We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous cottage in the peak disrict”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

johnmcrae...
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous cottage in the peak disrict”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

excellect cottage with fabulous views of the manifold valley.the welcome tea tray with bread cheese and sones a lovely touch aswell as fresh flowers.chris and liz have thought of everything you need for your stay and helpful with local knowledge and lots of useful information in the cottage.numerous pubs with good food and plenty of walks and things to see and do .will certainly come back.lovely comfy bed .use of outdoor furnature in lovely courtyard area with lots of plants in pots giving lots of colour.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week in a beautiful property”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in the Haybarn in early April and had a fantastic week. Chris and Liz were very welcoming (they've thought of everything and the welcome basket of foods even though we booked last minute was very welcome), and very helpful thoughout the week.
The area is beautiful. A quieter, but stunning, part of the Peak District but still easy to get to Matlock or Buxton in the car if you want to.
The other advantage of where they are is as well as the hills there are short walks both ways from the property that are pretty flat. Great for small children!
Overall a fantastic week in a beautiful property.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbc722014
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Haybarn, a very thoughtful and tasteful conversion.
The location is idyllic, from the moss-covered dry stone walls to the wonderful view from the cottage and large, amply furnished outside seating area. Listen to the birdsong and watch the swallows swooping over the fields.
We couldn't find anything to fault here, and even if we had not been lucky enough to have the excellent weather during our stay we would still say PERFECT.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Old Byre Review May 2016”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This one bedroom cottage is one of three others at Swainsley Farm. We stayed there for a week and had a fantastic time. The standard of the cottage is extremely high and equipped with everything you can think of and more. The views from the cottage are outstanding including the most amazing view from the bed! The owners Chris and Liz couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted with delicious local cheeses, bread and scones on arrival which was a lovely and welcoming touch. We will definitely be back in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a lovely comfortable property, spacious, clean, well designed. Chris and Liz have thought of everything one might need whilst self catering on holiday. The welcome basket contained good local bread and cheese, and scones for tea on arrival. The property has wonderful views over the Manifold valley, and there are many walks straight from the door. The local pubs we visited were very friendly and the food was good too; especially at the George in Alstonefield. The scenery of the Peak District is stunning, and especially in Spring, when there are daffodils and lambs everywhere. A wonderful week's holiday!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonk66
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Top Notch Cottage in a Magical Valley”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As always my wife found this cottage online and she has a knack of finding somewhere special. The cottage was immaculately presented with all the mod cons, and the table of food that greeted us was just fabulous and we had our own private little paddock, although our kids are a little bit too big to play out anymore!! The setting is beautiful, and whilst we have been to the Peak District a few times this was the fist time we had discovered the magnificent Manifold Valley. We planned to walk and cycle for the week and this setting provided us with the opportunity to do both, with the Manifold Trail just perfect for our level of cycling ability. The local pubs offer a varying standard of food from good to excellent (The George at Alstonefield was our personal favourite). Although there are 3 cottages they are set apart cleverly so each has its own private setting, just perfect for an evening beer sat outside. We will be returning next time we choose the Peak District as our destination.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb quality - outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in October 2015. On arrival, the owners met us and settled us quickly and unobtrusively. After that, nothing was any trouble at all, including hiring quality bikes. The accommodation is absolutely 5 star - very comfortable, warm and cosy with all mod cons. Delightful scenery and walking right on the doorstep. Peaceful, tranquil - just fantastic.

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.