We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this manor house B&B if you know your English history!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dethick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Ranked #1 of 1 Dethick B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this manor house B&B if you know your English history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

It was such a privilege to stay in the manor house and on the farm that was once owned by Anthony Babbington (of the Babbington Plot which led directly to Mary Queen of Scots execution). It is the real-life home that inspired neighbor Alison Utley to use it as the setting (known as Thackers in the book) for her wonderful book "A Traveller In Time."

Today it is a very well-run B&B and apparently a dairy farm. Walking around the grounds included some lovely green rolling hills in the distance, a beautiful garden area, and the private chapel that once belonged to the Babbingtons, a visit to which I highly recommend (a key can be obtained from Gilly Groom, the owner). The hosts were very friendly, offering very good suggestions for food, drink and touring of the local area and being very accommodating of my every need. Gilly's consideration included a welcome pot of tea with cake on a cold and drizzly afternoon (she volunteered, I need not even ask for it).

The room was incredibly spacious (helped by very tall ceilings and inclusive of decorative but functional exposed oak beams) and the bed extremely comfortable. There was a beautiful view from my room out of the back of the property (overlooking the garden) and it was very relaxing to open the window and hear both evening and morning birds chirping away. The bathroom is also very spacious, completely modern, with a strong, hot shower. Breakfast was probably the best I had on this trip amongst a dozen or so B&Bs. Clearly everything is farm fresh and there are enough choices of food to satisfy any diner. A wonderful and healthy continental is available while you are waiting for your cooked to order full breakfast. The breakfast room itself provides additional exposure to this wonderfully well kept historic home. I highly recommend for any traveller to Derbyshire who can appreciate the history of this fine manor. And for those not so interested in history, it is a warm and comfortable setting well located for day trips to Chatsworth, Hardwick Hall, and other local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sdm1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groomg, Owner at The Manor Farmhouse Dethick, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review of The Manor Farmhouse and the area. We don't actually receive many visitors from America, but we are sure that if anyone from America thinking of coming to this area reads your review, they will have been persuaded to come and stay with us. We are sure that the history here is something they would find particularly interesting. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful visitor experience with us and hope you will come and see us again on one of your visits to the UK. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We had a lovely 5 nights here with others for a family wedding at Dethick Church. We were looked after by Bridget and Becky as the Grooms were away. Everything was as stated by others and the breakfasts were a real treat, especially the strawberry and blueberry fruit salads. Our room was delightful and the bed was wonderfully comfortable with very good quality linen. We enjoyed exploring the beautiful countryside. Bridget and Becky were wonderful 'stand-ins' looking after us very well. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scribbleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Situated in a quiet hamlet, in a forgotten and less visited part of Derbyshire, this farmhouse is a fantastic find. The rooms are definitely 5 star, and the setting, without the 3 farmhouses and a church is exquisite. The breakfasts are charming, and enable you to experience the farms amazing kitchen complete with huge walk in fireplace. There are lovely walks around the area straight from the place, with in easy reach: Matlock, Riber Hall / Manor & Folly, Holloway where Florence Nightingale came from, Cromford with its canal / mills and famous secondhand bookshop to visit, and great pubs nearby. We walked to the Jug & Glass at Lea across the fields, and had a great quality pub meal. There are more extravagant gastro-pubs pretty nearby too. The 3 farms were once all one, although now rebuilt and was originally the home of Lord Babington who tried to free Mary Queen of Scots, and forfeited his life and property because of it - so plenty of local history too!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 2 haylofts - but all rooms seem pretty excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Beautiful listed propery, idyllic location, great rooms and excellent hosting by Gilly. The breakfast nearly killed us in its abundance!

Good access to the Chatsworth Estate and multiple walking trails direct from the properly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dethick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were a mixed family party including Grandma and occupied the family room and another double en-suite. The beds were the most comfortable we'd ever slept in, an endless supply of white fluffy towels, excellent showers/baths and all rooms beautifully furnished. We stayed for a week and went out exploring all over Derbyshire and South Yorkshire. Breakfast was ordered the night before and in the morning, the breakfast table was set with high quality china and the food was better than excellent - fruit, yogurt, cereals and cooked breakfasts with the best bacon from a local quality butcher was top notch! I can thoroughly recommend Gilly and Simon Groom's Manor Farm to all.

Room Tip: Very quiet location, tea/coffee tray renewed every day, beds made and rooms tidied every day. The fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Gilly warmly welcomed us with tea and cake. Our three rooms were all spacious, beautifully appointed, warm and spotlessly clean and had lovely views. The shower was wonderful, plenty of hot water and great water flow. The Jug and Glass was a seven minute walk through the fields and served great dinners. Breakfast was served in the huge farmhouse kitchen. So much choice and beautifully presented. Great location for exploring the Peak District. Gilly was so helpful and friendly.Three nights was not long enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is the 3rd time that my husband and I have stayed at Manor Farm and once again Gilly & Simon could not be more accomodating. All guests arrived at the same time but Gilly stil managed to conjour up a much needed pot of tea and home made cake! Our room was fabulous, spacious, spotless and very comfortable. Everything here is perfect! We only stayed one night but then were back agan for another 2 nights in a different room. Again this was fabulous! Breakfasts are to die for and nothing is too much trouble for Gilly. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dethick
2.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Farmhouse Dethick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Farmhouse Dethick

Property: The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Address: Nr Matlock, Dethick, Matlock DE4 5GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Dethick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dethick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and historic Tudor farmhouse. Once the home of Anthony Babington, whose love for Mary Queen of Scots cost them both their heads. Wonderful views in peaceful tranquil location 20 mins from the M1. Close to Chatsworth & many popular visitor attractions. 4 lovely bedrooms, all en-suite, all with big comfy beds, 1 twin. Delicious breakfasts, all diets catered for and served in original Elizabethan kitchen. Friendly hosts, offering caring, superb service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing