We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Friday Night....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Friday Night....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited the Charles Cotton last Friday night for dinner with friends & was surprised to be entertained by a superb 80's tribute act "Blondie Goes Wilde" a tribute to Kim Wilde & Blondie. The place had a great atmosphere and was busy with both locals and guests alike. Food was great and the singer top class and in lovely surroundings.... all in all a great Friday night out.!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    233
    105
    78
    47
See reviews for
112
494
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Morning coffee.Sunday 8th June 2014 Terry D.
Unwelcoming "prickly" staff, snail-paced service, and how anyone could do THAT to a toasted teacake and then have the gall to serve it, I will never know!
Price and quality don't always correspond.
Try the tea shop over the road - superior in every respect.
Perhaps being in such a prime location means never having to worry about attracting or keeping custom, and also, perhaps, never having to say you're sorry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Got a good deal at the hotel with only 24 hours notice and knew the local area. Our room was a standard one which was fine but it faced the sun during the day and was unbearably hot when we arrived - the owner Judy apologised for the temperature in the room and left the window open.It was a warm day for Derbyshire but unfortunately it remained hot throughout our stay - the radiator in the bathroom was on full which didn't help ! The evening meal was ok but with only 3 couples apparently resident in the hotel it was a little eerie. Again the prices of wine in the hotel were very high for average Pinot Grigio . Breakfast was fine .

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the back in the Summer !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

An excellent time we had - the owners and staff could not have made us more welcome. We have been before and we will certainly be going again. Food was excellently cooked and good choice. It was lovely for our wedding anniversary

Room Tip: choose the romantic suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very friendly and attentive staff. Good facilities and lashings of hot water in the shower. Excellent breakfast with local sausages and bacon. Both night's meals in the Bistro were very good with a particularly light batter on the beer batter fish and chips. A good selection of local real ales. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hartington is a small village in the lovely Peak District. The Charles Cotton Hotel, named after the fly fisherman poet, meets the needs of the traveller with charm and great service. The building, naturally, is dated. But it's functional and clean and the staff make all the difference. Sadly, I failed to learn the name of the gentleman who checked us in - he helped with baggage, directions to Chatsworth and a bank machine for cash... he printed out data for us and ensured a table in the dining room that evening. He was very pleasant and organized and nothing was too much trouble. We found the food to be excellent: two dinners, two breakfasts and a packed lunch for a day's outing away from civilization. The breakfast croissants are individually made and are excellent! Bar service was friendly and the atmosphere most pleasant. Compliments too on the background music - jazz, at a perfect volume and I never heard the same track twice. I would definitely return. I leave you with a partial quote, which seems an apt summary of the achievements of the Charles Cotton Hotel: "to please unknown; like streams supplied from springs below, which scatter blessings as they go."
-Charles Cotton

Room Tip: #3 has two windows for cross ventilation on warmer evenings, provided there's a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsandandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Charles Cotton in mid May and had a very good stay. We have been to Hartington a few times and stayed in local holiday cottages or the Youth Hostel, but on this occasion we thought we would use the hotel instead, and managed to take advantage of a good deal for the weekend. The room, food and general feel of the place was good, but the staff were excellent from arrival, to the bar, to dinner, to help with anything we required.

I've rated each of the elements of our stay, but put 'average' for the pool and fitness centre as I'm not sure there was one (we didn't look for one as we were walking for the weekend).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewnoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing