We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at.Fabulous place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parsons House B&B

Parsons House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parsons House B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Hartington B&B and Inns
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at.Fabulous place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and myself stayed at The Parsons House for the first time for one night at the end of July 2011.We holiday frequently in this area so decided to treat ourselves to a night at Parsons House as we usually stay in our family static caravan at Newhaven Caravan park. This B & B had been recommended to us by a friend and we can see why he loved it so much. It's a beautifully restored period house and Dave's attention to detail is wonderful.He chatted at length to us about all the work he has put into his property and it was very interesting to hear. His house has been a real labour of love over the years.
On our arrival we were shown to our room and Dave promply brought a tray up with hot drinks and biscuits. There are no tea making facilities in the room but this definitely wasn't a problem as Dave is happy to oblige with drinks when needed. He also asked what time we would like breakfast in the morning and arranged to bring up a tray of hot drinks half an hour before as a wake up call. One of the things we liked most about this accomodation was the fact that you are not met with time restrictions such as check in and check out times when you arrive.Everything is very relaxed at Parsons House just what we like.
After dropping off our bags and enjoying our tea and biscuits we left the b & b, crossed the road and took the footpath to the River Dove.After enjoying a long walk we arrived back at Hartington and enjoyed our evening meal sat outside the Devonshire Arms.
We stayed in the ensuite bedroom which was very spacious and the bed was huge!! As mentioned there is no television but really that's not a problem, it made a nice change and means that you are just able to enjoy the peace and quiet of Hartington.
Dave is a fabulous host and chef. (His breakfasts are second to none.)There is a choice of foods for breakfast, all locally sourced, fresh produce and nothing is too much trouble.
We would definitely return for another weekend when our three young boys next visit Nanny and Granddad. :)
Parsons House is the nicest B & B we have ever been to and we have been to plenty in the last 20 years.The fact that it's owner is one of THE nicest gentlemen you could ever wish to meet makes your stay here even more memorable.
Many thanks. Hope to see you again. Sharon and Ian Pargeter :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonp1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Having stayed here six years ago, we returned last weekend. To call this a B&B somehow sidesteps the boutique hotel-standard accommodation and fantasic food which, for us, has become synonymous with the hospitality and style at the Parsons House. David is discret and always helpful and hosts an extremely professional set up. The service and presentation of the locally sourced breakfast (choice available) is as impressive as its taste!! This place is amazing and with the Devonshire Arms over the road offering an excellent evening meal of extremely good quality, one would go a long way to beat the value offered by the Parsons House. Could not recommend this very special place more highly.

Room Tip: White Room is fabulous and oozes character
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at Parsons House. It's a beautiful, characterful old building. Our room (the White room) was very comfortable and peaceful. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. (David is the spitting image of Jeremy Irons, even down to the husky voice!)

We would have liked television in our room, and a kettle, etc, to make drinks. David said to ask for tea or coffee whenever we wanted but we didn't like to keep asking.

Breakfast was fantastic. All the food was gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetplant840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed at Parsons House for a night with my partner. A really beautiful house and village, the room was gorgeous and the shower fantastic! We were offered tea when we arrived early evening and the owner booked us a table at the pub for dinner. Also bought up tea in the morning which was lovely. Amazing breakfast!
I can't gush enough about this place, it was just perfect for our weekend away!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmereldaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Had a 2 night stay here, not in the en-suite but still good, our own toilet and bathroom just outside our room. Most comfortable bed weve slept in whilst away, and the breakfast was the best. I didnt think I liked porridge but David's was just delicious with the main cooked food to follow. A couple of places near by to eat in the evening which were just as amazing. Would go back and would definitely recommend.
Thanks David
Anne and Mike

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 186356Anne2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

great place, visit to see the eclectic mix of plumbing and art, best breakfast we've had in years

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

This b&b is fantastic - we stayed there on New Years Eve and paid a very reasonable £65 for our en-suite bedroom. The décor and design of The Parson's House is exciting, intriguing and very welcoming. The owner was wonderful and served us perhaps the finest porridge I've ever eaten - complete with buttermilk and home-made syrup. The facilities were great, just what we wanted to have for a night's stay. However, it's location makes it superb for accessing the peaks and the Tissington Trail whilst remaining in a small village setting. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_hunt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
0.3 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gratton Grange Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsons House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsons House B&B

Property: Parsons House B&B
Address: Parsons House Mill Lane | Hartington, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Parsons House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsons House Bed And Breakfast
Parsons House Hotel Hartington
Parsons House B&B Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing