We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality”
Review of Trift Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trift Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Zinal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Patrice the owner is a great guy, and the waitresses were excellent. Food and service was excellent all week (both the dinner and the breakfast). Beds were really comfortable.

It was 5 minute walk to the cable car. store ski gear inside the house (easy to tie in and out). A great stay.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is first review we've ever posted, but we simply had to.

We've just spent a super week skiing with our 2 boys in the Trift Hotel. This place is a great find in Zinal, run by a wonderful French couple, Patrice & Caroline. Patrice and Caroline were wonderful hosts. Patrice is a wonderful joker, but a more attentive host you couldn't wish for. Nothing was too much trouble, in giving us advice, organising ski-passes in advance, even lending me a photo card (I had forgotten one for my camera and Caroline immediately lent me her own and transferred all my photos at the end of my stay), organising football/rugby on TV for boys, etc.

The friendly ambiance they create, attracts many of the locals e.g. pisteurs who arrive early evening for a drink and a chat. The french speaking locals engaged happily with us and the boys, and help to create a buzzy atmosphere. Visitors arrive in the evening for the restaurant, which serves a great range of typical regional foods, from raclettes, fondues, fish and duck with a good range of local wines. Most nights the restaurant was comfortably busy, and deservedly so. Breakfast was fresh croissants, brioche and a range of homemade jams, cereals, fruits, yoghurts etc.

The hotel itself is very centrally placed, and has simple rooms, but wonderful character in the main dining area and bar. Although there are ensuite rooms, our rooms had shared showers with a couple of other rooms. All were kept very clean, with midweek linen change. There was an amazing view up the valley towards the Besso from our bedroom window.

The hotel is good value and not pretentious, and we were very sad to leave. We would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask if you want an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Visited Trift Hotel in July 2013. Our room overlooked the lovely main street in Zinal. The room was cosy and comfortable, and although we had shared bathroom facilities we had a sink in the room. Breakfast was better than others we had had during the journey, and our dinner of raclette (which was 'eat all you want') was delicious. Staff were very apologetic for the fact that they did not speak English, even though we do not speak a word of French!

Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mariella1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

So, to be clear, Zinal is magnificent and a truly beautiful place to visit, summer or winter. The Trift is in a great central location with clean rooms, showers and bar. That's all good. Just don't expect anything approaching a warm welcome or a decent breakfast. The owner(?) could not have made us less welcome, refusing a group of 6 of us (party-crazy 40-something walkers) a drink at, wait for it, 8.30 on a Sunday evening and promptly locked us out of the reception and bar. On other occasions, in between his bouts of talking to himself, the owner either ignored us or failed to serve us. Very odd.

Actually, maybe he just needed his sleep - after all, he was banging outside our door (literally) hoovering and sweeping before 6am. Joy!

In fact, less Fawlty Towers and more The Outlook - all work and no play has made Jacques a very odd boy.

As for breakfast, be at your table by eight and pile high that plate as our fave hotel proprietor doesn't like to replenish the breakfast supplies. Once those bruised apples are gone, they're gone. And give the coffee a miss, unless you enjoy tar.

So, disappointing service and food, but perfectly good rooms and a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFlyingDoormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zinal
0.3 mi away
La Pointe de Zinal
La Pointe de Zinal
#2 of 2 in Zinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1 of 2 in Zinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel de Moiry
Hotel de Moiry
#2 of 6 in Grimentz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Alpina -Grimentz
Hotel Alpina -Grimentz
#3 of 6 in Grimentz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel de la Sage
Hotel de la Sage
#1 of 1 in La Sage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#1 of 6 in Grimentz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trift Hotel

Property: Trift Hotel
Address: Rue de l'Eglise | Case Postale 168, Zinal 3961, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zinal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Zinal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing