We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fifth return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth visit. Visited with my mum and 7 yr old son. We had booked two bed cottage but were upgraded to three bed cottage on arrival. Had a lovely week as usual as Rookley is ideally situated to see whole of island. My son enjoyed the evening entertainment and we all thought Charlie was great-he had a lovely personality and was entertaining for the children and adults.
Only slight negatives were that we thought the standard of menu choices in the restaurant had declined. We were very disappointed on the one night we ate there although my son enjoyed the curry buffet. The cleanliness of the accomodation could also be improved-skirting boards and bathrooms a bit grubby. However, these are small negatives and we plan to return to Rookley next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Zoe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked a cottage on this park through a Wowcher deal.

We had a lovely little cottage which had everything we needed.

The park itself was lovely and very clean, and the cottages are set around or near 2 lakes which was very nice.

We did not use the restaurant or bar on the park so can not comment.

We could not check in until 4pm which was ok for us as we visited some local attraction prior to check in. Check out was 10am which again suited us.

On the downside some minor repairs needed carrying out, light bulbs need replacing, oven would not light and grille kept going out. The sofa needs to be replaced as it is very grubby we covered this with one of the spare duvets.

None of the faults above ruined our stay at this lovely park.

Room Tip: Try and book a cottage by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just got back after staying a weekend away stayed in a two bedroom cottage/ bungalow , I think when these were new, they must of been the bees knees but showing sign's of wear and tear the settee in the lounge was so old it looked pitiful, the bedding was disgusting, I really think someone should step in and just start updating little things the kitchen was good and so was the bath with bubble jets bliss!!!
The carpets were stained badly, little things like this need attention had a meal in the club house, I could of gone in the kitchen and did it myself fro freezer to microwave.
It's in a lovely spot, caught the bus to Newport at the top of the road it's a small town poeple in all the shops so friendly,but just didn't feel the cleanest of town's need's some tender love and care to restore a lovely little town
It's was spring half term all the children seemed to be having a brilliant time it's a home from home but just needs to little overhaul.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mistyshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Rookley Country Park. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed the park and its surrounding towns. We do apologise for the minor issues you experienced within your cottage. However, we do ask that customers inform us of any issues at the earliest opportunity so our dedicated team can rectify them and get you back to enjoying your holiday. The accommodation and maintenance team have, since your review, rectified the points raised and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope that you will be visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Was a last minute decision to come with my friend and very excited the distance from ferry was resonable and easy to find as sign posted the closer we got. Then we arrived.......

Check in 4pm why when check out at 10am we just sat there like lemons staff were friendly but there was no get up and go and welcoming service. Caravan was clean well on suface once taking closer looks my 5yr old can use a hoover better.

Our 1st and only meal was pathetic special was hot dogs and burgers (due to no bbq as raining) it was literally a hot dog no fries and definitely value range meat for £3 and considering it was clearly food they had to get rid of SPECIAL offer should of been BOGOF or £1 it was worth 50p

During our stay there was no communication from staff to see if we were ok no safety talk or general information given it was like heres ya keys now bore off. The one and only communication with front bar staff was for information and that went like a lead of bricks not helpful and we basically got rejected from morning club due to not pre booking wen the hall was half empty anyway and this was an event for kids.

Good points if any:

The back bar staff were friendly helpful and actually happy it was like a diff ambience completely. The entertainment team were ok but very unorganised and long winded I felt bored at times and even kids werent that concerned to leave. But u thank the entertainment team for lifting our spirits to an extent.

My overall verdict is if you want a fun packed family entertaining holiday this is not the place but clean quiet and as a stopping ground is ok as theres lots to see on the island.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Leelee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I am sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience whilst visiting Rookley Country Park. I have passed your comments onto the Accommodation Manager for review and I sincerely apologise if you feel the caravan was not up to our usual high standards.

We regularly plan entertainment events for our guests but unfortunately these are subject to weather conditions. If the weather is not suitable for outside activities, then we do provide alternative entertainment and food within the venue. I apologise if you feel this was substandard and we will certainly look at improving this for our future guests.

Children’s events do sometimes require advance booking due to food preparation and staffing requirements. Details of these events and any charges can be found within your welcome pack. The entertainments team make regular announcements to remind guests of these events. However, I am sorry if you feel this was not clearly communicated. We will look at implementing further measures to ensure that guests are better informed in future.

With regards to local information, this is provided within your welcome pack. Further details of attractions and places to visit can be found in the reception lobby where we display a multitude of leaflets. Our reception team are on hand to provide any advice/assistance should it be required.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is our first Caravan holiday and I must admit that this was Awesome. Kudos to Rookley Country Park team for making our stay memorable. We were 2 families (4 adults+ 2 Children) and stayed in Solent last week.
Pluses
- Brilliant layout, 2 large lakes for fishing
- Caravan was very nicely done and to be honest better than what we have expected with fully loaded cook top and utensils for self cooking
- Kids Paradise: Apart from usual coin games, few rides- evening engagement by the staff was good. Kids had a ball of life.
- Nearest Convenience store Cooperative just 4 Mons walk from Resort entrance (depending upon your Caravan location this can be 10Mins+)
- Bus stop (Bus No3) is Opp Cooperative to very convenient for families like us who relied on public transport for sight seeing
Minuses
- Really none but have a suggestion that twin beds was really too small for adults so at least one of the two twin bedded room should be converted into Double bed room.
- Check Out time at 10am is little too harsh; at least make this at 11am more so when your check in time is 4pm

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that your family and friends had such an enjoyable time. We hope that you will be returning again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went on a sun holiday on the 5th of may to the 9th we upgraded to a cottage with a hot tub for an extra £150 we were able to get the keys at 3 and when we arrived at the cottage we were so impressed with the size we booked a 2 bedroomed but got a 3 there was a cot waiting for my baby and when i asked for a highchair they brought us one straight away the website does not give this cottage justice. The master bedroom is as big as the whole of downstairs it has an unsuite and flat screen tv spacious is an understatement . The park was perfectly located and nothing was far away the only thing id say is that the swimming pool was a bit boring for my under 5's

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. The cottages are indeed well equipped and spacious and sometimes the pictures don’t do them the justice they deserve. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went for a weeks holiday starting on the 10th May, We arrived nice and early and to reception to book in but the caravan wasnt ready so the young lady said that she would call us on our mobile when the caravan was ready. We went off to look around the area and she rang us after about an hour to say it was ready. We went back to collect the key. We had booked a 2 bedroom but was given a 3 bedroom caravan. The caravan was amazing it was huge and very clean, Our view from the caravan were breathtaking. The camp was clean the only thing was the entertainment was bad. The staff behind the bar were to busy having chats with the locals rather than serving the people who were staying on the camp especially the larger lady with black long hair she was very rude. Think they would have been a bit more friendly as we would have spent a lot more money in the bar if we had got served better, However on a good note the fishing lake was a bonus as my partner used it 3 times that week. I would go back to Rookley Park again as it is in a good position to visit everywhere on the Island.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking ask to be near the reception as we were in caravan that was up 13 step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
5.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
St Helens Holiday Park
St Helens Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in St Helens
153 reviews
8.2 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range: £43 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing