We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent stay, great getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charles Cotton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, great getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, can't say wrong about the rooms, kept really clean and looked really nice. Perfectly located hotel in a grievous village, I'm a cyclist and really enjoyed the area, lovely area, always loved Derbyshire.

Can see this place being a perfect romantic getaway. Thought the staff were really nice and welcoming which really adds to a place like this.

I will be returning later this year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    223
    100
    76
    44
See reviews for
111
471
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having read a few review on the hotel before we arrived we were a little bit worried if we choose the right place to stay.
Well I would like to let we made the right choice as from arrival to check out we were treated with great care and by staff that were always on hand to help out.
We were shown to our room by a young manager who offered to carry our bags ( we never travel light) we was asked if we would like a table for evening dinner as we had booked B&B, we decided to give it a go as the menu looked good and wasn't over priced.
Our room was a good size and was clean and tidy and had everything we required

The evening meal was served in the most wonderful room with hand painted pictures of the dove and surround area. The food was one of the best meals I have had in ages and I can highly recommend the the Duck Breast and the Lamb Rump.
The staff were great and the manager ( i think his name was David ) was full of energy and made sure that staff were always kept busy looking after our needs.

The breakfast in the morning was again excellent with a fresh fruit platter and choice of juice, cereals and the most important part a full English ( served with Derbyshire oat cakes). The 2 staff on again make sure we were topped up with coffee and toast and kept up the standards set by the evening guys

We were morse than happy with our visit and highly recommend the hotel and praise must go to the staff for putting our minds at ease

Room Tip: Ignore the negatives Look at upgrading to a superior room worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This ought to be somewhere special to enjoy a meal, service and surroundings a little above the average.
It isn't.
We had booked a table for 'between 7.30 and 8' as we weren't sure of our arrival. When we arrived at 8.10 and gave our name, the manager (a youngish, tall man) commented, " . . . 'an hour late."
So, that made us feel really welcome and set the tone for the evening.
As there were two tables of seven already in the restaurant and being served their 'mains', it was probably good that we hadn't arrived half an hour earlier!
It was a Saturday night and they had run out of ribeye steak!
The food we had was fine. The servers were young and were obviously 'in training' . . . . one glass of beer was taken away before it was empty!
The restaurant manager was far too cavalier in his attitude to make us feel valued guests.
We stayed for two nights in Hartington and would recommend The Devonshire above this restaurant. It's best to book ahead there as it IS popular and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnjcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Charles cotton is our escape from the real world with our dog Rolo. We love the ambience, the countryside, the food and the pure relaxation. The evenings are a sheer delight with a beautiful dinner, great entertainment, lovely wine and attentive staff. The owners Judy and Alan are welcoming and friendly and always happy to see Rolo! A beautiful place that welcomes dinner dress or muddy boots! Relaxed, sincere, comfortable, elegant and fun! You must walk Hartington to dovedale in the spring!

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are boutique and rooms with dog perfectly suitable in the old converted stable b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Offthebeaten p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked in to celebrate my birthday, we took our dogs with us and the only room allowing the dogs was in the converted stables. Which I'm afraid to say was rather shabby with cheap decor.
I got the impression from the rest of the hotel they were trying to portray an image of upmarket boutique, but if you going to have dirty carpets, musty smelling rooms, and cheap pine wobbly wardrobes, that's not classy boutique!! Apart from that the staff were so lovely and helpful, and the food excellent, compliments to the chef and the waiting on staff !! If they invested a bit more in decor and furnishings they could have a fabulous hotel, the location is superb!!

Room Tip: Don't book the stables!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaynorSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Called at the Charles Cotton today for a meal ,bad choice !
There were three of us. First of all no menus available ,they had to print some off for us.
We made the order,we were all having steaks.After a wait of more than half an hour the food arrived minus onion rings which we had to ask for,my wife's steak should have been medium to well done but was pink and was sent back. When they did return the meal the mushroom and tomato had been removed,although fresh chips and salad leaves were added.
No steak knives were provided and it was hard work cutting the meat.
We did complain and complimentary coffee was provided but no reduction in the price.
A special occasion was spoiled by poor service,the people on the next table were also unhappy with their meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DENR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I came across the Charles Cotton Hotel during the first night our of mini-break in the Peaks. As soon as we walked into the bar, the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. We hadn't booked (as had been advised) so we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves immediately seated at a lovely little table. Drinks came within minutes and the waiters were very helpful when decided what to order. We thoroughly enjoyed all courses - for the main my boyfriend had the steak, which he loved, and I had the salmon which I would definitely recommend. To top it all off, the food wasn't too expensive and seeing as we cleaned our plates (all three courses!) it was definitely good value for money. In true testimony to how great this place was, we came back here for the second and last night of our stay (we booked this time), and impressively, everything was even better on the second night - both food and service! There had been slight changes made to the menu which definitely worked in our favour - the tomato and red pepper soup and goats cheese tart went down a treat, and were some of the best starters we've ever had. We ordered the same mains as the night before which were once again absolutely scrumptious. The best course for me however was dessert - brownie with white chocolate sauce. I would definitely recommend this to all those who visit - you're missing out if you don't have it.

Overall, a fantastic experience and absolutely amazing food. We will definitely be returning, and would highly recommend to anyone. Best place to eat in Hartington.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
13.5 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Cotton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Cotton Hotel

Property: Charles Cotton Hotel
Address: Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charles Cotton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charles Cotton Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Hartington (made famous by its cheese-making) in the stunning Peak District National Park, which can be easily reached from any part of the country. Since taking over the hotel in 2010 we have refurbished the restaurants and bar, and are designing each room to provide a sumptuous and relaxing place to stay. Outside, we have our new continental terrace dining and seating area - perfect for al fresco meals or for simply enjoying a relaxing drink. Whether you visit the Charles Cotton for a short break, lunch or dinner, or simply for coffee with friends, you'll find a relaxing place where you can really unwind. Its A Must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Charles Cotton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Cotton Hartington
Hotel Charles Cotton
Charles Cotton Hotel Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing