We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Manifold Inn”
Review of The Manifold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manifold Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We booked a 2 night stay at the Manifold inn as a quiet weekend getaway, it provided the perfect base for walking and cycling in the local area, which was beautiful, helped by fantastic weather!
Booking over the phone was easy and the lady taking the booking was friendly and helpful, advising us to book a table for dinner to avoid dissappointment.
On arrival, late on Friday evening, the bar and restaurant areas were clearly busy but the manager found time to check us in and show us to our room.
The room (no.3) which is situated upstairs in a seperate block behind the pub, was clean and well decorated with a very comfortable double bed. Clean sheets and towels were provided, good tea and coffee making facilities and a small wall mounted TV. It was quiet and relaxing and we slept very well. Plenty of hot water for showers in the morning and evening.
Service in the bar area took some time as it was very busy but all staff were friendly.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and was tasty but quite greasy! Cerial, juice, toast, tea and coffee also provided, along with full English. We asked for scrambled eggs and crispy bacon the following morning which was delicious, however brown bread would have been nice.
The manager clearly worked very hard, he was there to serve breakfast and dinner, always friendly and helpful, and is an asset to the pub.
The dining room in the restaurant was beautifully decorated and well furnished, providing a tranquil and romantic setting for dinner, which was tasty traditional food. The steak and ale pie was delicious, and generous portions! The perfect end to a long day of walking.
This place was a real find, old country pub with modern accommodation, in a beautiful setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would reccommend staying here, we will definately be back, Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2008

Went to stay at The Manifold as my son was doing his D of E in the area. Booked a couple of days ahead with no problems. On arrival we booked our evening meal. One hour after our booking time and we still had no food the whole place seemed to be understaffed and this led to alot of complaints from other customers. The pub was incredibly busy but no one seemed to want to take control or explain to customers about the delay. When the food arrived it was average at best.
We stayed in the disabled room (we are not disabled) the furnishings etc were of a very high standard. However there was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom which remained for our stay (drains were being rodded as we left) there was no where to leave wet towels to dry , no plug in the wash basin and the shaving mirror would have been useless if you had been iin a wheelchair as it was far too high.
Breakfast was good but the faces we saw at breakfast were all those people who had been complaining the night before it seemed as though if you were a guest you were among the last to get served with food at night.
Unfortunately would not stay there again the food was also a little expensive. Lots of inns in nearby Hartingdon worth a try.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank busymumCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We were a bit nervous about staying at the Manifold Inn following some reviews on the internet. On arrival, we realised our worries were unfounded. Our room was newly refurbished as was the restaurant. Breakfast is usually at 9am, although the room is open from 8.45 for cereals etc and we were given the option of eating earlier. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, where the food was very good but the service was slow, however the manager was apologetic, explained the reason for the delay and offered us some recompense. The location is excellent for walking.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We turned up without booking while researching family links in the area. Young new manager who had only been there for ten weeks gave us a choice of recently refurbished rooms, traditional or modern, both with what appeared to be designer interiors. Good lighting, comfy bed.,thick curtains and towels, generous tea tray and a soothing stream behind the converted blacksmiths.
We ate in the bar in the evening and had an excellent choice from lunch or dinner menu and food was delicious, piping hot and freshly cooked and served with tact and smiles.
Breakfast in the conservatory was equally fresh and generous and the owner could not have been more helpful.I feel that an option to eat from 8.30am rather than 9am would be more suitable.The other reviews should now be removed from the Manifold Inn as the new owner has totally upgraded it. We would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manifoldA1, NEW OWNER at The Manifold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2008

We are the proud new owners of The Manifold Inn after purchasing the business back in Aug 07.

It was soon very obvious to us that there were several issues with the 'old' Manifold (as evidenced by the poor reviews). To this end, the old management team were removed and replaced by a young team of presentable, polite and enthusiatic proffessionals.

We then invested heavily in the urgent upgrades of the 10 rooms with no expense spared.

The refurb is now complete and the rooms are a very high standard with new bathroom suites throughout.

I am saddened when I read the reviews of the 'old' Manifold and it is unfortunate that I have inherited the documented errors of the past owners.

These obviously overshadow the hard work and huge changes that have taken place since we took over.

To this end I have replied personally to all the unhappy customers in the review panel on this site and would invite anybody to revisit the 'new' Manifold to witness the changes and enjoy the atmosphere of a genuinely special location.

Kind regards

Paul Rogers
New Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

The stay started badly when on entering the Manifold Inn in Hulme End, the girl on reception (the only person in the building), did not look up from her papers until we had walked through the front door and across the lounge right in front of her and then stood still in front of her at the desk for some moments, when she did look up she offered no welcome but sternly completed the formalities. Guidance to our room was limited to a short walk to the back door of the Inn where she pointed to an outhouse round the corner across the yard thrust the key to room 3 in our hands then shut the door after us and returned to her papers. No chance of an introduction to the room and its features, we later came to the conclusion she was too ashamed to show customers around.

The entrance to the ex-stable block with two rooms upstairs and two rooms downstairs assaulted the nose with powerful cheap air freshener smells from holders (some old and empty) dotted around the hallway and room.

On entering the room we immediately noted that the décor, fixtures and fittings were in no way similar to the bedroom pictures featured on the Manifold Inn web site. The chipped mahogany stained furniture was dated and poor. The walls were cold and damp to the touch. The thermostatic central heating radiator had to be left on overnight but the sound of rushing water from the industrial strength circulation pump carried through the pipes and radiator sufficiently to make the room noisy and sleep difficult.

All the walls of the bathroom were covered in white tiles, the grout was dirty in most areas but was black to the point of ‘fluffiness’ for some inches out from around the window and around the shower cubicle and sink. There is no excuse for disgusting black grout.

The tiny, cheap corner plastic shower enclosure was fitted with a worn out Myra type shower valve. The hot and cold valves were seized inside the housing and using two hands to try to turn the water supply wheel on, had no effect on water flow. Repeated turning of the temperature ring eventually brought a limited flow of cold water, turning the temperature wheel to anything more than tepid stopped the flow entirely so a very slow cold shower resulted. Turning the shower off was even more difficult and involved several trips to the bathroom to force the water supply wheel a few more millimetres each time whilst the sleeve of my shirt got more soaked each time. But we had to find a way of stopping the water flow because the noise of the water on the plastic shower tray sounded like thunder when sat in the bedroom.

We noted fluff, body hair and nail clippings on the carpet behind the radiator pipes where they passed into the floor; you could measure the depth of it with a ruler. The rest of the carpet had not been recently hovered and where the revolving brushes of the Hoover could not reach did not get done it seemed.

When we lay on the low bed the rising smell from the carpets was no longer masked by the air fresheners. We were disgusted by the ‘damp dog’ smell rising from the carpets. The headboard of the bed squeaked badly but the whole frame of the bed seemed loose and ready to collapse. Any small adjustment of position during the night resulted in squeaks and bangs and woke us both up, and probably woke guests in other rooms. The cheap, thin-as-a-biscuit artificial duvet offered no warmth and the heavy bedspread (which had bobbled on its nylon lining) was too heavy to sleep with on top.

The breakfast was similarly disappointing with cheap sausages and mushrooms swimming (literally spoonfuls) of fat, he must have poured the pan onto the plate to have to get such a depth on the plates. The only positive thing I can say about our stay was that the sheets and towels ‘appeared’ clean.

Comments on other sites about the physical appearance of the Landlord I feel are low and unfair as he has no control of his genetics. However he should be able to overcome temperament and at least pretend to be polite and welcoming to paying guests. He made no attempt to do this and was brusque and rude and at no point the type of host that small English country inns are rightly famous for.


Though we had paid a deposit in advance, we should have walked out and found alternative accommodation and on writing this summary of our stay I now kick myself for not doing so. The room should not have been let in this condition let alone let at £60. I can say with some authority after 35 years experience of countless hotels and B&B’s across Britain and Europe that this was the poorest, dirtiest room it has ever been my misfortune to stay in and must be thankful that our stay was not topped off by a visit by bed-bugs; but perhaps a summer visitor might dispute our January entomology observations…

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midlandsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

We arrived after the 3pm deadline to check in and we had been looking forward to a nice modern room as it appears on the pubs website. Rooms are across from the pub in an annex. When we opened the door to our room it was disappointment at first sight. A cold room with very old fashioned furnishings and electric cables everywhere and a radio alarm clock flashing on and off. Bathroom was like a broom cupboard and the shower well...useless. It was a mere dribble when everyone took their shower the following morning, which poses a problem when everyone has to take their shower at the same time because breakfast is only served between 9.00 to 9.30 am.
The breakfast was awful too. I won't be coming back. This is what gives B & B's in the UK a bad name.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherlock_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitez les chambres 6 et 7 (cf commentaires)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tram_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
5.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
911 reviews
17.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
422 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manifold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manifold Inn

Address: Hulme End | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range: £84 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manifold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manifold Inn is a delightful 200 year old coaching inn and restaurant that offers warm hospitality and quality home cooked food for visitors to the beautiful White Peak. The mellow stone inn is positioned within its own grounds nestling on the banks of the Manifold River, opposite The Old Toll House which used to serve the turnpike and river ford. This beautiful listed building is positioned close to a number of popular walking and cycling routes, including the Manifold Trail, set amongst the famous Staffordshire Moorlands and Derbyshire Dales which offer some of England's most natural and unspoilt scenery. The Manifold Inn is the perfect place to use as a base for exploring the surrounding natural countryside of the White Peak area or to visit the local Market towns of Bakewell & Ashbourne or Spa towns of Buxton & Matlock and their surrounding attractions. Open all year round and all days most of the year we offer our guests a range of Ales, Larger, Cider, Wines and Soft Drinks. We serve a traditional English Breakfast to guests and in the Summer to Campers. A Lunch Menu is available and during the Summer a Snack Menu if you are just looking for a quick bite to eat. A full Dinner Menu and Wine List is available to be served in our Bar, Conservatory, Snug or Restaurant. We can cater for Dinner Party groups for around 40 guests. We offer 10 en-suite hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom holiday cottage to guests. We often have bookings from large family groups attending a birthday and wedding or walking and cycling groups who want to get to together and enjoy a weekend in the beautiful local area around the River Manifold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manifold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manifold Hotel Hartington
The Manifold Inn Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing