We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional accommodation with outstanding views”
other travellers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodation with outstanding views”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our third stay in this property, which has stunning views across the Manifold Valley.
We couldn't wait to return here for a three night Bank Holiday break ( wish it had been longer! ) in this property, which is furnished to a high standard and has a homely feel. Fruit scones and a tea tray were waiting for us in the kitchen on our arrival.
Comfy lounge with big leather sofas for relaxing and a well-equipped kitchen if you want to prepare your own food.
Outside is a beautifully-kept gravelly courtyard accessed by a door from the kitchen, having tables and chairs to sit and enjoy the view on a warm day. There are lots of colourful plant containers and solar lanterns on the tables at night for that extra bit of magic!
The location is ideal for walking and cycling in the picturesque Manifold Valley, or taking a quick drive round to the T-Junction Tearooms at Hulme End, a favourite spot of ours which has a Jazz Trio playing on the last Saturday of the month during the summer. Lots of places of interest a short drive away.
The owners Liz and Chris are always on hand if you need them and ensure that your stay is enjoyable. This property provides five star accommodation whilst retaining a homely atmosphere which makes you want to return for another stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith W
Hythe, Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Byre”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

One the best holidays we've had. Beautiful cottage in a beautiful position with views. We enjoyed the local villages and many walks in the area. We enjoyed it so much we booked next year as soon as we got back! Highly recommend this property for two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagulls4...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage.....”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in the Old Byre which is in a group on 3 cottages adjacent to the owners house. Swainsley Farm are beautifully converted stone barns set in a stunning location. The cottages are in a very secluded area with many walks and the manifold trail on your doorstep. The owners Chris and Liz were very helpful but also respected the privacy of guests. Each cottage is very private and the outside dining areas are well designed with beautiful views. The Old Byre is a one bedroom cottage with an open planned ground floor. The lounge area looks as though it's been recently decorated as the website photo is out of date. It now has a biomass stove within a traditional fireplace and a modern grey leather sofa and chair. The cottage has everything you need and the bedroom has the postcard view. We would definitely recommend this cottage to a couple who would like to get away into the middle of the beautiful Peak District and to relax in a traditional stone cottage. We had a lovely stay and will hopefully be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareHH
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, perfect location”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

These cottages were extremely comfortable and well presented and the views were incomparably beautiful. There are plenty of walks in the area, many of which are possible with a buggy and small children in tow. We had some delicious meals outside and it was a wonderful place to spend time with friends. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Super location”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a wonderful week we had in the Old Byre - stunning views from our very well appointed cottage which provided everything you could need. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and the foodie basket awaiting us on arrival was a lovely touch. Walking trails on our doorstep, interesting places to visit and plenty of good food pubs nearby - what more could you want!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class accommodation and location”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Surpassed our expectations. The Haybarn was first class in every way. Very comfortable, well equipped, lovely location, views fantastic and Chris and Liz were marvellous hosts. We look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markh3217...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for seven nights at the Haybarn in May 2017. We cannot recommend this destination highly enough. The cottage was clean, well looked after and contained all the facilities you would need for your holiday. The layout of the Haybarn makes it ideal for families with young children. In terms of location, this is an ideal base from which to explore the Peak District – remote enough to feel like you can relax in tranquil surroundings but close enough to some of the towns (like Bakewell and Ashbourne) for days out. Overall, this was a fantastic cottage stay – we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and we felt well rested after our break.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing