We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, great wine, fantastic food...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viator Apatsagi Etterem

Viator Apatsagi Etterem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice view, great wine, fantastic food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

On top of the visit to Pannonhalma Monastery, this restaurant is definitely a must if you find yourself on the way to Budapest! This place is definitely off the beaten track but the food and the experience makes up for the side trip. I had the pleasure of having the Rabbit leg with Vanilla Cauliflower Cream and Roasted Gnocchi and the Sage-flavored Mangalitza roast and Pigeon breast with wild garlic rosti and mushroom sauce. Both were absolutely fantastic. My family’s dishes were also very commendable! In addition to the food they also have a good selection of Hungarian wines and fantastic Palinka! Definitely one of the more memorable meals of our trip to Hungary.

I disagree with the previous commenter though regarding the ugly piece of concrete description of the building. The architecture is definitely modern and the floor to ceiling windows adds to the overall experience of your meal.

Be sure to also plan the your meal and tour of the Monastery since the guides have a strict schedule.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VivaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,027 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good food, service should be better ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the outside it is a modern ugly piece of concrete, from the inside, since the 2 longest sides of the restaurant are windows only, the view is just great.

The menu is simple: about 6 starters, 5 soups, 12 main and 3 deserts. The mains offer a bit of everything: duck, chicken, fish (perch), rabbit, deer and of course beef and pork. The presentation is very beautiful on every dish. We were four and had 4 starters, 4 mains, 2 deserts and a bottle of wine so we had a flavor of many dishes. Everything was delicious except that the mashed potato was instant, not home made. The parsley mousse around the duck liver was delicious - beware though that it was fresh cooked liver - not like foie gras that you eat cold on toast. Duck and deer were cooked to perfection, slightly rosé.

Bill was a bit over 30,000 forints ($140) which is high for Hungary. The view and quality of presentation would explain it but then the service was lacking at these prices. Reason I don't give it 5 stars, they need to improve.

We had booked - so glad I read TA before! You HAVE to book. When we arrived I said "Smith", we booked for 4. The guy responded "Simon", no, no booking and turned his heels!!! I caught him back. "Smith" - can you please look at your book. He did, found our name and without an apology, said OK and darted for our table to sit us without menus ... They came with another waitress almost 10mn later! They refused everybody without a reservation and the place was full (Sunday lunch).
At these prices they had not printed (yet) menus in English ... for such a touristic place - really?
Service was relatively slow, we had to wave several times - despite the fact that we had mentioned that we needed to be out by a certain time to visit the Abbey.
Then we needed 2 invoices and I had taken the pain to write clearly which couple had taken what to make the bills. They completely messed it up and refused to redo it because only the manager (absent on Sundays) could undo and redo!!!

Service at the Abbey was not any better - must be that place - people are nicer in Budapest.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I know strictly it isn't supposed to be part of the review, but I cannot help considering the whole Pannonhalma experience when talking about this place. Pannonhalma is simply magical - it feels so sacred and magnificent that you feel encharmed from the moment you set foot in there. And a nice late afternoon lunch or dinner in Viator is the crown jewel of the day.

The view is amazing from the place, and the food is delicious, too. Let me say it's not as overwhelming as other top-rated restaurants in the Hungarian countryside, but still good enough for a praise. The wines, coming from the Abbey's cellar, are also very nice, it's worth asking your glass to be filled with the food. The only weakpoint of the place though was that the service was a bit too fast for our taste. Our plates were hardly taken away when we were served the next dishes already, and we left with the feeling we'd been rushed and hushed out way too quickly. It's a real pity because we would have liked to stay and to enjoy the atmosphere a bit longer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohmyfoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vist Viator for a perfect experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have been here for the first time in 2010. Since than few times a year. Last time in August. The booking was fast, the service is good, food is fantastic. And loved the main-waiters warm regards. Offered already for friends & business partners: everybody was satisfied and gave a positive feedback. Worth to stop here even if you drive direction: Vienna - Budapest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrAquary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herk-de-Stad
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The best food and service we encountered in Hungary. The restaurant is build in a very modern architecture, adjacent to the Pannonhalma Abbey visitors center. The award winning modern architecture maybe very surprising in a historical setting as the abbey's grounds, but it works very well. And the style of the building reflects the quality of the food. We had a great 3 course lunch, simply the best food we had in Hungary. And for one time the service was friendly, pro-active and multi-lingual. An example to may other places in Hungary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Familietoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viator Apatsagi Etterem also viewed

Gyor, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
Pannonhalma, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 
Pannonhalma, Gyor-Moson-Sopron County
 

Been to Viator Apatsagi Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing