We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and comfort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dethick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Ranked #1 of 1 Dethick B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Character and comfort”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We spent a couple of nights here recdently. The farmhouse just oozes character. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and Gilly is a wonderful cook. You will need a car as it is a bit out of the way of public transport, but well worth the navigation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGreat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

Beautiful, peaceful and historic farmhouse, in amazing location with fantastic views. I stayed here with a friend in June 07 and will be recommending it to friends and hope to go back there myself!

The owners were really friendly, and helped us with directions to local attractions, booking restaurants etc, and even provided us with a torch for the dark walk back from the pub!

A great base to explore local area and countryside.

  • Liked — location and friendly owners
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KingsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersea Island, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

I stayed here in August with my husband and two children. The farm house is really lovely, and Gilly and Simon are the nicest people you could meet. They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Gilly booked us into a resturant each night, and accomodated our dietary needs. The breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruit, cereal, full english breakfast, toast etc.
Our room was really nice and spacious, with a lovely clean bathroom. The bed was one of the biggest most comfortable beds I have slept in. Our childrens room was also very nice, with two twin beds and a sink. If you want the "wow" factor, wait till you see the beautiful room you are served your breakfast in! steeped in history. This is a lovely place to stay, with two of the most lovely people you will meet. I cannot reccommed it enough, Go enjoy.
Also the local pub, a few minutes walk through a lovely little wood, is also very good for an evening meal.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank TW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it! Simon and Gilly were fabulous hosts - they were very friendly and helpful, and even went out of their way a couple times to give us a lift into town. The Farm itself is really beautiful. It's located in Dethick, which is near Matlock in The Peak District of Derbyshire, and is situated on top of a hill, with a great view looking down at the Valley. A 7 minute walk down the hill and through a little forest leads you to a little village where they have a great Pub that offers great food if you need it. The room we stayed in was lovely and spacious, and the breakfast in the morning was great. I can't wait to go back to this place - I highly recommend it!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank LaLa2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dethick
2.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 52 in Matlock
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 52 in Matlock
303 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Farmhouse Dethick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Farmhouse Dethick

Property: The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Address: Nr Matlock, Dethick, Matlock DE4 5GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Dethick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dethick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and historic Tudor farmhouse. Once the home of Anthony Babington, whose love for Mary Queen of Scots cost them both their heads. Wonderful views in peaceful tranquil location 20 mins from the M1. Close to Chatsworth & many popular visitor attractions. 4 lovely bedrooms, all en-suite, all with big comfy beds, 1 twin. Delicious breakfasts, all diets catered for and served in original Elizabethan kitchen. Friendly hosts, offering caring, superb service. From £85 per night for two people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing