We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two nice autumn days”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“two nice autumn days”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

when we it was a bit dull but nice the hotel was welcoming and clean and cosy the first day we went on a lovely walk the scenery was most enjoyable the next day we spent in bakewell we had a very lovely day returning to the hotel were we had a very nice meal the staff were most helpful we really enjoyed it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    227
    46
    20
    28
See reviews for
116
526
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Bought a Groupon deal for one night so enjoyed unbelievable value for a good en-suite room and a superb evening meal, the quality of which left nothing to be desired. The breakfast was full and properly made, too. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The location of the Inn is superb for exploring the beautiful Manifold Valley.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to bring your dog- they do have dog-friendly rooms but understandably these c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitinskyAnglichanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having just returned home from a brief but very enjoyable stay at the Manifold, I can't fully praise this delightful Inn enough.
We had problems getting there due to an accident (not ours!) on the motorway but the staff couldn't do enough to welcome us even though we were hours late in arriving - anyone who can soothe me at my grumpiest best deserves a medal!
Our accommodation was warm, clean and comfortable on the ground floor of a converted stable block and even had the soothing trickle of a little stream running just feet away from the back of the building.
The food was wonderful and freshly prepared no matter what time you ate with generous servings and I want to give a special mention for the young chap's delicious Banoffee Sundae (THANK YOU!)
With a nice mix of friendly locals, guests and helpful staff, the after dinner drinks in the bar were the perfect way to end the day.
Beautiful surroundings, comfort and great hospitality - I definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We booked in for a one night stay and I am afraid that my review isnt going to be as positive as some. First issue was an email I sent checking a couple of details - response was to a Michael - not sure who he is! Minor detail but set the scene for a place that needs to get the minor detail right. Yes its in a stunning location and the building is impressive but needs a lot of TLC - scuffed paintwork, damp, wallpaper holding the plaster on the stairwell and the stair carpet was almost black. We were in room 6 and it was filthy - the bedside table was coated in dust and I was able to draw in the grime on the mirror with my finger. More disturbing was a dirty outside of the toilet bowl and some lovely hairs on the shower tray. Add a rogue peanut and a couple of wrappers under the dressing table and I think the cleaning needs looking at. We ate there in the evening and the food was good but the service was slow - there was one girl on the bar which at one point had a queue of about 9 people - one drink we ordered from the table never materialised. Like a previous reviewer I was woken at 12.40am by loud male voices leaving the premises I assume after a bit of a lock-in. Breakfast was substantial but again its in the detail - no cereal spoon, dirty salt pot, empty orange juice jug. The cleaner tried to gain entry to our room before 11am and when we didnt respond was about to walk in until I shouted from the bathroom! Surely if the key is still with the guest the room is still occupied!!!! On leaving the member of staff advised in front of another guest 'oh your deposit couldnt be taken as your card was declined'. As our booking notice said we wouldnt pay a deposit as booked withing 24hrs I settled the bill in full. With the same card. I did comment on the cleanliness of the room and the girl was apologetic. It's a shame that the small detail isnt taken care of but I guess reading the managers responses they dont need to as they are the busiest and best Inn around. Good management should be able to respond to criticism in a non- defensive manner and no establishment gets it right all the time. It would be a shame if the Manifold Inn did become a victim of it's own success by being complacent and a tad arrogant.

Room Tip: Do not go for a room in the Inn - 6 & 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jorainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manifoldA1, Owner at The Manifold Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We agree that a portion of carpet needs replacing on the stairs and the wallpaper adjacent to the stairs has encountered much traffic over the last 12 months. These are renewed in the quieter winter months on an annual basis. Room 6 & 7 are the cheapest rooms because they are due a refurb and are situated over the bar area so noise can sometimes become an issue.
When we are wrong we are fully prepared to admit it. However, when we feel that reviews are unfair we will defend ourselves rigorously - which can hardly be labelled as arrogant.
On this occasion we agree with your comments and would invite you to return after our annual refurb when we will gladly offer you a free meal or room discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Manifold for 2 nights B&B and loved it! The staff were very friendly, accommodation very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The food was also top notch. The hotel is in a very beautiful village and breath taking countryside. I would not hesitate to visit again and have already recommended it to friends !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We finished our ten day uk holiday with two nights here and even ended up eating here both nights as the food was so good. We had two rooms for our family, and loved our quirky, sloping floor suite. I saw the paint chips and cobwebs, but didn't mind as all the important things were sparkling. What do you expect in such an old building? The breakfast was amazing- agree with all previous comments, fresh, to order, huge choice, piping hot etc. dinners were excellent, tasty gravy, big choice, etc. loved it all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juze95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Hi everyone, well having read other reviews on this hotel, some very good, some not so good, I feel we should put forward our honest comments on the Manifold Inn. There is no getting away from the breathtaking scenery that surrounds this hotel. We booked the Manifold via a Groupon deal, we rang to make our booking which was not straightforward on our part as we required 3 rooms for one night and 4 rooms for the second night, also requiring a ground floor room. The management were extremely helpful and were able to accommodate our needs.
Upon our arrival there was a little confusion but no problem at all and we were soon settling in to our accommodation. The rooms offered all we could need (apart from internet which was not available for about a 2 mile radius but which was available free of charge in the hotel area).
We were asked if we would like to book a table for the evening but as we were booked to eat there the following evening we decided to check out the other hostelries in the area. We ate at a hotel in the centre of the village which was full of charm and character but the food left a little to be desired, and we wished that we had stayed put and eaten at the Manifold.
Our party of 6 (soon to be 8) sat in the conservatory for breakfast which was excellent, individually cooked to our liking, (not self service like most other hotels that we have stayed in)
As our group ranged from ages 20's to 80's the breakfast order was not straightforward, we had full english including black pudding! and every egg imaginable, boiled fried poached scrambled etc. Breakfast was served on piping hot plates and very well presented with fresh tomatoes, mushrooms etc and the usual cereal fruit juice toast jams and good quality tea and individual cafetiere coffee.
A great day out was had by all visiting Buxton and Bakewell both towns which are well worth a visit and easily accessible from the hotel. We returned in time for our evening meal which was booked for 7.00pm. 2 of our party, the twins who were 25 that day had not arrived so we were unable to take up our reservation on time, the staff had set a table for 8 people and decorated it for us for the birthday celebrations 25, 25, and 82. They were extremely busy and i think fully booked. The rest of our party eventually got to the hotel at 9.00pm. The staff were very understanding and brought us a delicious selection of olives, salad leaves, olive bread, hummus, oil/vinegar dips etc to keep us going. The food was excellent well prepared and presented. They could not do enough to make our stay most enjoyable, including preparing and serving a large birthday cake that we had provided ourselves, and all the female staff singing Happy Birthday. yes the place needs the attention of a handyman just to attend to those little jobs here and there but i am sure they will get round to in sooner rather than later, but don't let that put you off, give them a try, you won't be disappointed if you think about what you have paid, then comment accordingly. We will be back. Thanks to all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
853 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Property: The Manifold Inn
Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing