We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly, not quite perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Studley
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly, not quite perfect”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our upstairs room was very comfortable and well furnished. The bathroom and the breakfast were excellent and the location was ideal for our needs. There was somewhere to store our bikes. But there was a problem - in our room, at least - the noise from the hot water boiler, above our heads, which wheezed and whined (and woke me up) every time anyone ran a hot tap anywhere in the building! - which was intermittently until 2am, and again from 7. Please get a silent hot water system, so people can sleep! (Maybe this has been addressed since our stay, which was way back in October 2012.)

Room Tip: Take a downstairs room, to avoid the noise from that boiler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeThePedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Many thanks Mike for your review, with your many positive comments. However I am puzzled if there was a problem with your stay it was not mentioned at the time. We do always ask on checkout and before, rather than you waiting 20 months to post a review. Many guests have stayed in and requested that room with no issues. The central heating boiler does not run through the night. We do have a pump to provide a (power) shower, however this is always turned off at bed time. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay fully and hope this answers your question. We do hope that all guests enjoy their stay and inform us of any issues at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I took a journey back in time to where I was brought up, from primary school to the army.
What a terrific experience! All my friends and villagers remembered me, people I hadn't
seen in almost 50 years. My wife Lynn loved every minute as well. The Hayloft is a superb
B&B, and even though John and Jane were very busy with the lambing season, they still
found time to make our stay memorable. This is the first place that has ever defeated me
at breakfast, I just couldn't manage to eat it all, a wonderful, wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayFearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much Ray and Lynn for writing such a lovely review of The Hayloft and Hartington itself. It was good that you relived old memories with your friends. We are glad you you enjoyed your stay and our breakfasts. Don't leave it so long to visit Hartington next time (50 years)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding in Hartington and the Hayloft was recommended. A working from in a lovely setting. The room was perfect, comfortable and with all the animal noises adding to the stay.
The room was well equipped and the bed was quite comfortable. Great shower. The breakfast was a full English if that what was required. We were made to feel very welcome by Jane with lots of recommendations within the village worth following up. A great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Hayloft. It is pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us while you attended a local wedding. It is especially nice to hear you enjoyed staying on a working farm. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this after deciding against the other hotel in the area, and we were both pleasantly surprised, it is a beautiful place to be and so quiet. The breakfast is something else so home made you will wonder why everywhere can't do the same.
The hostess is so friendly and helpful with loads of local information and suggestions, we had a perfect escape and will go back again in the summer as there are some stunning walks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist-73v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review., and that you enjoyed our local breakfasts. We are pleased that you seemed to relax and enjoy your surroundings. See you again in the summer when you can walk those breakfasts off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We finished our two week touring holiday with 2 nights at the Hayloft in Hartington. Our accommodation was well equipped and cosy having a very comfortable bed and powerful and invigorating shower. Hartington itself is a beautiful and peaceful little village nestling in the southern Peak District. We had two lovely evening meals in the Devonshire Arms across the road, just right after two hectic days of sightseeing. Jane looked after us ensuring we had everything we needed and was always on hand to supply any information needed and was ably assisted by Alice at breakfast each morning! Thanks Jane and Alice we both thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful B&B and your company.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimoHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Many thanks for your super review, we are so pleased you ended your touring holiday on a high note in Hartington. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and found the village beautiful with everything to "to hand". Alice and I would be pleased to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just returned from one of the nicest breaks we have had for a long time. Mainly due to our lovely host Jane who goes out of her way to ensure everything is 'spot on'.
We stayed in the room named 'Hayloft' which was an upper floor room with ample space for rucksacks, boots etc, and a fabulous comfy bed. It was a nice touch to have freshly made welsh cakes waiting for us in our room too.
Jane also does a great breakfast and there was a different accompaniment treat each morning, from hash browns, locally made oatcakes and on the last morning a potato cake, delicious!
During our stay we had a couple of evening meals at the Devonshire Arms which we can highly recommend. Their lamb shank was very tasty, so too was the salmon, steak ale & mushroom pie and also the cod fishcakes.
We did a couple of lovely walks while we were staying.....Tissington Trail and Carsington Water, but you are spoilt for choice of places to see....Cromford and the canal is also a lovely place.
A big thanks to Jane, what a lovely lady, for all your information and giving us an insight to farmlife. Where Jane gets all her energy from we do not know.
We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and you have to stay here to enjoy the experience. Thanks again Jane and see you soon.
Diane & Chris xx

Room Tip: Hayloft was a lovely room on the upper floor, but all rooms are of a good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you Diane and Chris for taking the time to write a super review. I am so glad you both enjoyed your selves and that The Hayloft and Devonshire Arms food, were delicious. I was particulary pleased you photographed our new village trail, a credit to our local school. Hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just back from two nights at the Hayloft. Lovely place to stay, very friendly and welcoming. Good breakfast. Hartington is a beautiful village with a nice little pub. Great trails for biking, running and walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Many thanks Paul for a lovely review, glad you enjoyed everything and you found the local trails very good . We would welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
869 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sennilow Farm | Church Street, Nr. Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 OAW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hartington Hayloft Bed & Breakfast Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing