We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Weekend Away”
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here on a two night KGB deal.
The staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival. We were shown to our room (number 9) which was in a converted building behind the pub.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a well stocked hospitality tray. The bathroom had a walk in shower although the shower was a bit feeble at times.
A 2 course meal was included in the deal which we had on the first night. There was a good choice and the option of paying a supplement for steaks etc. We chose creamy garlic mushrooms and bread & olives selection as our starters. Both were excellent quality and very tasty. For main courses we chose Hartington Chicken and Ribeye Steak (steak was £5 extra to pay). Again, perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The homemade chips are to die for!
Breakfast was served between 8 & 10am in the conservatory at the back of the pub. The usual juice, cereals, fruit & yogurt to choose from as well as cooked food. The full english was spot on & served with toast.
We opted to eat there again on our second night and was not disappointed.
The start of the Manifold Trail is a few minutes walk from the Manifold Inn and its a fairly level surface for walking & cycling.
The village of Hartington is a short drive away and has a few shops and a couple of pubs as well as the Hartington Cheese Shop.
In the other direction, Warslow is a few minutes drive away and the pub there also serves food.

We would recommend this place for a quiet get away with friendly staff and excellent food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break, we went on the KGB deal and it was great value for money, We stayed in room 6 in the inn, there was a little noise from the kitchen area but nothing to worry about, The room itself was clean and cosy. Food was included in the deal on the 1st night, it was so good we were happy to eat there again on our 2nd night. The chips are to die for and portion sizes were generous.

Breakfast was also good, with choices of cooked breakfast's, yoghurts, fruit and cereals.

We were welcomed upon arrival and all the staff were extremely pleasant and polite throughout our stay.

We would definitely return, its an ideal base to explore the Peak District.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and had a really nice time. The room was clean and well presented, and the towels were huge. The staff were friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfast each morning was delicious and freshly cooked to order with a good choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurt to choose from as well. We ate in both nights, the first in the restaurant as the bar was full, and the quality and quantity of the food was first rate. There were plenty of options on the menu, the spicy beef stew and the pork burger are highly recommended, the burger comes with home made chips that are very good. It was an ideal base for walking along the nearby Manifold Trail and also only a short walk into Hartington village with it's tea room and cheese shop. If you want to leave the car after you've parked up and unpacked it's located on the 442 bus route, which stops outside, and runs between Ashbourne and Buxton if you fancy a trip a little further afield. The Manifold is undergoing a refurbishment but this did not affect our stay as the work seemed to be carried out during office hours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of Feb and really enjoyed our stay. We didn't eat in the pub as had booked a meal at a nearby restaurant but the well stocked and ample breakfast was great so imagine that lunches/evening meals are lovely too. We stayed in room 9 which is on the ground floor and has a small brook running outside the window - very picturesque! Would definitely stay again and try the pub food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennycrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked a KGB deal, two nights with a two course meal for £79 and were not disappointed.

As stated in other reviews the premises is slightly isolated but this was to our liking, there are places to walk nearby and there are nice views from the building. The Inn is also a handy base for exploring other areas of the Peak District.

On arrival we had a pleasant greeting and were actually shown to our room, unlike other places who point you in the general direction and leave you to get on with it, we thought this was a nice touch.
Due to a bit of building work going on we had been upgraded to a suite (room 10) which we very much appreciated.
The room itself was very big, clean, well appointed and nicely decorated and warmed up very quickly. A well stocked hospitality tray, kettle, big soft towels, toiletries and dressing gowns were provided in the room.
The bathroom was large spotlessly clean and had a bath with a shower over it.

The bar area was quaint and nicely decorated and the restaurant area was equally well appointed. Despite it being February the whole premises was nice and warm.

We had our pre paid meal on the first night and had a good choice from the menu provided for the deal. The food was excellent and the portions were generous...no room for dessert!!

Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, a full English is provided as are other combinations to suit your fancy. Cereals, fruit and fruit juices are also provided. The quality of the breakfast ingredients were excellent and my full english was cooked to perfection...compliments to the chef!

We ate in the bar on our second night, again the food was top class and the portions were extremely generous. The menu was varied and offered a large choice of dishes. The prices are extremely reasonable as well.

The waiting staff at breakfast and evening were excellent, very efficient and pleasant, although they were busy they took time to chat as they went about their duties and are a credit to the premises and management alike.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Manifold Inn without hesitation and would like to return, maybe in the summer when we could take advantage of the outside seating area.

Room Tip: Pick any room..they are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a couple of peaceful nights away with a friend to view the Peak District and this place was just the ticket! Our room (no.8) was clean, bright and comfortable with all the amenities we needed - good hot shower, quality linen and towels, tv, tea & coffee making facilities. The room was exceptionally warm with the added benefit of a thermostat on the radiator to control the temperature. Staff were friendly and obliging serving up nicely presented tasty food.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would sincerely recommend this hotel.
ps. When sight seeing don't over look the village of Hartington a mile or so up the road - very pleasant.

Room Tip: Our bedroom windows opened out on to a running brook - not a problem to us (we thought it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

In the middle of nowhere but what a lovely surprise. Wet and windy it was but our reception was made wonderful by the people there. We were made to feel at home and the log fire was very welcoming. Difficulty with our rooms but it was no problem to change, our room was Cody and well decorated in fact the whole place was having a complete makeover. The food was exceptional again well presented and lovely and hot and to top it all the beer selection was heaven. We would certainly go back even if it was again wet and windy, recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
924 reviews
2.8 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
463 reviews
14.8 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#6 of 160 in Peak District National Park
331 reviews
13.4 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range: £82 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing