We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in Wight Cottage and as stated by other reviewers we were impressed with the cleanliness and the good quality furniture in the cottage itself. Everything you could need is provided and it's lovely to have a pool, playground and a few "arcade-type" games for the kids. The only downside is definitely the quality of the mattresses. Management urgently need to consider installing at least mattress toppers as we seriously discussed sleeping on the floor after two nights of having springs dug into our backs. The pool could be a few degrees warmer but even though he was shivering and a bit blue-lipped our toddler loved being able to swim with us every day - in March!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to read that you found the cottage, park and its facilities to your liking. With regards to the mattress we apologise for any inconvenience caused and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We hope that you and the family will be visiting us again very soon and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

we stayed in one of the cottages - which was absolutely fantastically furnished and kitted out. well exceeded my expectations. Could easily cook a family meal with the stuff provided. very cozy, comfortable and in a lovely setting. Lowest point would have to be the beds. They weren't the most comfortable and could really do with some decent mattresses on there. As for the park itself - it was quite nice. Not much to do and the facilities were basic however if you are like us we didn't come here for the park and used this more of a stop off so we could see everything the island had to offer. With this in mind the location was in a great central location. Would definitely go back.
Also the facilities very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Go for the self contained cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you found the cottage to your liking and that the kitchen was well equipped. We are however sorry to read that you experienced some issues with the mattress and we will be sure to investigate this matter as soon as possible. It was good to know that you found the park ideally located to explore this beautiful island as we encourage all of our holiday guests to do so. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We came here when not in season. The cottage was nice and clean, if a little tired and in need of some tlc.
The bed mattresses are in need of replacement. (Bring your own bedding and use their covers to sleep on top of)
Everything on the site was closed except the indoor pool, which was freezing cold and dirty.
Having said all that, it was out of season, we only paid £100 for 2 night and the staff were helpful and polite.
Would definitely stay again for a short stay at these prices.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding your accommodation, we take all comments seriously as they help us to improve our services and standards. I am very pleased to hear you found our staff polite and helpful they are always on hand to offer assistance.

Out of season we do have limited facilities available for use, due this fact the park will be very quiet but I hope this hasn't cause to much of an inconvenience. Thank you for your comments regarding the swimming pool and I apologise if you feel this wasn't to our usual standard.
I am delighted to hear that you would consider staying with us again and will look forward to welcoming you to Rookley Country Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Have stayed here a few times and loved it everytime, we booked last minute and was helpful on the phone, we stayed 1 night 11 january, the lad behind the bar was really nice and talkative think his name was Rhys he was new and not been here long, he made the trip for us.I work for a company that sells Rookley Country Park and will always recommend this to anyone, we are staying again very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

we took the christmas package at rookley park, monday to friday,having been there many times before we were looking forward to it, traverling were my inlaws aged 88 & 87 my wife & myself, on arrival our bungalow was ready we then unpacked & then went to resturant for evening meal, which was average but no bar open, i would like to add it had been raining heaverly for days, on our return to bungalow low &behold the road was flooded right to fron door so my inlaws & ourselves had to paddle through 8 inches of muddy freezing cold water.
Next day we had no water the whole island lost its water supply, wenesday & thursday was ok, on down side bar was hardly open we booked christmas dinner which this year was held in club ballroom other years it had been in bar area no atmosphere very dull, food was excellent
staff very good, the bungalow number 16 was ok kitchen & bathroom needed cleaning when we got there heating did not work but call to reception soon saw a man arrive to fix it , the matresses were past their sell by date, will we return? yes as its inlaws favorite place on the island

Room Tip: if you go in wet season take wellingtons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review, unfortunately we suffered terrible weather over the Christmas period and it caused a lot of problems for us, and the whole of the Island, such as the loss of water and the floods, I am really sorry this affected your stay. We are aware that some of the mattresses have become a little worn over the busy summer period and we will be organising some replacements over the winter period. I am glad to hear that we are you’re in laws favourite place on the island and that you will be returning in the future. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay in a cottage. The kitchen is well equipped although was lacking some cutlery (5 knives and 4 teaspoons in a cottage for 6) and the washing machine and dishwasher were very much appreciated. The kitchen did need a clean due to the worktops and hob being sticky and some crockery needed to be washed before use.

The cottage itself is spacious. Is in need of a revamp/clean in areas as some uncaring guests have left nasty stains, marks and burns around the place. Also mattresses in desperate need of a change.

We did try to use the sofa bed but a previous guest had ignored the no smoking request so everytime we opened it up it made the whole place reek, so gave up on that.

Despite this it was comfy, warm and suited us well.

We would have liked to know the Reception/Restaurant area would be closed from around 5pm rather than just finding it closed one night. Also the swimming pool was not heated at all so the kids lasted all of 10 minutes which was a shame as they had planned to use it a few times during the week.

We did like the place though, and would consider returning if the price was right as the location is excellent for getting about and the park itself is in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyDay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rookley Country park, I am sorry to hear you had some issues with the cottage and the cleanliness, we do advise guests to report any inconveniences to reception so we can rectify the problem straight away getting you back to enjoying your holiday with us. I would also like to apologise if you feel there was a lack of communication regarding our opening times of our facilities. In future we will ensure that this is not overlooked and that our customers are aware upon check in. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have chisen Rookley Country Park as a last minute break and booked a week in advance. It is very easy to find and the welcome was warm and friendly.. The reception's open only till 5pm which I think wasn't sufficient but other than than everything was excellent. The cottage we booked was spacious and relatively clean.. The staff should pay more attention to kitchen cleanliness because we had to was every single piece of kitchen equipment before use. Also half of the bulbs were not working. But don't take it as a criticism, the staff was very helpful and tried everything possible to please us.
Overall great experience, close to the sea side (approx 20 mins drive), very affordable and in the middle of a lovely park...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay at Rookley Country Park. During our quieter season periods we do operate the reception times during 9am and 5pm daily. However, there are always a staff member at hand which can be contacted on our out of hours number which will be displayed within your welcome pack should your require assistance.

I am sorry to hear that the kitchen wasn’t up to our usual standards, I will ensure that your comments regarding these issues are passed onto the Accommodation Manger for investigation. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us on and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
5.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
St Helens Holiday Park
St Helens Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in St Helens
153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range: £39 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing