We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Manor Farm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dethick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Ranked #1 of 1 Dethick B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved Manor Farm”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Iv'e had the pleasure of staying at The Manor Farm three times. You definitely need a car to get there but once you've settled in you don't want to leave. The host Gilly is a great lady and cooks the best full English in Derbyshire. It's in a lovely rural setting with it's own church.
If you feel like a pint The Jug and Glass pub is a pleasant and easy ten minute stroll through a few fields.
To sum it all up. If you want to stay in a beautiful farm B&B with good rooms run by a fabulous lady which is in a nice quiet location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My partner and I stayed here with another couple for the weekend and can't recommend it highly enough. The farmhouse is in a wonderful setting next to a beautiful church and spectacular countryside. The facilities are excellent, full of character but finished to a very high standard. Our room was very well maintained with a really modern bathroom, large shower and comfortable bed.

What really makes this B&B special though is the warmth and hospitality of the owner Gilly, who couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. Gilly is a wonderful host who went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, nothing was too much trouble.

I'm looking forward to staying again when we're next in the area. VERY highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We returned having been 3 years ago and had forgotten just how lovely Manor Farm Dethick is....

It lies in an unbelievably beautiful and peaceful country setting; the farm itself is historic, homely, comfortable and stylish (and avoids the clichés of many "boutique" hotels). All the important bits are just right (great beds, sheets, towels and loads of thoughtful touches (walks printed in the rooms as well as a map of the 'scenic' (and it is!!) route to Chatsworth rather than the quick sat nav route etc etc, wine glasses left out because a full bottle of wine was noticed in our room when it was being cleaned, your pre-breakfast tea cups cleared from your room while you’re having breakfast! You simply don’t get these touches in B & B’s, this is normally the sort of attention to detail you get at the country’s best hotels.

But above all it's Gilly that makes this such a special place. She's a natural hostess, charming and smiling and making you feel so, so welcome. She goes the extra mile (booking restaurants, making suggestions for trips, providing torches for the walk over fields to the fantastic local pub…). The whole operation is quietly efficient, indeed runs with the smoothness of a much larger establishment. She's there when you want something, but also gives you space to get on with your stay in complete privacy once you're settled in.

As others have said breakfast is delicious, with any taste covered.

Frankly it’s a bit of a bargain, especially in the ‘new’ recently converted rooms – if you want character (the building and the people) in a stunning area with loads to do then you won’t do better than this. We’re pretty regular hotel users (and fussy!) and for 5 times the price per night we can’t think of anywhere in the UK that Gilly won’t give a run for their money, in its own charming way. Gold dust!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I wanted to book a special B+B for my husbands birthday surprise, and was really pleased to find that Gilly could fit us in for one night (as a lot of places only allow 2 nights stay).
The room was lovely, and the bed really comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic - I had a fried breakfast, my husband had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - very generous portion of salmon.
It was a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We spent a couple of nights here recdently. The farmhouse just oozes character. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and Gilly is a wonderful cook. You will need a car as it is a bit out of the way of public transport, but well worth the navigation.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAGreat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

Beautiful, peaceful and historic farmhouse, in amazing location with fantastic views. I stayed here with a friend in June 07 and will be recommending it to friends and hope to go back there myself!

The owners were really friendly, and helped us with directions to local attractions, booking restaurants etc, and even provided us with a torch for the dark walk back from the pub!

A great base to explore local area and countryside.

  • Liked — location and friendly owners
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KingsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersea Island, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

I stayed here in August with my husband and two children. The farm house is really lovely, and Gilly and Simon are the nicest people you could meet. They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Gilly booked us into a resturant each night, and accomodated our dietary needs. The breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruit, cereal, full english breakfast, toast etc.
Our room was really nice and spacious, with a lovely clean bathroom. The bed was one of the biggest most comfortable beds I have slept in. Our childrens room was also very nice, with two twin beds and a sink. If you want the "wow" factor, wait till you see the beautiful room you are served your breakfast in! steeped in history. This is a lovely place to stay, with two of the most lovely people you will meet. I cannot reccommed it enough, Go enjoy.
Also the local pub, a few minutes walk through a lovely little wood, is also very good for an evening meal.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank TW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dethick
2.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
411 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Farmhouse Dethick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Farmhouse Dethick

Property: The Manor Farmhouse Dethick
Address: Nr Matlock, Dethick, Matlock DE4 5GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Dethick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dethick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and historic Tudor farmhouse. Once the home of Anthony Babington, whose love for Mary Queen of Scots cost them both their heads. Wonderful views in peaceful tranquil location 20 mins from the M1. Close to Chatsworth & many popular visitor attractions. 4 lovely bedrooms, all en-suite, all with big comfy beds, 1 twin. Delicious breakfasts, all diets catered for and served in original Elizabethan kitchen. Friendly hosts, offering caring, superb service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor Farmhouse Dethick Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing