We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Potos
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Certainly one of the better hotels on the Island. Great food plenty of choice, though we preferred the buffet to the al la carte... Rooms are spacious and clean, but the beds are not the best. Take a hairdryer as the one in the bathroom isn't very good. The beach is shingle so another tip would be to make sure you have suitable footwear, there are plenty of sun beds, take your own beach towel. I personally prefer Skiathos and Santorini, I did miss the lovely white washed churches with blue domes, Thassos isn't the prettiest of Islands, but if it's peace and quiet your looking for without rowdy bars' then give it a go. The ferry crossing is good fun and Thomson holidays make the journey very easy, though watch out for the seagulls we saw quite a few people messed on... If you know what I mean !! If you are considering Thassos for your holiday go now before it becomes too commercialised.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    255
    73
    18
    13
See reviews for
261
326
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Came back from the Alexandra Beach last week and wish we were still there, service and location are excellent, rooms are very large and clean and come with a decent sized tv and fridge as standard along with excellent A/C.
Restaurant and staff are 1st class with plenty of choice at all mealtimes, evening entertainment is a bit sparse having only 2acts on all week, but the village of Potos is only 300 meters away. The island is lovely and easily drive able and a car is a great way to get up into the mountains and to all the beaches, Aliki beach and Golden beach are well worth a visit , both with lots of nice taverna,s.
One thing to remember however is if you travel with Thomson is that you can upgrade to the outside restaurant upstairs at no extra cost( a la carte is €10 each) unfortunately this was not pointed out to us till later in the week when the restaurant was full.
However this did not spoil what was a wonderful and very relaxing holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I totally agree, this will be hard to beat. Wonderful setting and grounds, food lovely, staff very helpful and welcoming. Would we go back yes. Thankyou to all the staff at the Hotel for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DOLLYPOPPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Came back from thassos yesterday and although I never normally write reviews I couldn't wait to write a review for this hotel. The town of potos is almost at the bottom of the island and so you drop off others at their hotels before arriving at Alexander beach and by doing this you certainly see that the Alexander is one of if not the best hotel on the island. Many hotels are nice but are in the middle of nowhere. The Alexander has towns on both sides with plenty of tavernas leading onto the beach.

The hotel it's self is impeccably clean. The rooms are lovely, we payed for a double and got given a large family room. The food in the buffet restaurant is great and a missive varity different each night, there is a roof top restaurant which also provides a 5 course set menu free of charge and the food and service beats most restaurants in this country.

The Greek people and staff are the most hospital people I have ever met, really polite and they all tried to speak English. The private beach, although not completely sandy is quiet and plenty of free sun beds, clear sea and a beach bar. Each parasol has a door bell and service is brought by a waiter to your lounger, no need to get up. Its a family run hotel and you can tell they are very proud. All around the hotel you will see fruit, veg and herbs growing which the chef picks and uses on the night. You can't get fresher than that.

If you walk into Potos make sure you visit taverna Irene. The staff are amazing and never want to let you go. The portion size is huge and they offer you free ice cream and wine. We left there rather drunk on both occasions.

I really can't think of anything negative worth mentioning, the best holiday me and my fiancé have been on and we can't wait to go back. The only thing I would reccomened is to rent a car or scooter so you can find the hidden beaches on the island where buses won't take you to.

Finally tompson were really good on this holiday. We went on the thassos treasures excursion and alothough expensive, Angela the Greek tour gide was great and food is included at a taverna and was amazing. It takes you all around the island, is great fun and very factual.

Can not reccomened this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hi,

Bit late review here. We were at Alexandra Beach in May 2013.

Hotel was just open for the summer since few days, but still everything was fine and the service and food were very good.

Rooms are good and rather clean as are all the fascilities, including the pool.

We stayed for 4 nights and everything was fine, only problem was that one morning the cleaning ladies started shouting in the corridors very early, something like 7 or 8 o'clock when most of the guests are still sleeping. We complained to the reception and it did not happen again.

All in all a rather good experience for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtanasGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just wanted to add my comments to what everyone else has said. Stayed at the Alexandra Beach early June. Great hotel! Good location, nice beach, great restaurant and good food. Staff were really nice and helpful .

A BIG thank-you to the delightful lady on reception, who turned nurse one evening to remove sea urchin spines. A big hello to Despina, the manager in the Spa, who was an absolute delight.

OK there are some very minor points, but these aren’t worth mentioning; remember this is a Greek 4 star rating. But any minor issues are far outweighed by the really good things in the hotel. One person who should get a mention is Alan the Thomson rep. - very professional, polite and approachable and always seemed to be around and a good source of information.

Potos was 250 metres down the road one way and Pefkari (much quieter and a nice beach), 250 metres the other way. We hired a car for a couple of days. We visited Chrisi Ammoudia on the east coast which was really pretty. We also drove up into the mountains and visited Maries (and its lake – and although pretty was nothing special). However the island of Thassos is stunning, very green with some amazing vistas. We also did a boat trip booked through Thomson and although a little on the expensive side, it was a good day out.

So if you are looking for a good, clean, friendly hotel that serves great food (great mojitos by the way!) in a beautiful setting, the Alexandra Beach fits the bill perfectly.
Like other people I tend not to go back to places I have visited, but this place would be the exception!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view and take mosquito repellant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clacton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Second stay at this hotel it is just as good as last year , we cannot recommend it enough . Staff excellent property clean difficult to fault in any way just go and enjoy. We were given a complementary bottle of wine as return visitors , which was a nice touch .

We stayed bed and breakfast this year which gave us opportunities to visit some of the local tavernas which were all good value and excellent quality .

Room Tip: Be careful if booking the trip to main land it's a long day Kavala lovely but caves closed due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potos
10.2 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 9 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
12.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
10.3 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort

Property: Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Address: Potos 64002, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Potos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Potos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potos
#3 Family Hotel in Potos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Potos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandra Beach is located near the village of Potos on the beautiful island of Thassos, It is an incredible place for family holidays on the sparkling emerald beach, with a panoramic view of the Aegean Sea, many-hued sunsets and a refreshing breeze wafting through the air. Thassos, an all time valued Aegean island with an extensive history, takes you on a journey to its lacy coastline and to the mountain with its picturesque villages and captivates you with its delicaces. It invites travellers to visit the mountain villages and to take a peek at the simple life of the residents and amazing landscape of varied and authentic Greek nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Beach Thassos Hotel Potos
Hotel Alexandra Beach Thassos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing