We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Loved it - we will be back soon!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meri Cottage

View from Market Place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Market Place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
40 reviews
View from Market Place
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hewitt666...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it - we will be back soon!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A great cottage in a great location.
Hartington is a lovely village with all the necessary ammenities and 2 great pubs.
With excellent wi-fi in the cottage our boys were in a 'home from home' and with Meri Cottage being comforatable, well appointed and warm, so were we!
We will be back very soon (have already booked for May).

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the cottage/location
Liked least: difficulty in using holidaylettings website to book.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you, Steven

We hope you enjoy your next visit just as much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Newbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and great cottage! We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Meri Cottage. The cottage is surprisingly spacious and very well equipped. It's a warm house with comfortable beds and is very much in the centre of the village. It's a great base because although Hartington is a small village it has everything you'd need. There's two pubs to eat at, a tea room, well equipped village shop and a nice little cheese shop. We'd planned to do day trips to Buxton and Bakewell but spent all 4 days of our stay in and around Hartington. In truth, I think we were too comfortable in the cottage! We just didn't want to leave.
I'd recommend it to everyone.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Meri Cottage and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
si_bush
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“character and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed 3 nights over a long weekend with our two year old along with friends who had their 10 and 8 year old children. The place was clean, had good kitchen facilities with plenty of equipment. Location couldn't have been better. The shower box is a bit small, that would be the only thing I could fault.

Harrington is a beautiful place to stay and meri cottage is the ideal accommodation.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you. Harrington is indeed a beautiful place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyT444
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Meri cottage is delightful, it looks small from the outside but inside there is plenty of space particularly in the bathroom, lounge and two double bedrooms. We managed to fit in 6 adults and two lively toddlers without difficulty. It's location is ideal for walking and cycling and the village itself has some lovely places to eat and drink. We also enjoyed visiting the local sweet shop and feeding the ducks in the pond. The cottage itself is well stocked with bedding, towels and everything you could need in the kitchen. The secluded garden off one of the bedrooms is a definite bonus and we enjoyed wine and sunshine there. Will definitely be returning!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you. Do come back for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peaceful location, but close to all amenities.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The combination of cottage charm with modern convenience
Liked least: Not brilliant for public transport
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
Thanks Mel. We hope to see you at the cottage again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kira B
1 review
“Meri cottage in Hartingdon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

It Was a wonderful experience. The village was so peaceful and pleasant. So glad we went. lovely size rooms and private balcony and garden, couldn't of asked for anything better x

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
Thank you, Kira. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing