We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
68
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiny hamlet steeped in history local pub peak district longer visit garden room wet room derbyshire countryside the perfect host nothing is too much trouble couple of nights hardwick hall local area homemade jams stayed longer places of interest beautiful house
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We stayed for one night at the Manor Farmhouse, and wished we could have had a longer visit, as the setting is perfect, and there are so many places of interest within easy driving distance. We received a warm welcome, with hot drinks and cake on arrival, and Gilly helpfully provided a recommendation for a local pub, and even booked it for us. The pub was good, by the way - The Jug and Glass - within walking distance. Make sure you take the walk through the churchyard, past the stream, to cross the bridge to the pub - idyllic.

The house itself was historic and full of features, such as the Tudor fireplace in the kitchen, but the rooms were sympathetically decorated to a high specification while retaining features such as beams. The fixtures and fittings were of good quality, and our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. We had a comfortable night's sleep, and were treated to a great, freshly prepared cooked breakfast, made with local, good quality ingredients. Gilly was friendly and a very attentive host, paying attention to detail, and she made our short stay a pleasure.

We are telling all our friends to book in at this farmhouse, as we thought it could be the best B&B we have ever stayed in. What we didn't tell Gilly was, we work as mystery dining assessors and usually visit and report on 4/5 star hotels. Although we were not carrying out an assessment visit on this occasion, I can confirm that only a few have come up to Gilly's high standards, and she could teach some chain hotels how to give good customer service!

Thanks for a lovely stay Gilly - we are likely to be back!

Room Tip: All rooms looked well appointed-check with the owner for a good match to your needs
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kingstonfoodie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Both my wife and daughter have enjoyed reading Alison Uttley's "A Traveller In Time" and discovering that "Thackers" in the book is based on Manor Farm was, as my wife said, a bit like discovering that Narnia really exists. The real delight was realising that it was possible to stay there as B&B guests.
We enjoyed a three night stay at The Manor Farmhouse, incorporating my wife's birthday, two nights of the stay having been a present from our daughter. From the moment we arrived we knew that we were in for a treat. The setting of the farm, with the adjoining church whets your appetite for the building as you approach Dethick - it really is like stepping back in time and the first view of the house itself does not disappoint.
Gilly showed us to our room and welcomed us with tea and cake. Chatting like an old friend she was a mine of information about the house, the parish and the area.
The room was spacious, very comfortable and well-equipped, with furnishings very much to our taste, and all spotlessly clean. The en-suite shower room was of a good size and similarly clean and well supplied with toiletries.
Breakfast is served in the large Tudor kitchen that was the heart of the old Manor House. There was a good range of choices for breakfast, all prepared freshly by Gilly using top quality ingredients. Whilst we ourselves have no special dietary requirements, it was impressive the effort that Gilly made to ensure that all were taken into consideration. Breakfast is ordered the previous evening, but this is completely understandable when the choices include naturally smoked haddock (a generous portion) served with poached egg.
During our stay nothing was too much trouble for Gilly, and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dexter_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Stayed at Manor Farm for one night on our way to York but wished we’d had time to stay longer. It is in a beautiful rural setting and steeped in history. Gilly was the perfect host and we immediately felt “at home”. The room was spotlessly clean, well equipped, had a comfortable bed, a view over countryside and was full of charm. Breakfast was excellent served in Gilly’s wonderful farmhouse kitchen. Would return for another stay in a heartbeat and would certainly recommend Manor Farm to others.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gillrobinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly G, Owner at The Manor Farmhouse Dethick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your visit to Manor Farm. We are really pleased that your experience left you "wanting more"and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

We stayed at The Manor Farmhouse on a visited to the Critch Tramway Museum. On arriving at the Farmhouse - I thought 'wow'! and on entering I was not disappointned. It was quirkey but very classy and not a speck of dust anywhere. The room was big, white and beautiful furniture, with a lovely spotless en-suite to match. The owners were away, but we were served by Freddie and Tim, who were the perfect hosts and served up the most healthy and delightful breakfasts. The history of the Farmhouse was a bonus and I just had to have a photo of where 'der plot was planned to 'do in' Elizabeth 1st!' I certainly will be back in the future and yes Freddie and Tim when in France will come and see you x

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly G, Owner at The Manor Farmhouse Dethick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review of the Manor Farmhouse. We are really pleased - although we had every confidence - that you were very well looked after by Tim and Freddie who were holding the fort for us. I'm sorry we did not get to meet you, but hope you will
return to us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The Manor Farmhouse Dethick was the birthplace of Sir Anthony Babington in the 15th century. Dethick is a tiny hamlet of three farms and a church. The oldest part of the house is the kitchen where we were treated to a delicious breakfast. The house is fascinating and Simon and Gilly are excellent hosts with lots of local knowledge and very good on clear directions. There are plenty of places to explore to suit all ages and tastes , and several pubs and restaurants for meals in the area. We would definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank juliaS3800CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly G, Owner at The Manor Farmhouse Dethick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review of your visit to The Manor Farmhouse at Dethick. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we really hope that you will return one day. Again, many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews