keep the kids happy. You really do have to look hard to find any problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SimonLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two week holiday to Thassos with our 2 children (daughter aged 14 and son aged 10). Really enjoyed the ferry transfer from Kavala to Thassos, a great start to the holiday! Hotel immediately exceeded our expectations. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Family rooms are large enough to accommodate a family and include proper beds for the children. Free fridge and kettle also available. In walking distance of Potos where the local shops, supermarkets and bars are. However only went twice due to the evening entertainment provided at the hotel. The variety was good including traditional Greek dancing. Cocktails at the Rooftop Bar are lovely, especially in happy hour when they’re only 5 euros. Its great to watch the sun setting from up there. Fresh water pools are limited size however the beach makes up for it. Free sunbeds are available at both. Animation team were fantastic. Really enjoyed the aqua aerobics and keep fit sessions, even the kids got involved! The football, tennis and volleyball competitions were great. Beach location is excellent although it’s mostly shingly so beach shoes are recommended however the jetties are great fun and avoid the sea rocks. Kids particularly enjoyed these. Did paragliding and Ringos with the water sports company, definitely recommend them! Worth hiring a car for a day to explore the island. Nice to see the quaint villages. Restaurant was great. A wide variety of food is available at each meal. We were upgraded to full board for an extra 56p so had lunch too. 5 courses available for lunch which was a bit too much. However breakfast and dinner were buffets so that was better. Youngest child enjoyed his birthday at the hotel. The animators sang happy birthday and helped him celebrate. Had a great family holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel. Great value for money, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank y0rkshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is special. The rooms are bright and spacious, we upgraded to a superior room which had a sea view. The gardens are fantastic and they grow most of their own fruit and veg which is used in the restaraunt. The food is really good and the staff are very helpfull. Make sure you take some long trousers as you will not be allowed to dine in shorts or three quarters. The beach is private but it is pebble and some sand so buy some beach shoes. The sea is crystal.

Room Tip: upgrade .... special rooms with a view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southyorksGlynKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews