We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Top Notch Cottage in a Magical Valley”
other travellers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tonk66
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Top Notch Cottage in a Magical Valley”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As always my wife found this cottage online and she has a knack of finding somewhere special. The cottage was immaculately presented with all the mod cons, and the table of food that greeted us was just fabulous and we had our own private little paddock, although our kids are a little bit too big to play out anymore!! The setting is beautiful, and whilst we have been to the Peak District a few times this was the fist time we had discovered the magnificent Manifold Valley. We planned to walk and cycle for the week and this setting provided us with the opportunity to do both, with the Manifold Trail just perfect for our level of cycling ability. The local pubs offer a varying standard of food from good to excellent (The George at Alstonefield was our personal favourite). Although there are 3 cottages they are set apart cleverly so each has its own private setting, just perfect for an evening beer sat outside. We will be returning next time we choose the Peak District as our destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb quality - outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in October 2015. On arrival, the owners met us and settled us quickly and unobtrusively. After that, nothing was any trouble at all, including hiring quality bikes. The accommodation is absolutely 5 star - very comfortable, warm and cosy with all mod cons. Delightful scenery and walking right on the doorstep. Peaceful, tranquil - just fantastic.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Immaculate cottage, stunning location and a very warm welcome.”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Old Byre in late October. The cottage was perfect for us, fully equipped, very neat and clean with an awesome view of the valley from the secluded back patio area. The generous welcome tray was such a lovely treat and we were given secure storage in the outbuilding for our tandem, where other bikes were kept for guests' use.
The surrounding countryside, although hilly for cycling, was pretty spectacular and the walks were equally memorable. We made use of a local pub once but, because the cottage was so comfortable, we were happy to cook and eat in. A super week, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew O
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed for 7nights in The Old Byre. Welcome pack when we arrived and a very clean cottage to base our week in the Peak District. The owners pre warned us that they were having some building work done outside the cottage during our stay which was thoughtful and saved any surprises when we arrived. No phone signal-good for some bad for others. Good walking with views straight from the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lmc1288
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful scenic getaway”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Haybarn this September and would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone looking for a break in the Peak District. Our hosts Chris & Liz were kind and welcoming, the cottage was very well equipped and in an ideal location for exploring the Peaks. Chris and Liz suggested numerous excellent walks, shops and pubs/locations to visit which was very handy! Overall a lovely stay in a great cottage with wonderful views and a great location for a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman G
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

High quality, friendly welcome and welcome pack was a really lovely touch. My wife and I stayed in the "Old Byre" Very peaceful and able to do many different walks from the cottage. The cottage is very well equipped and nothing else is needed. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We would highly recommend this cottage, fantastic views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Well Kept Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself, wife and daughter stayed in The Hay Barn at Swainsley Farm in July and loved every minute of our stay.

The cottage was excellent, equipped with everything you would require and more, spotlessly clean and in a stunningly beautiful and peaceful area.

Owning a holiday business ourselves, we always pay particular attention to cleanliness etc.
The cottage was spotless.

A great area to visit - we will certainly be back!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing