We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elsa Haus Studios and Apartments(Potos)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Thassos(Pefkari)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Akti(Pefkari)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
402
298
87
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
298
87
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baroverlooking the seapotos townmain restaurantbuffet stylehalf boardlovely hotelthomson repevening entertainmentbreakfast and dinnersuperior roomvegetable gardenbars and restaurantsdress codesea urchinsflip flopsgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the alexandra beach. The hotel itself is set amongst lots of trees, with lots of fruit and veg being grown, the air had the smell of herbs it is a beautiful setting. The room is fine although for a 4 star and a Thomson platinum hotel I would have liked more of a luxurious feel, but this is just my opinion I am hard to please! however the most important thing is cleanliness and the room was kept spotless. The mattress was very hard but as advised by another review we asked for a mattress topper which was great and did the trick. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast and evening meal were fine with a good variety of food, eaten on a terrace with an amazing view, the men have to wear long trousers handy to know before you go. If you are thinking of going full board we wouldn't recommend it, this is only because it comprises a 3 course meal which for me was too much, the food again was lovely but an option for a sandwich would be good. The beach is pebbly so some rubber beach shoes would be a good idea, the sea is amazing for snorkeling we saw loads of fish, there are plenty of loungers and a really nice touch is the red button put on the parasols, the staff come to you to take your order from the beach bar so you don't have to leave your seat. The staff are a credit to the hotel and really looked after us. The hotel pools were lovely to and even in aug we could get a lounger in the afternoon. Ann the Thomson rep was lovely and really went out of her way to ensure we had a great time she even sent us a anniversary card (thank you). The trips were quite expensive, however the jeep trips are well worth the cost with only 6 people and the guide we went allover the Island on and off road. We had a brilliant holiday at the hotel and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cafferys28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

went in july and find an excellent location. rooms ok, breakfast and dinner more than good,
beach with small stones and sand.sea excellent.prices inside for alcool and rest ok.
highly reccomended for families with kids.

Room Tip: all rooms are ok.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went on a family holiday in August with three generations. The trip was excellent. This was our fourth time to Thassos, although we had not visited for ten years, the island did not disappoint. The first time at the hotel for us and we were pleased with our choice. We had two rooms next to each other and the sleeping arrangements could not have been better with proper beds for the children as part of the room.

The hotel is lovely and as many have commented before that the team working there are so helpful and friendly. Whenever we wanted any help they were ready to give assistance. Kettles are not standard in the rooms, however a quick request at the reception and we had a kettle and cups.

The rooms themselves are fine - they are not luxury however they provide everything that you could want and were spotlessly clean. The hot water was plentiful so no complaints there. It was quite nice not to have your full range of TV and if you wanted to know what was going on in the world then you did have access to BBC or CNN.

The restaurant was fantastic. We just could not see why anyone would have any cause to complain. It was so nice to see a selection of local food and the salad bar was extensive. Every night you had an wide choice and even though we stayed for two weeks we did not get to see the same meals time and time again. If you like desserts then you are in for a treat with a great choice of cakes, ice cream or fruit. Breakfast was great too - so you did not get your typical full English breakfast you did get eggs in several forms, omelette, sausages, bacon (although that did seem to disappear during the end of the second week) and tomatoes. In addition there were several varieties of pastries - savoury and sweet - yogurt, fruit, cereal, rolls, toast, pancakes and the list goes and on. Just how could you complain?

We spent most days by the beach. You can get towels from reception each day. If you have small children then be aware that there is not a huge amount of sand although you will find some. However, the beach being pebbles and rocks does have some of the best snorkelling that we have seen in the Med. We saw numerous fish, an octopus and several cuttlefish. We purchased snorkels for our two children and that was that for the two weeks. The pontoons are great for getting into sea without having to brave the stones and urchins. As others have mentioned you should bring some beach shoes with you if you have them as they are needed with urchins and sharp rocks. If you have not got any though you can buy some either at the hotel of at the local shops of Potos.

The roof bar was a lovely venue for a pre-dinner drink and the sunsets are spectacular from there. The pool bar was lovely too. The evening entertainment at the hotel was fine. We particularly enjoyed the Zumba nights. If you want a lot of entertainment then this hotel would not be for you.

I had two treatments at the spa during the two weeks. Both were lovely and with the 50% discount for Thomson guests really good value.

We did not venture far having been to the island before. However, Potos is very close and has nice shops, bars and restaurants (not that we ate there). We went to Limenaria a couple of times but it was very quiet even though it was August.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel. It doesn't have a full on kids club, activities or bars and if you want that then don't come here. If you want somewhere relaxing, delicious food, excellent team and welcoming environment then come here. We all came back after two weeks relaxed and ready to face the world. Would we come again - we certainly would!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harlequin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After reading some of the reviews before leaving, I was beginning to wonder if we had picked the right place for our holidays. Any concerns were put to rest.
The transfer to the hotel was good and the ferry added to the holiday experience.
The hotel is lovely and and can not say enough good things about the staff. They are so helpful, they were always smiling. They can't do enough for you to add to your holiday experience.
The beds were fine, we all slept really well, I suppose its down to preference. We had rooms on the ground floor and they were absolutely fine.
The food was varied, we didn't have a problem with it at all and never had a problem getting a table. The beach was lovely as well and the views of the sunset are amazing from the roof bar.
We were not disappointed at all. This was our best holiday to date. We are even thinking of returning next year.
The only thing I would say is to check any charges to your room before you leave. We had one for drinks although we paid as we went. But they took it off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Rooms : Very spacious, with a balcony and wardrobe units - plenty of hanging space. Bed was a little firm, but I think you can ask for a topper at reception!
Breakfast : Lots of choice, this had to be my favourite meal of the day - always fresh, and replenished quickly, dried fruits, cereals, continental, pastries, fruit ... You name it, it was there!
Lunch : This was probably the worst meal of the day due to lack of choice, being half board we had either the pool bar, or the beach bar for food - quality and price was reasonable, but a bit boring after a week , I couldn't of done 2 weeks
Dinner : This was OK - food was always hot and well cooked, but felt like they were mainly catering for the European market... A lot of German type food, and French (snails) so a few nights I just ate chips & Greek salad!!!!!! There is a good selection of desserts, but get in quick!!!
Another niggle is, you cannot take your drink ( wine ) with you to the bar when you have finished, even though its only a stone throw - very weird rule! I saw a lot of guests get disgruntled with this.

Location: was nice and quite, the local beach was lovely (shingle) but the water was crystal clear. I actually preferred it, you could see all the fish even when you was out up to your waist. I didn't see any of the black urchins with spikes. I was had read before this beach had them, but I saw none for the whole duration. They also have large pontoons you can walk out into deeper water.

Entertainment : I quite liked it, it was only on selected nights.. Had some Greek dancing, some Greek singing, It wasn't to bad ... Probably not to everyone's taste!

Pool: Very small, had one for small children too - this did not bother me, as we preferred the beach!

Went with Thompson - check in and check out/transfer was all very smooth and well organised!

Staff, very helpful and nice - couldn't do a enough for you.

TIPs: ask for a kettle at reception, this is free ( take some tea & coffee with you )
Don't bother with the tapas restaurant (chargeable) food was ok, nothing special.
To hire the safe was 15-25 euros ( cant quite remember)
Charge all your drinks back to your room & sign. Heard people moaning they had paid for their drinks in the restaurant and was still charged and check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews