We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WONDERFUL!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
andre v
Lier, Belgium
1 review
“WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we stayed in the "Old Byre" cosy and spacious cottage for the last week of July 2015 and we enjoyed it very much!! The cottage provides you from everything you need and luxury up to the smallest details! The region is excellent for walking or bike-riding and many other activities and Mr and Mrs Snook are stand by by any time in order to help you with whatever you should need to make you holiday superb! Highly reccommendable !!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meowbeep
london
1 review
“Wonderful cottage away from it all.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a lovely relaxing weekend break with friends at the Coach House. The cottage was spotless and had everything we needed with the added bonus of scones on arrival. Liz and Chris were very welcoming and had some great recommendations. Wish we could have stayed longer! Ideal for anyone looking for a peaceful break away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent 5 days at the Haybarn and had a fantastic time. The owners are incredibly welcoming (my husband and kids wolfed down the freshly baked scones that were waiting for us upon arrival!) and are happy to pass on any information you need about the accommodation and the surrounding area. The property itself is very well equipped and decorated and was spotlessly clean. The owners had also provided plenty of games and toys for our two little ones to play with. The location of the property is ideal with plenty to see and do on the doorstep and further afield. Overall , the perfect trip . I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Swainsley farm to friends and colleagues and we're very tempted to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend were looking for a weekend break in the peak district to escape the stresses of work and to spend some quality time together. I could not have chosen a more perfect place to stay. The owners were friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We stayed in the old Byre and it was clear a lot of love, care and attention had gone into creating such beautiful cosey homes. There is pretty much everything you could need to cut off from the stresses of the world and to truly enjoy the serenity of the countryside. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph E
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the Haybarn as a family (children 32, 31 and 19) over Christmas and had an absolutely wonderful time. The cottage is even better (and bigger) than it looks in the pictures and was very tastefully decorated. Very spacious and comfortable and the scenery is breathtaking - great for long walks and mountain biking (32 year old son very content). The owners were very friendly and helpful - even rescuing us when we got trapped in the snow! Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstycul...
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed in the old brye for 3 nights and we felt right at home. Lovely views, great value for money and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
The thing that amazed us was this place had everything you need (litrally everything you would ever need and more) we could not rate this place any higher.
Will definitely be back.

kirsty and bradley from mans/cornwall

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurgen V
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time that we've visited Swainsley farm and just like the first time, it was absolutely amazing. Since three years ago, a number of rooms have been redone and very beautiful. We went with two couples and four kids in total. The coach house has a nice big living room, perfect for kids to play. The kitchen is completely kitted out so you can prepare anything you could imagine wanting to cook. The bedrooms are cosy; our favorite is the mezzanine above the living room.

The whole neighborhood around Swainsley farm is gorgeous; we've gone for walk with the kids as well as some great jogging up and down the hills.

The owners of Swainsley farm are exceptionally nice people, I'm hoping we can find some time to go back as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing