We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small country park. Bungalow perfect - had everything you would ever need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rookley Country Park
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a 2 bed bungalow. Ideal for the two of us and dog. Didn 't try any of the food or entertainment but park very quiet and peaceful. Ideal base for exploring the Island. Handy local co-op very nearby. Lots of lovely pubs and good food within a few minutes of the park

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at Rookley Country Park and we hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for Rookley Country Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was my 5th visit to this park ,and i will not be returning again.We went as a group of 4 adults,The positives the grounds are very clean and the outside decking area overlooking the lake is beautiful. The negatives. On entering the caravan the first thing we saw was a dirty door mat, and the carpet was filthy, cooker splash back was covered in grease

. That aside my biggest gripe with this park is they seriously need to build another room for the weddings, when a wedding reception is taking place here, the PAYING GUESTS do not have the use of the entertainment room. you have to be in the bar area which is not very big, the local people like to drink in here which is fine, but as we have to play bingo out here if a wedding is on, there is no consideration noise wise.

We could not sit outside on the decking as the wedding party had taken this over as well!!!!!. They should advise people when they book there holiday here that the main lounge is generally closed to them if a wedding is taking place. The food has seriously gone down hill, which is a shame it used to be very good. in the evening people were waiting up to an hour for there meal and the restaurant was empty.

outside the gates to the left
There is a lovely family pub called the griffin, the food is very good in there, they also
they have bouncy castle climbing frames and a maze .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank hotansunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologise if you feel your recent visit to Rookley Country Park did not meet with your expectations. During the quieter parts of the year we do offer weddings but we take every possible step to ensure that this does not interfere with the enjoyment of our holiday guests. However, on this occasion it would seem that this was not the case and for that we sincerely apologise. Since your review we have implemented new procedures to ensure that guests are advised of any functions that may occur during their stay prior to their arrival. We have passed your comments onto the Retail Manager regarding the food within the Complex for further investigation. We hope that you would offer us a second chance to prove that we are committed to providing high quality of service for our holiday guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here for a week mid May 2014. We had a 2 bed cottage on site. These are lovely, spacious and very well equipped. All kitchen utensils are supplied, along with a dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, fridge etc. Cleanliness was spot on.

The evening entertainment in the club house was 'ok' and mainly focused towards children until around 10pm when the adults are catered for. Drinks prices and food are also reasonable.

The swimming pool is basic, not very deep and holds a maximum of 21 people. We did have to wait on several occasions but with the arcade next door the only person moaning was myself as my wallet emptied quickly!

If you don't drive there is a bus service to Newport with 3 buses per hour which take around 10 minutes. Central location on the Island, all in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smeeinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time whilst visiting Rookley. We hope that you will be visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in cottage no.28 from 9 may 14. The cottage was very which quaint and had parking right outside. It slept up to 6 people so was very comfortable for our family of 3. Our 2 year old loved sleeping in the very roomy second bedroom which housed 2 single beds. The main bedroom's bed was on the hard side but overall was amazed at all the solid furniture to hold your items. Sofa was also a bit worn and uncomfortable to sit on without extra pillows from the bedrooms. Having said that, it truly felt home from home. Had tv, digital channels, dvd player. Would recommend you remember to pack extras such as bath,hand and tea towel plus a spare towel as a bath mat, toilet and kitchen rolls, washing up liquid. But the kitchen comes fully equipped with all crockery, mod cons such as washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, kettle, microwave, oven with gas top. Should you forget anything there's a handy co-op shop 5 mins walk away . There's also a handy play park for kids on site, arcades and live scheduled entertainment. There's a lovely fishing lake with some ducks, sets a lovely tranquil scene. Will definitely return for another family holiday. Rookley is ideally located just 20mins max car journey to attractions such as Black Gang Chine amusement park, Sandown beach etc. Go ahead and book using search engine for out of season cheap deals as we did!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slambery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your informative review. The cottages are indeed well equipped and we are pleased that you found it to your liking. We will investigate the matter concerning the sofa and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a wight cottage and a godshill cottage for a week beginning10th may 2014, The wight cottages sofa bed was appalling as the cushions did not cover the base properly, also the bathroom had certainly seen better days, It was clean but the carpets were very grubby, The hot tub in the godshill cottage didn't work properly and we may as well just of had a warm bath, when we complained we were told that it was acceptable even though the jets were not as powerful as the one next door, but they would have to order parts. having paid £50 more for a hot tub I was not amused, The setting is beautiful but the lack of customer satisfaction will mean we will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, Operations Director at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am very sorry to read that you and your family did not have an enjoyable stay at Rookley Country Park. We endeavour to provide high quality accommodation and customer service and it is therefore very disappointing to learn that we failed to deliver this during your visit. Your comments regarding the hot tub and bathroom are being investigated and will be resolved in due course. Thank you for your comments, we are constantly trying to improve on our service and standards and without such valuable feedback this would make our task more difficult.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a 2 bedroom cottage which was so well appointed, clean & tidy. An initial problem with a broken kettle was rectified very quickly. The furniture, bedding and all equipment was of a high standard and far superior to any other parks we have stayed. The park is extremely clean and a little gem not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewHoliday, General Manager at Rookley Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at Rookley Country Park and that you found the staff to be helpful and efficient. At Island View Holidays we strive to deliver a high level service and it is so pleasing to read that we have achieved this for you and your family during your stay. We look forward to your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth visit. Visited with my mum and 7 yr old son. We had booked two bed cottage but were upgraded to three bed cottage on arrival. Had a lovely week as usual as Rookley is ideally situated to see whole of island. My son enjoyed the evening entertainment and we all thought Charlie was great-he had a lovely personality and was entertaining for the children and adults.
Only slight negatives were that we thought the standard of menu choices in the restaurant had declined. We were very disappointed on the one night we ate there although my son enjoyed the curry buffet. The cleanliness of the accomodation could also be improved-skirting boards and bathrooms a bit grubby. However, these are small negatives and we plan to return to Rookley next year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Zoe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rookley
5.5 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
733 reviews
4.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#45 of 51 in Shanklin
445 reviews
11.7 mi away
Colwell Bay Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookley Country Park

Address: Main Road, Rookley PO38 3LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Rookley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rookley
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rookley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookley Country Park Hotel Rookley
Rookley Country Park Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing