We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Red Lion House" - Hartington Derbyshire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolfscote Grange Cottages
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Did a long weekend for two 11-13th July 2014 at "Red LIon House".

This is surprisingly spacious accommodation (Sleeps 6. Three bedrooms rooms; one en suite) yet has a very intimate, cottage atmosphere. The fireplace with lion atop, that gives the place its name is really beautiful. The fireplaces in everyroom have been preserved. In fact the whole place has been tastfully restored to a very high standard of modern comfort but totally in character with the original style. There is a private secluded rear garden to eat out in. It is right in the village near to two shops; perfect for groceries, essentials and newspapers! You can get local gossip and international news at the same time. Had a nice meal in the Charles Cotton Hotel; good food, good service and reasonbaly priced.

Enjoyed cycling the Tissington trail...and it is down hill all the way home.....though you might want to beg a lift up to the Hartington starting point!

The location is ideal for exploring the the White Peak be it by car , on foot or by bike.

Interesting church and churchyard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a great week and thought the cottage was lovely and good value for the price.. We appreciated the way the owner made sure we could contact her for any problem (not that there were any) and the trouble she took to make sure everything was ok. Super location for walking and exploring and an attractive friendly village. Our spaniel loved it too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Tomboys cottage, which was well equipped with lovely linen, duvets amazing Portmerion Crockery, lots of glasses, pans and cutlery. lovely and clean, In this property the bedrooms and bathroom are on the ground floor with the Lounge, kitchen, dining area on the first floor. The bathroom has a jacuzzi style bath with an amazing 1000K power shower, the water was so hot!
Beautiful views from the south west facing patio area, its a working farm so expect the odd tractor and hay bayler passing by. I can say enough about this amazing find will defo be back.
Some people are concerned about the road from the village up to the farm which is single track, we had 3 cars and didnt have any problems. Love this property, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked this for our first break away without the children. Beautiful peaceful spot. We stayed in Tomboys Cottage which was fantastically kitted out - 1st time we've had a duck and goosedown duvet in a cottage! Bed was very comfortable. Stunning views out of the window of sheep and lambs and cows and calves. Had several sightings of the Little Owl which seemed to spend most of its time sitting on a nearby telegraph wire. Great walks straight out of the front door.
Didn't find the access road a problem at all. Not many passing spaces but there always seemed to be one there when we needed one. Not a problem so long as you look ahead to see if there is anything coming.
Breakfasts were excellent and Jane was very helpful and friendly. She even texted us to make sure we had arrived OK at about the time I had said we would be there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

looked ok from the description on the owners site did a bit of Google to find out more, looked ok, so we went for it , paid up , and then we were on our way to 7 days of bliss, oh dear god what a mistake to make, IMHO its over prised and utterly basic,not a good choice , we would have been better off in a tent in a lay-by, the cleanliness leaved much to be desired, and also the owner want a extra £300 pounds on arrival said it was a error in the initial booking price, yeah right never again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

6 of us (4 adults, 2 children) stayed in Red Lion House over the May half term holiday. The house is ideally located within Hartington village itself. The friendly local shop is 2 doors away and a further shop/deli, pub, tea room, and the other village amenities are less than 5 minutes walk.
The cottage was very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Towels being provided would be an added benefit but didn't cause us a problem. Some books on the area and perhaps some family games would be an added extra.
Hartington itself is a lovely village. Can recommend the Devonshire Arms pub where we had great service and lovely food.
We took advantage of the ability to walk out straight from the cottage and had 3 beautiful walks - the scenery is stunning.
The Tissington trail is very accessible with cycle hire available. We also visited Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth House and slightly further afield the Denby Pottery Factory. All worth a visit.
Lovely area, lovely cottage.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank EmilyW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A lovely, cosy cottage in a beautiful, friendly village serving excellent food. Straight forward access to the Tissington Trail and only a short drive to Parsley Hay for bike hire. Beautiful family walks starting from the village. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartington hotels
0.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
924 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
995 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscote Grange Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscote Grange Cottages

Address: Wolfescote Grange Wolfescote Grange, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: £85 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruck and Wolfscote cottages are set above the beautiful Dove Valley two miles from pretty Hartington village central to the Peak District . Cruck cottage sleeping 4 is a 15 century hideaway with no neighbours only sheep and the occasional hare. At the farm stead in a large courtyard are Swallows Return , Tomboys and Wolfscote Cottage(sleeping 6, sleeping 4-6 with sofa bed and sleeping 4 respectively ).These cottage and the mentioned Cruck cottage are all Visit England four star accredited. \all furnished and decorated to a high standard to add comfort to your holiday . The beautiful backdrop of the Derbyshire hills and valleys makes Wolfscote and Cruck cottages the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wolfscote Grange Cottages Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing