We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topset Hotel(Agios Georgios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ada Beach Hotel(Alsancak - Karavas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riviera Beach Bungalows(Agios Georgios)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hideaway Club Hotel(Edremit (Trimithi))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Santoria Holiday Village(Alsancak - Karavas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ship Inn(Kyrenia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bare Hill Holiday Village(Alsancak - Karavas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
209
94
38
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
94
38
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern cyprusa family run hotelowners and staffpool barbedroom villastar hotelhome from homea la carte menurecommend this hotel to anyonethe main roadevening mealhalf boardnothing is too much troublethree starfor making our holidaylocal busescleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We always stay in the bungalows.These have everything we need, ie a large seperate sitting area next to the bedroom, with fridge,sink and tv. Outside a large patio/balcony overlooking the gardens.Splendid for a large g&t in the evenings.We were on b & b but still had several meals in the restaurant (buffet some evenings) which we enjoyed, also bbq good especially when followed by a 60s /70s music night. Contrary to a previous report there are several places to eat in the surrounding area,only a short walk away. The best with views overlooking the sea.Turn left onto the main road and turn left again before the large supermarket called Tempo, and follow the road to the sea passing the Tempo restaurant on the way . Alternatively turning right at the main road right after a short walk and right again you come to a beach area. Here we had a pleasant lunch ,once again overlooking the sea.For travelling farther afield a dolmus is very cheap.To visit other resorts( Bellapais a must) driving a hire car is no problem as driving is on the left.Must make mention to the staff and owners who could not be more friendly or hepful.The poolside bar is the ideal way to finish off the day with a few friends and a nice drink.Thanks to Sue Serda and all the staff.See you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irvSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Northern Cyprus again and must compliment the owners and staff at Mountain View for wonderful service while we were there. Once again it was the most relaxing holiday, with quiet days around the pool, and short strolls through the beautiful lush gardens. This is the second time this year we have been to Northern Cyprus and would thoroughly recommend May, June and September when the temperatures are not too severe. May is especially nice when the fruit and vegetables are abundant.
Mountain View I feel appeals to the mature couples, as the quietness and peacefulness is what most mature couples look for in a holiday destination.
Roll on May next year when we shall be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just returned from a ten night stay at Mountain View, stayed half board in a bungalow which although basically furnished was adequate and kept clean by the maid, unfortunately the half board was not of the same standard as the accommodation the breakfast was a sort of continental buffet but with few choices apart from cheese and cooked meats (spams), toast was available with a hot selection of b/beans, scrambled or boiled eggs and bacon available at an extra 7lr per portion, all in all a rather poor start to the day, the evening meal was a served three course and was a better proposition although you had to make your decision on your choice from the three available at breakfast time. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and courteous and the pool was large and adequate, but don't book this if you like somewhere a bit special because this hotel isn't, you also need to travel into town (Kyrenia) for entertainment or a meal or drink and it is a good three mile walk along a rather busy and dirty road although the local mini buses are very frequent and cheap at 2.50lr each way.

Room Tip: The bungalows give you extra room and are probably worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonandwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncypriot, Owner at Mountain View Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review.

We are sorry you didnt enjoy our breakfast, but there is only so much we can put onto
a table, with a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit salad and hot
things such as borek, scambled eggs or sausages, what else can we put. Being a
muslim country anything of pork nature, i.e. bacon, sausages will be charged for as
these are very expensive.
With regards to the evening meals, these are cooked freshly everyday, customers get
a choice of three options and it helps the chef if we have a rough idea of numbers
otherwise if half board customers leave there choice until the last minute, there may
not be enough of what they would like.
Our hotel is in a very good position for guests who do not want to go very far, we have
many restaurants in easy reach and the nearest sandy beach being just 12 minutes
walk away or 2 minutes by car.
Once again thank you very much.
With kind regards.

Suzan Aydinel
Mountain View Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 10 nights, in a bungalow. This was clean and tidy, though the air con was dated and our television didn't work (it was reported to reception, but still didn't work).
Having missed our meal on the first night we were ready for breakfast - ah, this was a poor show - cereal - only cornflakes (though by day 9 mini weetabix had been added to this). There was a large notice telling us that the eggs were 'free' for our breakfast (surely we had paid for these?) bacon and fresh orange juice was extra. If you like cheese and sliced meat there is a small choice. Plenty of bread,honey and fig jam and after a few days even some marmalade. Chips for breakfast and olives?
Evening meal was a choice of 3 main courses ( you had to choose at breakfast what you wanted at dinner)- most of which came with chips, rice and salad, which became a bit monotonous after a few days. Soup of the day as a starter - no choice, and a sweet - no choice (until the end of the holiday). There is an A La Carte menu, which half board guests can choose (at breakfast) and get 30% discount - no sorry, this was changed to 15% discount whilst we were there.
The staff were friendly.
If you're looking for somewhere not too expensive Northern Cyprus is fine (though a very untidy part of Cyprus as a whole with rubbish left everywhere around the countryside and towns) - just don't have high expectations if you visit this hotel, but this is only my view, other people may think this hotel is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Unfortunately, I have to agree with all the other negative comments, this hotel does not live up to the great ratings given on tripadvisor. Which I think is why people are tempted to book this hotel.

The owner goes on and on about guests grumbling after they have returned home, what are they supposed to do when problems are not sorted out whilst there?? We asked twice if we could keep our room as we were only being picked up at 2pm, first time we asked, we were told, they would let us know later, the second time we asked, we were told 'I will have to ask the boss'. We got no reply, so just checked out.

The bathroom door did not close at all, would they have replaced it? This could not just be fixed as the knob was stuck to a piece of cardboard. There was a broken picture frame, the laminate flooring in the room stopped dead at the door to corridor, nothing to join it with the carpet in the corridor.

To be fair, when the shower head fell off it was replaced. but shouldn't all these things be checked and repaired before guests arrive?

The food is mediocre at best, we were on half board basis and only ate one evening meal, it was not very appetizing. The Mountain View special salad from the pool bar was a joke. (try the Ambience beach club and restaurant nearby, excellent food) The chips were tasty though.

As for the statement from the hotel that there were a 100 people dining there, I never saw more than 20 at any one time in the dining area. You can order from an al la carte menu, (at extra cost) but you have to order before 12 noon. I don't know about most people, but I prefer to choose from a menu at the time of ordering.

To reiterate the earlier review, there 'are' 2 dogs sat begging at the tables, on one occasion they chased a cat through the dining area. This really is unacceptable.

The rooms are reasonably clean, but really need blackout curtains, as the curtains are flimsy and you wake up as soon as the sun comes up, the air conditioning, in our room at least, was on a 2 hour timer, so if it is hot, you will wake up at 2 hour intervals, and need to switch it back on. The TV is rubbish, you have a choice of BBC world news or FOX movies both watched through a snow storm. The lift is not working, and we were told has not worked since April.

The pool is murky, the excuse of people not removing sun tan lotions by showering first is lame, I have been to hotels all over the world, and I have never seen this problem before, do other hotels guests always shower before swimming?? I doubt it.

The hotel is in a remote location, older guests would find it difficult to walk even to the nearest supermarket, especially in the heat of the day. So would need to get taxis everywhere.

There seems to be guests who return year after year and are friendly with the owners, so I guess this is where all the positive reviews come from. I know it is only rated 3 star, but it has the possibility to be much better.

Anyway, its not all bad, we met some lovely people at the hotel. Oh and there is a lovely view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow, there seems to be less complaints from guests staying in them
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank whatsoccurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncypriot, Owner at Mountain View Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review..
We always tell customers, if they have any problems at all, please let
reception know and they will get it sorted. Unfortunately everything you
mentioned in your review was not reported to the reception, so how was
we to know these things needed doing.

The hotel has been full for some time now and the customers who were
in your room before you, did not mention any of these things to us, so
obviously they must have been happy, otherwise we would have sorted
the things you mentioned. We checked the bathroom door that you said
wouldnt shut and it did close, so why would we have to put on a new door.

Most rooms now have the timer switches for the air conditions and this is
due to customers leaving there rooms for up to 8 hours a day and leaving
the air conditions on whilst they are out. Why should they do this and waste
energy and a lot of money. Would you do this at home. We try to do our best
for the enviroment.

The new corridor carpet and the laminate flooring was only laid a few months
ago and again because we have been so full it has not been the right time
for the company to come and finish off, we do apologise for this.

I actually said that we had a 100 people for breakfast not for evening meals.
One of the reasons we ask people to choose in the morning is because all our
food is cooked fresh daily, nothing comes ready done from the freezer, but
if customers cannot make up there minds they are just told to let us know later

Our dogs never beg for food. Our dog has been here at Mountain View Hotel
for 10 years and a lot of customers come back believe it or not just for the dogs.
The dogs will sit close to customers if they are being fed which should be done
and we have now put up some signs. They are well fed dogs already.

Our televisions show 2 or 3 english speaking channels, i.e. BBC World news,
fox movies and a music channel, what else was you expecting. If you had wanted
you could have come down to the bar and watched most live football and Sky news.

Nothing is to far from our hotel, we have the sea just 4 mins walk away, the nearest
sandy beach just 12 mins by foot or 2 mins by car, supermarkets and restaurants all
very close, what more did you need.

I do have to agree that many people come back every year, which is fantastic. Would
they really come back if they did not enjoy it......

Regards.

Suzan Aydinel
Mountain View Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews