We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage in a charming village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birch Cottage

Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Birch Cottage Birch Cottage lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
Birch Cottage
Birch Cottage lounge
Birch Cottage lounge with log burner
Birch Cottage lounge
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage king size bedroom
Birch Cottage king size bedroom
Birch Cottage single bedroom (actually a double bed but with access from one side only)
Birch Cottage bathroom
Birch Cottage bathroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom
Birch Cottage family bedroom + en suite sink & wc
Birch Cottage garden
Birch Cottage garden
Birch Cottage kitchen
Birch Cottage and Beech Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sachinkap...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous cottage in a charming village”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in the Beech cottage with our family and our stay was simply perfect. Tastefully decorated and ideally located in the heart of a very charming village.
Lesley was a wonderful host and my communication with her was always prompt , very informative and helpful.
Upon our arrival, we found fresh milk in the fridge and some cookies for us, a very sweet gesture :)
We loved our stay there and would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you and your family to stay, and I am pleased you found the cottage to be perfection for you. Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review Ellen. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage to be well equipped and ideally situated to visit the area. Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Charlotte...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in a lovely little village ”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here in July, myself my husband, our two kids and a friend. It's meant to sleep 7 but in all honesty with all sharing one bathroom, this was about the right amount of people. There is an extra toilet on the top floor which was handy. On arrival found nice little touches like milk in the fridge, biscuits on tea tray plus all the little things you need like toilet rolls and hand soap, washing powder etc. Cottage is pretty and was nice and clean. For us the parking in the driveway was tight and a little difficult with our estate car but we managed. kitchen is pretty small but well stocked, and the washer dryer was handy. The village is lovely too although we didn't visit any of the pubs or Anything but we did do some walks. There is plenty of info in the cottage about the local area. Phone signal was non existent here but we managed to get WiFi to work, mostly only in the lounge. Beds were very comfortable and linen and towels were all provided. If looking to come to the peak District again with my family I would definitely consider staying here again it was good value for money and the owners kept in touch with regards to the booking and answered all my questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Charlotte, thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage nice and clean, with all the little extras supplied, the beds comfortable and the information I provided for you before your stay useful.
We do state that the cottage sleeps 6 + 1, in a king size room, a single room (which does have a double bed but with access from one side only) and the family room with a king size bed and a single bed. We also make it clear that there is only 1 bathroom with an ensuite basin and wc in the family room.
I agree the parking can be a bit tight if you have a large vehicle, but saying that most people seem to manage, and if you do have difficulty cars can be parked on the quiet adjacent road with no charges.
For people who are on O2 network there is a good mobile signal in the village, but for other networks I'm afraid that is the price we pay for living in the beautiful countryside. We do have wifi, which guests find to be efficient and reliable.
I hope I have answered your points fully, and it would be lovely to see you again. Lesley & Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisDMDM
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in tranquil village”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a marvelous break with 6 in Birch Cottage. Weather was gorgeous throughout, and the area one of the most beautiful we have been to in England. The cottage was very comfortable and clean. the owners welcoming and helpful, and we loved every minute of our holiday. The upstairs rooms are spacious, downstairs feels a bit smaller, but we had no shortage of space with a group of 6 (4 adults and 2 teenagers).

Hartington, the village, is an oasis of tranquility. We did night walks in the village, walked to Pilsbury, in Dovedale, and went up to Edale (the high Peak District) and the surrounding area one day. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area is absolutely beautiful
Liked least: Small detail, but the door of the front room (lounge) kept the light out from outside, would be nice if there was more light coming in, but may be impossible to change.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage comfortable, clean and suitable for your group. As you say it is a beautiful area, with a wide variety of attractions and walks close by.
Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a family break”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just come back from a lovely 4 days in the Peak District staying at Birch Cottage. The cottage had everything you could need, very clean and comfortable. The village was lovely & local pub do a fantastic Sunday lunch. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Victoria for your kind review.
I am pleased you found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. We do take pride in the standards we offer. As you say, Hartington is a lovely village and well situated to visit the Peak District area. Hopefully we may see you again at some stage. Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NellW1975
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place, wonderful cottage.”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Prompt responses to emails put my mind at rest even before we arrived. A warm, personal welcome awaited us with a complimentary bottle of prosecco and chocolates.
The cottage was impeccably clean and well kept, was well resourced, warm and comfortable.
I would have no hesitation in highly recommending Birch cottage to others.
A huge thank you to Lesley for making our Christmas stay such a success!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage clean, warm and comfortable. I always try to add the personal touch for our guests to help to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in the Hartington - couldn't praise it more!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a fantastic cottage in Hartington with all the facilities you could want. The beds felt so luxurious and we loved the log fire in the living room - great to curl up with a dvd on the cold evenings. The owners were very hospitable and always kept me informed - we enjoyed our welcome tray in the sunshine on the lovely lawn in the front garden when we arrived.
Being situated in Hartington there were so many options for walking and bike rides, plus not very far from Ashbourne and Bakewell, we ran out of time to do everything we wanted. Whilst the pubs in Hartington were so full we couldn't get a table, they recommended The Royal Oak at Hurdlow (a brilliant, wide ranging menu) and The Staffordshire Knot at Sheen (small but an excellent Sunday lunch).
Would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything you needed.
Liked least: A bit small if you had it to it's full 7 people capacity.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you for you kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the cottage so comfortable and warm. As you say, Hartington is ideally situated for many walks, which can be started from the cottage door. I hope you found the walk information provided in the cottage useful to you. Hope to see you again in the future. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing