We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel in beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful friendly hotel in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We can only agree with previous guests that this is one of the friendliest hotels you could ever hope to stay at. Sue and her staff are so pleasant and helpful, and will do their utmost to make your stay enjoyable (just don't ask Sue for directions on a map - she thought the sea was the sky!!!). The hotel rooms are extremely clean with everything you need, and a kettle and cups can be provided if you ask. Our balcony overlooked the rear of the hotel and the mountains - what an amazing view to wake up to. The gardens and pool are attractive and the sunbeds washed down every day (towels provided if you ask).

We stayed here for 3 weeks in Feb/March 2014 - we were half board the first 2 weeks and B&B for the third week and wished in the end we'd booked half-board for the last week too as it was hard to find somewhere else to compare. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and tried to cater for most tastes from platters of meat and cheese, cereal, fruit, salad, yoghurt, toast, any style of egg, a variety of breads and small pies (omelette or english breakfast available for a bit extra). The menu for the evening meals was a little limited due to the season and the hotel being quiet, but you only had to ask and they would offer an alternative with a smile (I'm vegetarian so they added an option every evening especially for me, and if I didn't fancy something they would readily change it).

The hotel is best suited to the 'more mature' guest as it is in quiet surroundings and 5-10 minutes walk up to the main road where there are some restaurants/bars/supermarkets and you can catch the dolmus into Kyrenia or to nearby villages, beaches and restaurants etc. At this time of year a lot of the nearby restaurants and bars were closed, so be prepared to walk a bit further or catch the bus to find something that is open. We managed to find the Castle Pub open at weekends which was very friendly and a 10-15 minute along the coastal path takes you to the very scenic Kervan bar/restaurant on a cliff overlooking the bay (by the Merit Park Hotel). Silver Rocks at Lapta opened at the beginning of March and the food there was amazing - I can thoroughly recommend, and if you fancy something a bit different you should try Aphrodite which is run by a rather eccentric 'Turkish Dancer' who I'm told invites his horse or donkey in to meet you as a special treat!

Thanks again to Sue, Hafis, Esther, John and the rest of the team for making our stay so enjoyable and so much fun (we may be back if you can cope with us again!) Thanks also to fellow guests Steve and Anne, Donkey Dave and Tish, Michael and Mary for giving us so many laughs and making our holiday.

Room Tip: Rear facing if you want a view of the pool and the mountains, front facing if you want early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slumfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncypriot, Owner at Mountain View Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We would all like to thank you so much for your wonderful review,
it put such a smile on all of our faces today. We are so pleased that
you enjoyed your stay with us and I must add I definately miss our
morning and evening chats ha ha ha.

We do hope to see you here again at the Mountain View Hotel.

Many thanks once again.

Suzan Aydinel
Mountain View Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    90
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
80
178
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a few of my friends last summer.

The villa rooms are very spacious and clean. They offer a variety of different meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner(you will be spoilt for choice).

Also the staff are very friendly and professional. They will always put your needs first to make sure you have an excellent and comfortable stay.

If visiting Northern Cyprus I would recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zehraa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Holiday from hell. Housekeeping very good. Staff service very good. Breakfast note a previous answer by owners stating what can they do being muslim. You can purchase bacon at a supplement and a full english breakfast at a supplement. Breakfast poor. If you think breakfast poor I stayed half board evening meals not edible. If you like meatballs this is the place for you. Owners dogs allowed free run of hotel. Take a coat to eat breakfast and if you dare evening meal. Our representative was dealing with numerous complaints and people wanting to move out but the cost was prohibited. Location. Public beach tons of builders rubbish and rotting rubbish. Apparently cleaned summer months only. To get to bus stop be prepared to be followed by packs of dogs some in britain would be considered dangerous breeds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1605Plotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncypriot, Owner at Mountain View Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I remember you very well. You came alone as you was let down by your
partner at the last minute.

Before booking your holiday, it would have been a good idea to
check to see exactly where you would be coming to. You had trouble walking
and you was alone, if you had read anything about the Mountain View Hotel,
you would have known that we are around 10 mins walk away from the
beach and around 5 mins or so to get to the top of the road and unfortunately
this was to difficult for you.

Also, January can be one of our coldest months and unfortunately when you
arrived, we was going through a really cold week.

When coming to a muslim country, did you honestly expect sausage and bacon every
morning. We are a family run three star hotel, giving a good substantial breakfast
each morning to our customers and those that would like sausage and bacon
everyday, have to pay the supplement as such meats are very, very expensive here.

Yes there are dogs on the walk up to the main road, but these dogs all belong to our
neighbours, unfortunately we cannot ask them to keep them inside.

If I remember rightly when you was staying with us, you didnt mind the dogs at all so
why are you complaining now.

As for our half board meals, we give a very good choice of three alternatives and if our
customers do not want any of these, we would always offer them something else.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, perhaps next time you will come back
and visit us with your partner.

Kindest regards.

Suzan Aydinel
Mountain View Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend in September last year. And we had a lot of fun! The hotel is very nice, the people who work there are very friendly and the food was good. Nothing to complain about! And we are going to come again!


Thank you!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a little treasure of a hotel. Please do not be put of by the appearance from the front, yes it looks as though it could do with a lick of paint.
But this could quite possibly be because the owners & staff put all their time & energy into giving their guests the best welcoming stay & experience.
Sue & all her staff could not be faulted.

The food was amazing, & the homely warm welcome passed itself onto all the guests, it was like being part of a big happy family.
Most definitely the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in & we hope to visit many more times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 933judith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I returned to Northern Cyprus in October this year and once again stayed at the friendliest hotel I have ever been in .The staff and clients are extremely friendly, although there are always a few exceptions with fellow holidaymakers. The rooms are clean, service impeccable and the Staff always willing to help with anything you require. I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples and families alike. Can't wait to go back and see my two favourite dogs and have breakfast by the pool!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our second time this year that we have been to the Mountain View Hotel and once again we had a lovely relaxing time. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The pool is very relaxing and we stayed around there every day and had great lunches and cocktails. Our villa was lovely spacious and clean. The bathroom was surprisingly very clean and the shower was very good. We were given complimentary soap, body gel and shampoo and conditioners which was great as we thought we would have to buy the products when we arrived there. It is walking distance to the sea, super markets, restaurants and clubs. Great location.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
2.2 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
427 reviews
5.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
313 reviews
7.3 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
211 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Hotel & Villas

Property: Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Address: Mete Adanir Stadyumu | Karaoglanoglu, Agios Georgios 9390, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Hotel is a 3 star family-run holiday hotel located west of Kyrenia. We're just 5 minutes drive from the city center and a few minutes’ walk from the beach. We pride ourselves in being a family-run hotel for over 10 years; our aim is to make our customers always feel at home with us. People prefer our family-style hotel because of the quietness, privacy and friendly environment we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain View Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel And Villas
Mountain View Kyrenia
Hotel Mountain View
Mountain View Hotel & Villas Cyprus/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing