We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Was a last minute decision to come with my friend and very excited the distance from ferry was resonable and easy to find as sign posted the closer we got. Then we arrived.......

Check in 4pm why when check out at 10am we just sat there like lemons staff were friendly but there was no get up and go and welcoming service. Caravan was clean well on suface once taking closer looks my 5yr old can use a hoover better.

Our 1st and only meal was pathetic special was hot dogs and burgers (due to no bbq as raining) it was literally a hot dog no fries and definitely value range meat for £3 and considering it was clearly food they had to get rid of SPECIAL offer should of been BOGOF or £1 it was worth 50p

During our stay there was no communication from staff to see if we were ok no safety talk or general information given it was like heres ya keys now bore off. The one and only communication with front bar staff was for information and that went like a lead of bricks not helpful and we basically got rejected from morning club due to not pre booking wen the hall was half empty anyway and this was an event for kids.

Good points if any:

The back bar staff were friendly helpful and actually happy it was like a diff ambience completely. The entertainment team were ok but very unorganised and long winded I felt bored at times and even kids werent that concerned to leave. But u thank the entertainment team for lifting our spirits to an extent.

My overall verdict is if you want a fun packed family entertaining holiday this is not the place but clean quiet and as a stopping ground is ok as theres lots to see on the island.


Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Leelee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience whilst visiting Rookley Country Park. I have passed your comments onto the Accommodation Manager for review and I sincerely apologise if you feel the caravan was not up to our usual high standards.

We regularly plan entertainment events for our guests but unfortunately these are subject to weather conditions. If the weather is not suitable for outside activities, then we do provide alternative entertainment and food within the venue. I apologise if you feel this was substandard and we will certainly look at improving this for our future guests.

Children’s events do sometimes require advance booking due to food preparation and staffing requirements. Details of these events and any charges can be found within your welcome pack. The entertainments team make regular announcements to remind guests of these events. However, I am sorry if you feel this was not clearly communicated. We will look at implementing further measures to ensure that guests are better informed in future.

With regards to local information, this is provided within your welcome pack. Further details of attractions and places to visit can be found in the reception lobby where we display a multitude of leaflets. Our reception team are on hand to provide any advice/assistance should it be required.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    225
    116
    93
    96
See reviews for
456
119
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is our first Caravan holiday and I must admit that this was Awesome. Kudos to Rookley Country Park team for making our stay memorable. We were 2 families (4 adults+ 2 Children) and stayed in Solent last week.
Pluses
- Brilliant layout, 2 large lakes for fishing
- Caravan was very nicely done and to be honest better than what we have expected with fully loaded cook top and utensils for self cooking
- Kids Paradise: Apart from usual coin games, few rides- evening engagement by the staff was good. Kids had a ball of life.
- Nearest Convenience store Cooperative just 4 Mons walk from Resort entrance (depending upon your Caravan location this can be 10Mins+)
- Bus stop (Bus No3) is Opp Cooperative to very convenient for families like us who relied on public transport for sight seeing
Minuses
- Really none but have a suggestion that twin beds was really too small for adults so at least one of the two twin bedded room should be converted into Double bed room.
- Check Out time at 10am is little too harsh; at least make this at 11am more so when your check in time is 4pm

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that your family and friends had such an enjoyable time. We hope that you will be returning again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went on a sun holiday on the 5th of may to the 9th we upgraded to a cottage with a hot tub for an extra £150 we were able to get the keys at 3 and when we arrived at the cottage we were so impressed with the size we booked a 2 bedroomed but got a 3 there was a cot waiting for my baby and when i asked for a highchair they brought us one straight away the website does not give this cottage justice. The master bedroom is as big as the whole of downstairs it has an unsuite and flat screen tv spacious is an understatement . The park was perfectly located and nothing was far away the only thing id say is that the swimming pool was a bit boring for my under 5's

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. The cottages are indeed well equipped and spacious and sometimes the pictures don’t do them the justice they deserve. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went for a weeks holiday starting on the 10th May, We arrived nice and early and to reception to book in but the caravan wasnt ready so the young lady said that she would call us on our mobile when the caravan was ready. We went off to look around the area and she rang us after about an hour to say it was ready. We went back to collect the key. We had booked a 2 bedroom but was given a 3 bedroom caravan. The caravan was amazing it was huge and very clean, Our view from the caravan were breathtaking. The camp was clean the only thing was the entertainment was bad. The staff behind the bar were to busy having chats with the locals rather than serving the people who were staying on the camp especially the larger lady with black long hair she was very rude. Think they would have been a bit more friendly as we would have spent a lot more money in the bar if we had got served better, However on a good note the fishing lake was a bonus as my partner used it 3 times that week. I would go back to Rookley Park again as it is in a good position to visit everywhere on the Island.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking ask to be near the reception as we were in caravan that was up 13 step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Loved it, great location, ideal for ferry, staff really nice and helpful, loved the setting lakes are beautiful, really recommend and will be returning for sure. Isle of Wight is stunning and this is the perfect place to base at to explore then return to a great evening with nice food and entertainment that's fun and a great atmosphere -
Thank you Rookley

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frootman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review about Rookley Country Park. The maintenance team work very hard to ensure that the park looks its best so the get the recognition through a review such as yours is just amazing. The entertainments and complex team wanted me to pass on their thank you for their mention too and they are so pleased that you enjoyed their hospitality. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Friendly team on staff who looked after (entertained) my children exceptionally well. The entertainment staff are talented which makes a huge difference.

Clean, presentable and new accommodation. We will be going back and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review. The entertainments team were thrilled about their mention and that they managed to make your holiday a memorable one. We look forward to your return. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a caravan for 3 nights in May 2014. Wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised.
Rookley is very central on the island so it's a great location.
The caravan we had was nice and clean. It was fit for 6 people although there was only 2 of us.
We stayed via a sun holiday so had the cheapest caravan. For what we paid it was great. Be warned though that it was freezing on the night ( we are only 30 and fit, so didn't feel it much) but would recommend those more vulnerable wrap up at night. Also the double bed was absolutely rubbish! The mattress was horrendous and neither of us slept much. Apart from that though a brilliant place to stay.
Food at the venue was basic but nice and quite cheap, didn't see the entertainment but Newport is close so we want there for drinks and to cinema.

Staff were friendly and seemed nice enough.

I would go back again, but would maybe take a heater or upgrade to a Better caravan.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Rookley Country Park. We are glad that you found the Park and accommodation to your liking. We pride ourselves on providing top class accommodation at an affordable price and we are pleased that we manage to provide just the right package for you and the family. We encourage all guests to explore this wonderful island so it was great to read that you manage to do just that. We hope that you will be visiting us again in the near future and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
802 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
11.7 mi away
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
8.0 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Property: Rookley Country Park
Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing