We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Quiet”
Review of Topset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topset Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Agios Georgios
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quiet”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I travelled with another female friend and we found the hotel to be ideal for us, it was very quiet and tranquil, just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The evening food is very well cooked and changed every night, sitting with the sound of the sea lapping up made it even more enjoyable, not to mention the Gin & Tonics! We were not disturbed by the mosque and thought it added to the atmosphere and culture. The staff were friendly and helpful and worked long hours. The owner liked his footy on TV in the evening but was never rude to us. Overall a tranquil oasis which is suited to the more mature traveller, there is no evening entertainment but Kyrenia is a quick taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clairer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    23
    14
    19
See reviews for
19
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel management are terrible they treat the staff like crap, the owner so rude, poor hygiene really basis breakfast which consist of crawling ants free of charge.
Room only cleaned when you ask, nobody informs you off this.
Kids pool causes feet to bleed due to surface
More rules than a jail
Employed staff are lovely
Northern cyprus has better hotels with better service
I would not recommend to anybody we had a week of hell.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rebbeca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agios Georgios hotels

grays essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed at the top set 8 19 sep best part of the stay was the taxi turning up on time then getting home and being able to sleep at night no wailing from a tannoy outsde the bedroom totally agree with 3 previous reviews

Room Tip: Look elsewhere DONT book through green island they recommended this hotel, tell you any thing for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were there just last week, we loved it and would definitely go again.

Having read some of these reports we decided to be open-minded, and thank goodness we did. We arrived around 1am, having been met by a friendly efficient driver. The night staff were smart and friendly and showed us to our nice, airy split level accomodation, the air was heavy with the scent of gardenia? and we could hear the sea lapping in the background.
Breakfast offered something for everyone;as we were on half-board it was explained what we could order as well as the breakfast buffet, such as eggs, sausage and cornflakes. Lovely freshly squeeezed orange juice, fruit, fresh bread, all the usuals plus some interesting cheese and herb specials. Dinner was shown on a board and if a guest did not wish it then an alternative was offered. The Manageress visited us at breakfast daily to check if everything was ok. The evening meals were delicious with an array of salads and freshly made local dishes. We had kleftiko which we had seen baked in the clay oven during the day. Everything was fresh. Prices for lunch - if required - were very reasonable.

There were plenty of seats around the 2 pools and on the beach and there was a choice of sun or shade. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The gardens are lovely and well maintained, the lush palm trees and the bouganvillia frame the sea view and there is a tranquil calm from morning to night.

Kyrenia is 10 minutes in a taxi if you want shopping or a trip around the harbour and cost us 17TL each way.

With the little library, and Indian massage salon and well-stocked bar most visitors needs are catered for.

We did hear the call from the nearby Mosque occasionally but it didn't wake us up or bother us. We did not hear the cockerel until 4 days in and that was when we were walking in the lane at the rear of the hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend Topset Hotel to anyone wanting peace and quiet and a lovely break in the sun. If you are looking for clubs, non-stop music, entertainment around the clock then perhaps you should look elsewhere. At the end of the week we felt as if we had been to a lovely retreat and ready to face the greys skies of UK again.

Room Tip: The split level rooms were light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed two weeks 31st August /14th Sept 2011 on B&b basis , the options for B&B guests only told to us on 13th day of holiday, as an apology offered a cup of Turkish tea/coffee on day of departure , after further debate offered a sandwich/ fruit drink to take to the airport , all refused.
Arriving late we received no hotel information , like breakfast options or only if you deposited your room key at reception would your room get cleaned.
The hotel is sadly needing a great deal of TLC , the plastic chairs in the restaurant/balconies have by the majority been painted white which leaves large deposits on people when they vacate . Takes days to get problems sorted . Lots of things broken and the brochure flatters the place. The beach /well not really a beach , is a very sad place to spend the day , everything around this area needs attention. Rubbish cleared every day and then deposited at side of hotel.
There are rules for everything and notices everywhere about what you cannot do, I listened to the hotel PR manager delivering a welcome speech to new arrivals , 20 mins of rules on what you cannot do , no welcome .
Generally the staff are good but they lack guidance from the hotel managers.
Food just about acceptable but the breakfast we were offered very poor.
No atmosphere about the place .
Next door a derelict taverna and the area is a disgrace with litter/broken bottles etc.
Generally found the country lovely but unloved as the rubbish aspect is everywhere.
To cap everything we found the mosque disturbing as the first call to prayers was at 05-10 am , through a loudspeaker system

Room Tip: Rooms in the top block 501 and upwards best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We went on a B&B basis. There was a basic breakfast for those on half-board, but on B&B you could have extras like eggs, yoghurt & honey etc. Half-board guests were not happy about this, they were also limited to the set menu every evening, whilst those on B&B could have alla carte. Had dinner at the hotel 3 evenings but otherwise ate out. There seemed to be a lot of chicken dishes. Cypriot evening with dinner of Chicken Kleftiko in tinfoil was very disappointing - no entertainment whatsoever. The restaurant/bar area has awful white plastic chairs and tables and the man-made beach needs a lot of work. Concrete seawall with wooden rack beds and tiny rigid white umbrellas which wouldn't keep the sun off a fly!! A lot of rubbish in the sea and on small rocky beach at side of hotel. Its just not loved. Dutch guests played board (bored) games in evening and then of course there was football on TV!! I'm glad we upgraded to an Emir Ali room which had a garden and seaview. Lovely garden - shame about the mosque on the doorstep - woken up every day at 4.30 a.m. Lights were not working above bed, sliding doors were rickety and door catches broken, toilet seat was hanging on by a thread even though this was reported to reception - of course nothing was done. There were a lot of rules, no food to be brought in from outside, not even fruit which was a real shame. The staff were generally helpful and obliging. Rooms to be vacated on day of departure by 12 noon, and cases left at reception. There were no proper facilities for departing guests in terms of a shower etc and you were directed to a hot wooden massage room beside the pool for a shower before departure - no sockets, hairdryer or mirror. Its almost as if they lost interest in you once you were leaving. Saw owner a few times sitting in his balcony in the restaurant - you were lucky to get any acknowledgement from him at all. Overall, I would not go back to Topset, it wasn't the best holiday I've ever had and its a shame that Northern Cyprus is going the same way as Southern Cyprus - a lot of Casino development in Kyrenia and plans for the same on the Karpaz Peninsular (a wild life sancuary at the moment) it will be ruined.....!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the central garden and sea will get the full blast of the mosque at 4.30 a.m. ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshValeSophie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Arrived at 1130pm and put into a "holding room" where you could not swing a cat, but was moved to a really nice room, split level, overlooking the pool though the air con left a lot to be desired, as it was not very efficient and it was very hot for September.

As I was on BB I looked forward to a typical continenal breakfast, sadly I was disappointed. There were no cold meats or boiled eggs and definetly not hot dishes. I did ask for an egg but found that I had to pay for it (how much does a cooked egg cost, very little) never had that in my life. I was not informed on arrival that I had to hand my key into reception after breakfast if I wanted my room cleaned, let alone have the loo bucket emptied, whatever happened to hotel staff having a master key. When I complained I was told that they did it that way as guests did not like to be disturbed that is why the key must be handed in (guess theres a first time for everything). There were quite a few rules, no food obtained outside allowed around the pool, that I accepted, but this also applied to your room (a little rich considering I would only on a BB basis, not all inclusive).

The staff in the main were very obliging and helpful but could take an age to get what you wanted at the bar on occasion.

Overall I would not want to go back, This is the first time I have felt that, being a solo traveller and have had great holidays elsewhere.

Room Tip: I had room 210 which gives a good view of the hotel pool, grounds and the sea along with the bar whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corsalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Georgios
6.8 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#5 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riviera Beach Bungalows
Riviera Beach Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Agios Georgios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#8 of 31 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topset Hotel

Property: Topset Hotel
Address: Karaoglanoglu, Mersin 10 | PO Box 623, Agios Georgios, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Agios Georgios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Agios Georgios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Topset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Topset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topset Hotel Kyrenia
Topset Hotel Cyprus/Agios Georgios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing