We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
If only Tarsus stayed like this

The old houses of Tarsus are really beautiful and impressive but unfortunately urbanization has... read more

Reviewed 31 December 2018
NesligulD
,
Istanbul, Turkiye
via mobile
Beautiful setting for photo shoot

A lovely cool place in the summer for a stroll that will take you back into turkeys past. Locals... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2016
AishaSK
,
Ulsan, South Korea
Read all 70 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
29
27
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
27
8
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2021

It is weird but some locals dont like tourists taking photos, we were taking photos of old houses historical objects but several times people passing by asked us why we were taking photos, I observed that some locals dont want tourists to come

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 846bernag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Houses were amazing. The design and their colors were all perfect if you like old houses or taking photos in general. The problem was there were many writings on their walls and it seemed like nobody would care. There were 4 or 5 coffee shops. Only one of them was open.
Needs some improvement&maintenance asap!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank burcuerk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

Easy to spend 45 minutes walking round an area where time has stood still. A fab mixture of very old houses and prosperous merchant houses from the 19th century Tarsus cotton boom. Look out for the Maca café, which has a huge Turkish flag outside. Great old house to enjoy a drink in

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank perrygrinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

Fantastic cartier of old Tarsus, center of civilization, restorated but managedin very poor manner. Some houses are distroyed because not functioning..

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank ahdgbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

The old houses of Tarsus are really beautiful and impressive but unfortunately urbanization has spoiled the city and many old houses were lost over time. Fortunately many streets are now preserved and many houses are used as cafes or art galleries.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank NesligulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews