We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Pub Grub”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hartington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub Grub”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having eaten at the Charles Cotton Hotel, in the same village, we thought we'd try the "opposition". The Devonshire is more of a locals pub ( and that's not a problem) . Welcoming landlady, friendly and efficient service. The food was average/ good. Typical pub grub and no reason not to return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenjo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    178
    39
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very very good”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have been coming here for years and there has NEVER been a bad meal. The standard of service and food is always very good. Freshly cooked to order, prompt and friendly service, good value and always tasty.
Good value for money (not cheap rubbish like many pubs these days.
Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just visited the area and we have decided to have lunch after a long walk, so we picked this pub. I must say that this was the best lunch I have had for a very long time. Service was smooth and with a smile, food was exceptional - traditional, simple and so so tasty !!! Would recommend to visit any time!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Character and service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Don't miss a visit to this great traditional English country pub. Even a pre dinner drink there was an experience to cherish. The pub atmosphere was authentic and unpretentious. There were pleasant front and back outdoor areas but for this Australian the lovely old traditional interior rooms were a treat. The service was immaculate.There was no loud conversation-inhibiting music! The menu was extensive including vegetarian fare and those wonderful English puddings with tons of hot custard. Yum! The meals all arrived at the same time for our large group of 10 (and again later in the week for groups of 4 and 8), which may not sound so important but is a feature many eateries could copy. Everything was available from the extensive choice with no disappointments in this regard. There were no errors made in the orders. The aim of staff seemed to be to make sure all our needs were met. They were!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Visited on a rainy Tuesday evening in June and the place was really busy with diners which is always a good sign especially for a Tuesday night. My partner ordered the lamb shank in fresh mint gravy which was absolutely delicious; just melted in your mouth. I ordered steak which was equally very good.

Overall, a great traditional english pub serving very good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonshire Arms also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing