We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in a glorious setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Swainsley Farm nestling in the Manifold Valley.
Coach House lounge- cosy and warm
Haybarn,  everything you would need in a kitchen and more.
Come and celebrate!
Old Byre, cosy and warm.
Make it a very special stay!
Relax and unwind in the Haybarn.
Coach House, large well equipped kitchen with American style fridge freezer.
Haybarn - king-sized double bed
Old Byre bathroom.
Coach House- gallery bedroom
Enjoy the outdoors.
View from the Haybarn
Welcome to Swainsley Farm.
Chatsworth House a short drive away- always worth the trip.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
julia123o...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage in a glorious setting”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful week in the Haybarn, a beautifully presented cottage, fully equipped, and looking out onto stunning countryside. The grounds have been carefully tended with ample sitting space in which to enjoy commanding views over the hillside and valley below. There is much easy as well as strenuous walking within close range of the cottage. Liz and Chris could not have been more helpful in ensuring a restful stay. This is a great place in which to unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - many thanks for the great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage Complete with all Creature Comforts”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I stayed at Swainsley Farm Coach House with a group of friends for 1 weekend. The cottage was cosy, modern and well equipped. The view outside was beautiful and if it had been a nicer weekend weather wise then the outside table would have been perfect to eat at.

Other great aspects: very friendly and accommodating owner; good immediate location for walks and good location for getting to other areas of the Peaks; complementary hot cross buns because it was Easter.

One regret. We did not make use of the hot tub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for the great review - perhaps we'll see you again when you'll be able to enjoy the view from our hot-tub! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay M
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and location....”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed at the old Byre at the end of Feb.....unfortunately the snow became so bad we had to end the break early to head home....was a shame as we really liked the location of the cottage with lots of walking from the door on the manifold trail and the cottage was really cosy and warm (much needed given the temperatures!!) with fabulous views - loved the ecomass wood burner ...the heat was instant and controllable compared to traditional wood burners. Owners were really keen to ensure your nejoyed your break and asking for ideas of what could be improved!
Would definitely like to return at a different time of year or a February with no beast from the east!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison O
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We booked the Haybarn for the Christmas week and had a wonderful time. Liz and Chris are great hosts with an exceptional eye for detail. They think of everything and are on hand to help if you need it but equally leave you in peace if you prefer. The welcome pack is second to none and the cottage was so well equipped that we had everything we needed. The location is just what we were looking for with walks and runs on our doorstep, a beautiful view from the window, and plenty of things to do nearby. We are a family of 4 with two teenage boys and the cottage suited us very well. We would definitely consider returning here and would encourage others to visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas with us and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodlover...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous long weekend”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The location is fabulous for walkers, with many options right on the doorstep you don't have to drive to find somewhere to hike (which is great). Chris kindly told us about all the best trails and pubs in the area so we were prepared.

We stayed in the old Byre which is perfect for two. We found it to be very well equipped and there was more or less everything we needed. We made good use of the fire too which was welcome after a day of walking.

There is wifi which is great as there is no signal and the hosts were on hand to help us whenever they could.

As a top tip for visiting the local areas, remember to take cash as many places don't take card!

We thoroughly enjoyed our break and hope to be back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
It's hard to show what a great location this is with just a few photos on a website - so it's really helpful when one of our guests makes the point for us! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Swainsley Farm and many thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieBrid...
2 reviews
“Pure perfection!”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Old Byre for a week. Chris and Liz really had thought of everything, including delicious scones upon arrival, and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was beautiful and the views were stunning, plenty of great walks right from the front door! We borrowed the bikes advertised free of charge and cycled the Manifold Trail which was very enjoyable, especially the short detour up to Thor's Cave (well worth the climb). Chris' recommendations on local pubs were spot on; Manifold Inn is walkable from the cottage and has good pub food but for a treat nothing rivalled The George (a bit pricier but the food was superb).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st class”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in the Coach house and it was 5 star . From the welcome of delicious Derby scones waiting for us on arrival to the amazing detail that has gone into this cottage.
The views are stunning and peaceful . We would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family to stay here .
We will definitely return in 2018.
A lot of thought and care has gone into the cottage to make it the most amazing stay.
Well Done and thank you again .
5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for the lovely review! Looking forward to greeting you again in 2018..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing