We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked two cottages for a special birthday celebration with my family as I had been before and decided that on my 60th I wanted to climb the hill at the back of the properties as we didn't on that visit. It was worth the wait as the views were amazing. We took three dogs and they had a great time racing round the paddock. The cottage, the warm welcome and the hill made this birthday truly memorable. There are plenty of walks which you can join from the cottage so you don't need to use the car if you don't want to. Hoping to go back again soon as everything you need is provided in the cottage and they are very comfortable and the area is perfect for a great holiday. It was hard to leave!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tizzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Owner at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for bringing the family back for your birthday festivities – and well done for climbing up High Wheeldon ! As my grandmother told me: “it’s not how old you are, but how you are old…”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
269
244
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Wheeldon Trees over the May bank holiday, and words simply cannot describe the level of service we received from Deborah and Martin. We had booked based on the other reviews, and they were not wrong. The Cottages are situated in a very lovely area, and are furnished to an incredibly high standard, they really have thought of everything, even for little ones. Nothing was too much trouble, Deborah would even make us a fresh loaf of bread and bring it to us in the morning! The store they have on site is great, after being out all day it was so nice to be able to come back, grab a delicious lasagne & fruit crumble and pop it in the oven for an easy, no fuss dinner. The electric bikes were fantastic, and the Long Room with all the toys made our toddler happy, as did feeding the "baa baas" and "cluck clucks" in the morning. Even my rather picky husband was talking about coming back again within an hour of arriving! I simply can't recommend Wheeldon Trees highly enough. Thank you Deborah & Martin, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Owner at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for all the kind words. We’re a bit nervous that with so many generous reviews, guests might be disappointed when they arrive, so we’re particularly pleased to read your husband’s comments. I just hope he still felt the same after he’d been here for a couple of days…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary with our family at Wheeldon Trees Farm. 18 of us stayed in six cottages: it was a very successful event thoroughly enjoyed by all, especially the children. The cottages were superb. We used the well-equipped Long Room for our celebratory lunch. Deborah and Martin were enormously helpful, so a big thank you to you both for helping to make our stay so special. We shall be back

Room Tip: All the cottages are superbly equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMWGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Owner at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
It was lovely having you and your family here– I think you win the prize for (a) the best organised celebration weekend (no-one else has ever thought to check for TWO carving forks !) and (b) leaving the Long Room so clean and tidy !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed recently for a family get together and hired 3 cottages. The accommodation was absolutely first class. Upon arrival we were greeted by Deborah and had a quick look around. The cottages are fully equipped with everything you need- loads of information on places to visit, restaurants, takeaways in the local area (and a discount on a lot of places if you show them your Wheeldon Trees Farm guest card on your key). There is also some info on local walks if you don't want to venture too far on a particular day.

On request you can also order fresh produce/food (sausage, eggs, milk, bacon, coffee, homemade bread) for your kitchen to avoid having to go out and buy anything. Each cottage also has a smart HD tv with internet (and WIFI) access and there is games room for children with a huge array of DVD's to borrow on an evening or in the event of bad weather. If do need to get any supplies from the supermarket, Buxton is only a few minutes drive away too.

We really enjoyed our stay. My two young nephews also had a great time in the play area and also visiting all the animals. Very friendly hosts who have thought of everything to provide you with a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would definitely like to visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Manager at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed and informative review – I think it will give readers a really good idea of what they can expect at Wheeldon Trees…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Wheeldon Trees. Deborah and Martin paid such attention to detail. We stayed in Walkers Rest and it was home from home. We totally unwound. Our two chocolate labradors loved it there too. Cannot fault our stay in any way. We hope to return next year with our grandchildren so they can feed the chickens and baby lambs. Great place x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Manager at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Many thanks for your message – we love seeing guests ‘unwind’ !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our first time to stay at Wheeldon Farm Cottages which had been recommended by a friend.The cottages are very well equipped and comfortable. Deborah and Martin have thought of everything to make your stay a home from home, and are always very helpful and friendly. It is the personal touches at Wheeldon Trees that make it so special. You may think that this is a place just for hikers and walkers, and whilst we enjoyed short walks we visited several historic houses and places of interest in the beautiful surrounding area.
To wake up in the morning with the cows just over the gate and be able to feed the ducks and chickens, for townsfolk like us made a wonderful change.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-DBishopsStortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Owner at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We very much appreciate your words and, most of all, we’re so pleased you had a good time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from a third visit to Wheeldon Trees Farm and have enjoyed it so much. The cottages are very well equipped and comfortable. Deborah and Martin seem to have thought of everything and are always very helpful and friendly. We really appreciate the personal touches at Wheeldon Trees such as home made bread and the table laid for tea on arrival. It is also very helpful to be able to choose our arrival and departure days, without being tied to specific days of the week. No doubt we will be planning our fourth visit very soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSW273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin and Debo... H, Owner at Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for your generous comments. We loved that you spent so much time exploring the Peak District and made such full use of your days here !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
9.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
12.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
11.6 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Wheeldon Trees Farm | Earl Sterndale, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hartington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hartington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century dairy barn conversion, set in a secluded valley, updated with consideration to minimizing the impact on the environment. 9 self-catering holiday cottages sleeping up to 30 with communal dining and games room. Guest, child and dog friendly accommodation! In the midst of unspoilt landscapes, picturesque villages and lively market towns of England's Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheeldon Trees Farm Holiday Cottages Hartington, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing