We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place has it all. The Hall has antiquity and a superb rural setting. It has excellent staff who are cheerful and so helpfully friendly. The chef is brilliant as evidenced by his creations - don't miss the curry nights!

We stayed (26th March 2014 3 nights) in The Roost and will again as often as possible. It's an ideal base for exploration of Derbyshire and Staffs, or just walking the hills and lanes.

The bar stocks some excellent real ales at a price too good to miss. We sat in the tranquil gardens with a beer each and just soaked up the whole history and serenity of the Hall - not to mention the views.

This really is a hotel par excellence and at prices it's rude not to. We joined YHA this time (had done Ilam Hall last September) and we saved £18 off the £25 per annum subscription, by member discount!

Only downside - check before you book that there are no large parties of children stopping. They were VERY noisy and detracted from the tranquillity. Otherwise perfect.

Room Tip: The Roost gives self contained flat-like accommodation on three levels. Ground floor with well equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldfarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough and beaming review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had an impromptu visit to Derbyshire and decided to stay at Hartington Hall Youth Hostel, and we were definitely not disappointed. The first thing that struck us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the very hard working staff. Our room was clean, quiet and cosy (not in a cramped way). The youth hostel is surrounded by beautiful walks and there is a lovely local pub down in the village, only 5 minutes walk from the youth hostel. The pub was good but the alcohol available in the youth hostel was a much better price, there was a pint for under £2! The only downsize of this hostel is that for a couple you could get a better deal in a similar location.

Room Tip: For couples there is a very interesting room, I think it was Bonnie Prince Charlies room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our price structure (especially for double rooms) can fluctuate heavily througout the year depending on availability so if you are considering visiting the area again, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are new to Youth Hostels and thought we would try a night in a local one for starters. We were very impressed. The staff were so friendly and welcoming we would return just to see them. The setting is stunning and very grand. The food was excellent quality, plentiful portions and at an unbelievable price. In the daytime there was plenty of outdoor seating and in the evening there was a real fire to snuggle up to. Oh and piggies, goats, bunnies and ducks in the farmyard ssoooh cute. Our room was toastie warm with a lovely hot shower, comfy beds and spotlessly clean. We couldn't fault our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

I am so glad that you chose to try YHA and that Hartington Hall was such a wonderful experience for you! All of the staff, Pepper and Baby Boo (the piggies) are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

what a fantastic place with immense value. A great village and great part of the peak. We were in room 18 which was a dorm on the 2nd floor, it was clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was superb, and as usual with all YHA, the staff were welcoming and accommodating. I'd like to bring the family back here as it seems to cater for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We hope to see you and your family's return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights, being hostel regulars and thought we'd try somewhere a little difference and grander! The setting and atmosphere is impressive and it's wonderful that this property is operating as a hostel. We were allocated Bonnie Prince Charlie private room and expected en suite but the room only had a sink and the smallest shower imaginable in the cupboard which was really too uncomfortable to use so we opted for the dorm showers upstairs. It was however a bargain price. The room was very atmospheric, even romantic with a very comfortable high bed and very cosy. However we found it too small and repressive as it was a dark wood framed room and felt like being inside a coffin. After two nights in this room we were glad to leave. The hostel itself is very nice, lovely grounds, games room and the young staff are just fantastic. We had banked on WIFI to plan our time but it was only available in one spot, standing in the games room. We found it comical to pay a deposit of £14 to hire two towels! We opted for an evening meal, having read the reviews on here but although satisfactory, we found the food to be bland and not worth eating in for. Breakfast was very good although spoilt by the unnecessary bright lights in the restaurant on a beautiful day. The staff are really great and gave us a selection of walks and maps and we highly recommend the 3-Dales Walk which took us a very leisurely 8 hours!. The hostel is located just above the village of Hartington so you can enjoy the local pub, the Devonshire Arms which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid Bonnie Prince Charlie room, too small and claustrophobic, although romantic and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I am so sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room. Due to the nature of the building every room here at Hartington Hall is different, some more spacious than others, some en-suite etc. The best way to ensure you get a room suitable for your needs is to call us directly and discuss the configuration of the rooms we have available. We do have on site Wi-Fi however due to the thickness of the walls access is limited to 2 or 3 communal rooms. The towel deposit is to ensure a full return rate and you should have received a £10 refund on returning them. We hope that you get the chance to visit the area again and will consider us as your base.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely room, food was very good and staff were excellent. I think there is a problem with the heating system, as the radiator in our room wasn't working and in the public rooms the fires were not on. We were given an electric fire so we're not cold.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the problems with heating during that time. These have now been resolved so I hope that this did not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hi,

Tameside ramblers have just spent an excellent weekend at Hartington hall. What a lovely old house. The grounds and buildings are beautiful, and the facilities are very good. Warm rooms with roaring real fires and comfy settees,the place is spotlessly clean and the staff work hard.The food is excellent and the menu is as good as a good pub 3 course menu, if not better. there is also a good bar serving anything you desire at normal prices.. The staff are happy and pleasant. we stayed in dorms and the coach house which were excellent value for money and comfortable. A fabulous weekend in a beautiful part of the world. Thank you to all the group and the staff for making it so succesful on our first weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky_bourne, Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so glad that your group enjoyed their stay with us and we hope that you will consider us as a base for future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
250 reviews
14.2 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
8.8 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#4 of 20 in Buxton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Hartington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hartington Hall

Address: Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hartington
Price Range: £13 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Hartington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log fires, oak panelling and adventure playground - all make this 17th century manor house perfect for weekend breaks in Derbyshire. Did you know that Bonnie Prince Charlie even slept here? The hostel is in a lovely, unspoilt area - great for activity breaks, walking holidays and cycling holidays. Use this great accommodation as a base to explore Alton Towers and Chatsworth House nearby. If you're looking at wedding venues in Derbyshire, you can get married at YHA Hartington Hall, have the hall as a magnificent backdrop to your photos, and then stay in our self-contained suite 'The Roost'. Don't miss the pets area and games room - great for family fun. Good home-cooked meals are available in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Hartington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartington Hall Hotel Hartington
YHA Hartington Hall Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing