We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious place. Very well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Beech Cottage and Birch Cottages exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottages exterior
Hartington with Beech Cottage and Birch Cottages in the foreground Family bedroom on 2nd floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Beech Cottage and Birch Cottages exterior
Hartington with Beech Cottage and Birch Cottages in the foreground
Family bedroom on 2nd floor
Cottage exterior
Cottage garden with table and chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JF_Weyl
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Spacious place. Very well equipped”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed a week with 2 children. The house is in the centre of the village, so close to shops, pubs and restaurants.
The owners are very welcoming and helpful.
A few very nice walks start nearby, so ideally situated.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage convenient to the local amenities and countryside. Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you Amy for your lovely review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the cottage so comfortable. Hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage BUT....”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beech Cottage is a lovely holiday home, clean and well equipped. Good base for a family holiday but there is a big BUT... The church clock chimes every hour and is really loud in the single bedroom and room in the roof! It would have been really helpful to have known this before booking so we could have been better informed and made a judgement as to whether this was going to be OK especially as we have a 3 year old and 2 month old. Also, beware that the bell ringers practice on a Tuesday evening until about 9pm so forget trying to get your children to sleep before then as they also are very loud! Cannot fault the cottage itself or the helpfulness of the owners but the church noise was not great!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review and we note that you found the cottage lovely, clean and well equipped. We understand your comments regarding the church, but can honestly say that this has not been a problem for any of our guests over the last 20 years! The photos of the cottage clearly show the church in the background and the close proximity of the cottage. With regard to the bell ringing I am afraid this is all part and parcel of village life, guests usually find it lovely to listen to as part of a quaint essential English village. Practice does take place on Tuesday evening for one and a half hours, finishing promptly at 9.00 pm taking account for the residents of the village. Some guests have even taken their the children up to the church to watch and for them to have a go at ringing which they have thoroughly enjoyed. Our guests staying in our sister cottage next door to you at the same time, who also had small children, were not disturbed be the clock or the bell ringing. We can only apologise if you found it disturbing, but it is an issue that we have no control over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aledpc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week staying at Beech cottage. The log fire on arrival made the place cosy and welcoming. There was plenty of space to keep my bike, and the village was a great base for many cycling routes. The cottage had everything we wanted, and the kitchen had all the equipment needed to cook a meal.

Hartington itself is a nice village with a village store selling good beer, Cafe with tasty cakes, Cheese shop with a wonderful 'Snowdownia Black Bomber' cheddar and and the Devinshire Arms served delicious food. All of this was less than a minutes walk from the cottage. There are many short or long walks with great views around the village and it's close enough drive to all the sites in the Peaks.

All in all it was just the break we were after and we'd be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review.
I am glad you found the cottage cosy with the log fire, and well equipped for your stay.
Best wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scientifi...
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a holiday cottage should be”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely well equipped, even down to shower gel being provided. The cottage had everything that you could want in a cottage. The owners were very helpful and even decorated it for us in readiness for my friends birthday. The fire was lit when they arrived which was a very nice touch. The bedroom at the top of the house is huge and has one double and two single beds. On the floor below there is a double and a single bedroom.
Underfloor heating in the bathroom was much appreciated when getting up for a shower!!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped for your stay. We do try to put the little extras in the cottage, which people may forget to pack.
Would be lovely to welcome you back in the future. Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233dianec
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and lovely cottage”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cottage was lovely and in a really handy spot. We ate at the Charles Cotton Hotel both nights and had good meals, well priced.
We will be coming back next year hopefully the weather will be better and we will be able to explore more on foot.

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in 2015

Lesley & Fred
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DizzyLiz1...
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Beech Cottage with friends for a weekend of walking. The cottage was warm and cosy, well equipped and very clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Hartington, and found the cottage comfortable. We try to make it cosy for you to return to after a day out walking in Peak District.
Best wishes, Fred & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.